No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Balkan

2Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
33 Shepherds Bush Road , London, W6 7LU
Located at close proximity to central London, Hotel Balkan is a two star hotel with a contemporary outlook yet preserving the traditional homely essence of a B & B. Hence, all the room are en-suite and fully equipped with free Wi-Fi internet, TV (with selected Sky Channels), Fridge, Tea/Coffee facilities, microwave & hairdryer (both available on request) and free continental breakfast for all its customers. Though, the highlighting feature of the residence is its great value for price and its prime location.

Located amidst Hammersmith & Shepherds Bush areas on the Shepherd’s Bush Road; The Bush Theatre, BBC TV Centre (White City), Empire Shepherd’s Bush, Carling Apollo Hammersmith, Westfield Shopping Centre, Queen’s Park Rangers football club, Riverside Studios and Olympia are all on a short walking distance, while all the central London attractions are a mere 15 – 20 minutes away.

If travelling by road, it benefits by lying just outside the borders of the congestion Charge Zone (no congestion charge) with very easy access to A4, M4, A40 and M40 motorways. Travelling by metro; the Shepherds Bush station (Central, Hammersmith & City line) and Hammersmith stations are a short walk away, the former 5 and the latter a 10 min walk.
Picture of Hotel Balkan, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good enough.
Staff were very helpful and friendly. Accommodation was adequate for just a one night stay. Room and bed was clean. Breakfast was good, freshly cooked and ample for me. If I was visiting there again on my own I would quite happily stay there.

Reviewed by
John Mc Gettrick

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic hotel, part of the Euro Hotel chain. Nice picture on the wall is the only good thing.
Not worth the money. Breakfast served in the hotel across the road. Very poor quality, table and chairs crammed into a room with little space - self service and described as being continental. Only option was eggs or beans on toast or cereal. Not clean or healthy. Tea and coffee facilities in the room are a joke, only one small cup when the room is booked for two, no heating overnight. Bed very uncomfortable and very noisy all night. One single yale lock on the door making it very insecure.

Reviewed by
G Dahl

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel is under refurbishment
The Balkan Hotel is under refurbishment, so the Reception was in the neighbouring Hotel, as well as the breakfast. The receptionist was friendly; free WiFi OK. Overall - not bad, considering the situation.

Reviewed by
Vassilka T

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There was no heating or hot water the glass in the bathroom door was broken witch made it even colder, the view outside the window into the back yard looked like a council tip with old furniture and mattresses . Avoid,

ManagementResponse

I am sorry you did not like your room, you state you only stayed one night you were in fact only booked for one night. I am surprised you say that it wasn't friendly as usually the staff are known for their friendliness, in fact the night that you stayed was very busy as we had a comedian in and every one guests as well as customers said how much they had enjoyed it. If you had come to reception with any problems regarding the room we would have immediately changed rooms for you. But even on check out no problem was reported, it is nice to be given the opportunity to sort these out before complaints are made via guest reviews. Regards, Manager

Reviewed by
Jonathan L

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple and cheap
Tiny room, but what more do you need when you are just there to sleep.
Breakfast much better than expected.
Ideal for sleeping after a night out in London.

Reviewed by
Chris Puddy

From Malmesbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sax
Good.friendly house

Reviewed by
Sasa M

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For a one night stay it was alright. The room stank of cigarette smoke but the sheets were clean as was the bathroom. The room was quite damp however and there was a patch of mould on the wall under the window. The windows were locked so we couldnt let any air into the room. There was no door handle so we had to slam the door really hard to close it.

Reviewed by
Amber B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice cheap stay in close proximity to Central London
Fairly basic accommodation- Large TV in the room though and for under £30 each inc breakfast, good value for Central London.

Reviewed by
M Jones

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
A sign directed me to the sister hotel next door on arrival as it was 11pm and there was no-one at the Hotel Balkan answering the door. I was upgraded on arrival from a single room to a twin because 'the single is very small'. The twin was quite large, but in poor repair and not very clean - stained and damaged furniture, some kind of hole in the floor under the carpet in the corner (!) etc. The radiator worked and the window opened, so I could control the temperature, but there was only a very thin blanket on the bed. There were tea and coffee facilities and a decent TV+freeview with remote. There was also a small fridge which I wasn't expecting. The bathroom had been more recently refurbished but still managed to look abused! The shower door was missing. There was enough hot water and a good strength shower, but only one towel. Breakfast was crowded with students/backpackers but had plenty of toast scrambled eggs and beans! All in all for £29 b&b for ensuite in London it could have been worse, but I'd prefer not to go again.

Reviewed by
Emma K

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

it could be. nice
Flooring tiles in shower room loose,exposed wire on wall in shower room,door handle on door to shower room missing,only one mug for use between two people,
Heating was very low.
Back of hotel full of rubbish,poor Outlook

Reviewed by
m stubbs

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next