No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Shakespeare Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
26 Norfolk Square , London, W2 1RS
Planning a trip to London? Worried about ending up on a noisy street with poor transport communications? Don't let your visit be a sad one - seek out the best of London's economy hotels!

SHAKESPEARE HOTEL is situated in a charming tree-lined square, north of Hyde Park, with excellent access to all parts of the capital, and prides itself on offering value for money and a good service within the meaning of budget accommodation. Whether you are visiting London with a group or by yourself, Shakespeare Hotel will endeavour to make your stay a pleasant one.
Picture of Shakespeare Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
51% recommended this accommodation to a friend 50% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Maybe?
Could do with a good lick of paint and general refit ,old and tired.

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, clean and very convient.
Good accommodation in a very handy location.
This is the second time we have stayed here and would recommend it to other famillies.
Just disappointed that we didn't get our English breakfast the next morning.
We expected a cooked breakfast. The food on offer was fine but just as we finished other guests
had English breakfasts.

Reviewed by
B Stevens

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of hotel
ALthough staff was friendly the condition of room could have been better. The noise level should have been much lower especially at night.

Reviewed by
Coral M

From England
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms
Accomodation overall was very dated rooms were very small could not move about much in it and it did not feel clean, we had paid £90 for 1 night in this room and I definately think it was overpriced. It was more like a hostel than a hotel. Bedding had a funny smell to it too

Reviewed by
Cheryl L

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Reached hotel was told no rooms and directed to their sister hotel which is two units away. When making booking indicated low floor but was allocated 3rd floor. Staircase narrow and bigger luggages really a big problem. Bring luggages up needs skills n stamina

Reviewed by
Cheong Chee Meng Kelvin

From Singapore, Singapore
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean beds. 2 minute walk to nearest underground. Lots of restaurants nearby.
Helpful and nice staff. Would like a bit higher room quality when traveling with children.

Reviewed by
Silje S

From Norway
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very disappointing the room was dirty - 63 steps to the room, it was very small but the visible dust was appalling. Very poor for the amount of money paid. Poor choice at breakfast - not even a teapot in sight. the staff in dining room were friendly and helpful. Very disappointed using late room as this was appalling and as somebody said daylight robbery- should not be allowed to charge for such poor quality - my family were very disappointed.

Reviewed by
fran m

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but good value for money
Great location, lovely quiet square, single room was small but comfortable. I felt it was good value for money and the staff were very friendly and informative.

Reviewed by
N McGregor-Paterson

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Totally acceptable
Nothing flash but there is a competent receptionist which you often find missing with these type of hotels. Room was basic but clean and everything worked as it should. Location is good on Norfolk Square and a 2-3 minute walk from Paddington tube & overground station. I paid more then I would have expected £85 but it was Wimbledon fortnight and the hotels in Paddington always get busy due to it's direct tube link to the tennis.

Reviewed by
Gavin F

From Esher, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
This hotel is quiet, situated near Hyde park and excellent value for money overall. There was a lovely outlook onto the square from the balcony. We had a quad room which was OK but would have been nicer with a bath. For the money it was fine. The beds were comfortable and seemed clean. The breakfast was basic but OK. We all got a good night's sleep which is easier said than done with young children. I will probably stay there again and have already recommended it to other people.

Reviewed by
C Farmer

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next