No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Hotel

3AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
58-60 Cartwright Gardens , London, WC1H 9EL
Tucked away just north of Russell Square on the edge of Bloomsbury in a classic crescent of Georgian town-houses (built c.1807) overlooking Cartwright Gardens and tennis courts available for guests to use. This is the perfect location for a stay in London - quiet but within easy walking distance of the British Museum and the West End, ideal for theatres and shopping. Approved by the AA and the London and English Tourist Boards with a 3-Star grading. Prices include service and tax Breakfast is available at 5.00GBP per person between 08.00-10.00am. In addition to the free Wi-Fi, we have a guest computer with webcam and free internet access (available during reception hours only) in the guest lounge area so that you'll be able to easily keep in touch with friends and family while you're away from home. Please note that the George is a smoke-free establishment and we do not have an elevator.
Picture of George Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 146 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stay
The hotel is within walking distance of King's Cross Station, which was the most important aspect for me.
All staff that I encountered were polite, courteous and professional.
I stayed in room 29, which is small, but adequate if you don't intend to spend much time in the room.
The bed was extremely comfortable and I slept very well.
The breakfast was beautiful.
I would stay here again, without hesitation.

Reviewed by
Karl Latimer

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
Very clean friendly and welcoming will definately stay again great location for Central london . Very comfortable stay a little noisy early morning due to resteraunt being directly above . But I was awake anyway so not a problem .

Reviewed by
S Cross

From Halstead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George hotel
Friendly reception staff. Room was basic but met my needs. Hotel ideal for Kings Cross and Euston stations.

Reviewed by
DIANE C

From Westcliff on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great stay
I found it a very enjoyable experience

Reviewed by
Dean Hill

From Bilston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The only negative about my accomodation was that the window did not shut fully and as it was a windy night it did not stay on the catch and hence banged a little, Also it was quite noisy outside the hotel until around 02.00 am and it was difficult to sleep with the window being open. I did tell the staff about the window when i checked out and hope this was resolved for future guests.

Reviewed by
Carol B

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review

Reviewed by
Paul P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was tiny, & clean, good tea & coffee supplies, but carpet dirty. Bathroom vgd, tho only 1 per floor & hotel full, no problems with access. Staff helpful & friendly. Surprisingly quiet: no problem neighbours coming OE going at odd hours. Street also quiet.

Reviewed by
B Drummond

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night break
I booked a 2 night stay in a twin bedded room as a treat for my 17yr old son and although the room looked quite nice on first glance as it had been recently decorated there was no bedside light, just a wall light over one of the beds, no bin and no sink plug, I did ask for a bin but was told they are not provided, I didn't ask for a sink plug as I think I would have been told the same thing. The hotel claims wifi in all areas but I could not get it in the basement room which I was disgusted to find had an overflowing drain outside the bedroom window, I did complain and asked to be moved but they were fully booked for the second night, so I decided to put up with it and stay where we were, the shared shower/toilet was no bigger than a cupboard, making it very difficult to dry yourself with no window and the fan wasn't working. On the whole I would stay again but would book an ensuite as the location was great, the staff were really friendly and they do a good breakfast for £5 extra per person

Reviewed by
Heather B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and clean and tidy.
When booking there was a pre authorised payment of the full amount taken on the card then when checked in they had to take the full payment of your card so to stay there you needed twice the cost of your room in your account.This was taken up with the receptionist prior to the visit and the only thing I got back was bluntness and sarcasm but apart from that good value hotel.

Reviewed by
Nathan Green

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
N Terry

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next