Reviews - Amhurst Hotel


45 - 47 Amhurst Park, London, N16 5DL

Price From 146.43 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (59)

76% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Costelus Glodeanu

  • October 2015

Best place to stay

Beautiful nice and quiet hotel, kind of country house.

Very close to shops and transport. Fast to reach central London. Big value for money.

  • Pam N

  • October 2015

Great stay - will come again

Very clean basic room - self contained en-suite - just what we required - didn't disappoint.

  • zuzana o

  • October 2015


hi everyone I've booked this hotel as it semed to be a good value for money.

I was dead tired and I'm not a fuss about the hotels. This one was worse than any I've ever stayed. 1. really strong smell of dump when entered (got better in room but only due to window that probably never closed to get rid of smell)

2. I'm a fairly small size 165cm / 52kg still could not fit in the single bed (I did measure it was only 72cm wide - my babys cot at home is 60cm!!)

3. mattress sooooo soft when I sat on bed my bottom hit the bed base (this is for real not a joke at all!!)

4. sink unusable due to being blocked

5. so squeeky floors outside the room it wake me everytime some one passed by door

Honestly by adding an extra 10 - 15 pounds you can stay in nice hotel. I did try to save a much money as I could but would never stay again. sorry

  • Charles A

  • October 2015

weekend stay

At check in, the manager noticed that my wife had some back pain and accommodated us with a street level room in the old victorian building.

The hotel is located away from the downtown, but with easy access by bus, or the overground. The room was clean, no frills, with the need of a little repair. The mattresses were thin as you could feel the metal coils through the minimal padding. For longer stays, the room had a little kitchen/dining area, making this room an affordable stay in a good part of London, for someone on a fixed budget.

  • t Griffith

  • September 2015

I really enjoyed my stay I felt comfortable and relaxed had a nice atmosphere

I'm looking to come back again as I enjoyed my stay

  • Thomas H

  • June 2015

You get what you pay for

Pros: The hotel is very cheap for London.

It had fairly late check-in (10:30pm when I arrived), but apparently open until 11. The rooms were tolerably furnished - cheap flatpack stuff which doesn't fit together properly, but it mostly worked. They had a kettle, TV, bar fridge and small wardrobe. Cons: basically everything else. The place reeks of cigarettes, despite the ironic no smoking sign downstairs. All my clothes smelled afterwards, and needed to be washed. The stairs are perilously steep, especially with big bags. The rooms were very hot (as reported by another guest), and loads of insects come in if you open the window

There were regularly drunk elderly customers out the back of the house, and one passed out in the middle of the stairs (blocking the narrow staircase). The bathrooms are shared, and get quite dirty at peak times (morning, evening). They also particularly stink of smoke. Overall:

I would definitely go for a nice hostel even if the prices were the same - you still have to share bathrooms, and good hostels won't be nearly as disgusting to stay in. As this place is twice the price of most hostels, it's really a no-brainer as to where you should go.

  • Melissa D

  • June 2015

Good value for money

The place isn't hard to find, Jim the host was incredibly polite and nice, made us feel welcome.

The room was a decent size. All in all it was a nice quick stay, can't complain

  • Marta V

  • June 2015

Amhurst Hotel

It is a good place.

Unfortunately we haven't had hot water at all. They have had some problems with the boiler.

  • Aaron F

  • April 2015

Great little hotel if you're looking for something cheap overnight or a few day in London.

We stayed over for a night out at 'The Nest' in Dalston.

  • Federico S

  • March 2015

Homely atmosphere budget hotel

I stayed 10 days at the Amhurst hotel.

Nice sympathetic staff. Specially Jim, the manager who's been really helpful. Two kitchens (downstairs and upstairs) to cook own meals. A warm living room. Bathrooms were clean. Simple basic room with a normal bed, wardrobe, sink and a good heating. Good value for money in London.