No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hampton Court Palace Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
35 HAMPTON STREET , LONDON, SE17 3AN
A small intimate hotel, above a historic public house, off the beaten track, yet less than five minutes in a cab from St Paul's Cathedral and the financial heart of the city, we are not very far from some of London's top attractions. The Imperial War Museum is a short walk from us, the Oval Cricket Ground is a stones throw away and the London Eye is a fifteen minute walk away. Once there you have the Tate Modern, Oxo Tower, and all the other
attractions of London's South Bank. Making the perfect base for the business traveller and an interesting starting point for the tourist.
The hotel provides a high standard of accommodation and is situated in a large over 100~ year old Victorian building with lots of original features such as the beautiful Victorian fireplaces in most rooms giving the place a cozy old fashioned feel.

Picture of Hampton Court Palace Hotel, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 150 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Low Quality and Expensive
If I had to pay £20-£30 then maybe it would have been suitable. But £80 for a room with the toilet outside of the room, dirty shirts, stained ceiling from leaking pipes and a TV size of a tablet and broken door latch not nice at all- although they moved me to something marginally better i.e., door locks, and toilet in same room. The overall standard very poor.

Reviewed by
Gareth D

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

changed my booking 11pm the day before my stay / didn't supply breakfast
I booked this on the website for a family break, the booking was changed by email at 11pm the night before (which I did not pick up as went to bed earlier due to early train), when we arrived with our baggage we were told we had been moved to another location (away from where we wished to be - Earls Court).
This caused us to loose around 2 hours of our time in London sorting this out, also the hotel we were moved to did not have breakfast facilities (which we had paid for) and we were told - there is nothing we can do and we cant give you any recompense, even though you had paid for it.
The result was significant disappointment with our choice of hotel
Jonathan Jones

Reviewed by
Jonathan Jones

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

there is not enough room to describe the experience but there is no way I would recommend to anyone
Disastrous from the start. On arrival no record of the booking. On the second day when we arrived back having been out all day some of our things had been removed from our room, some left in the room it was said whilst the room was cleaned and they thought we had left, yet we were on the register in a different room and someone else was allocated the room we had used As none of the staff had particularly good English it was impossible to understand the reasoning for moving half of our belongings.It was impossible to identify who was the owner to get a satisfactory answer from.

Reviewed by
Elaine A

From Bedale, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but tired
For the fact we were looking for accommodation in London on a Saturday very reasonable, large room, staff friendly and helpful. Here's the but, room in need of running repairs, light bulbs that needed replacing (3 ) no bath plug none available from reception, a piece of electrical equipment broken.etc

Reviewed by
Amanda E

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
Room clean and basic. Bedding and towels changed every day. The second floor rooms meant some 40 + stairs. Not suitable for elderly as no antislip mats in bath or hand rails when getting in and out of the bath, shower is over the bath. Breakfast consisted of several choices of cereals, yogurts, hot drinks, jams, butter and cheeses. A jug of fruit juice was at the end if the bar where the croissant are supposed to be. Unfortunately you need to be up at the crack of dawn if you want croissants. The bar closed in 2013 but you could purchase a few soft drinks from the reception. Ideally located in a quiet area, within walking distance of London Bridge app 30 min slow stroll. 5 min walk to Elephant and Castle tube, pubs, supermarkets, restaurants. Pleasant helpful staff

Reviewed by
Diane A

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not great area
The reviews on LR made me feel encouraged - walking up to the venue *didn't*
The 'hotel' is based above a derelict pub in not a great area in. elephant & castle - I had taxi drivers exclaim surprise and concern that I was staying there by myself and one (who wasn't taxi back from a swish event in westminster 1.5 miles away, which is why I booked it) insisted on escorting to my hotel room door with me as 'nice girls don't stay here'. Overall, cleanliness was high and people were nice but I was scared where I stayed.

Reviewed by
Karen L

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
We chose the hotel as it was close to my brother's university residences. The hotel room was very clean, bed was comfortable. Location wise, it is a short walking distance to the Elephant & Castle tube station, with a lot of bus stops nearby that can take you to the city centre easily via bus. I would recommend the hotel to Muslim travellers as there a lot of halal restaurants nearby. The reception also provides halal takeout menu that will gladly help to order for us.
As provided in the description of the hotel, it is quite an old building therefore the wallpapers may not exactly be in the best of conditions. No lifts as well, so to go to your rooms there you have to climb a flight of stairs. Not exactly a good thing if you have heavy luggage & more senior travellers it you.
In overall, I enjoyed my stay as it really met with our expectation to find a hotel near my brother's university residence.

Reviewed by
a hasnudin

From kuala lumpur, Malaysia
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A typical hotel
The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. I stayed on business but the hotel is not really set up for business guests.
The hotel is a typical independent hotel and good value for money given the location.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed
The bed clothing did not extend far enough to the head of the bed.

Reviewed by
Roland G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient hotel for Imperial War Museum and Theatres
Good features - large room , quiet location, convenient for Museums and theatres, friendly staff, opening windows. Bad shower leaked and no lock for handset on to rail.
Old building with original features.

Reviewed by
j cooke

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next