No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Hotel

3AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
58-60 Cartwright Gardens , London, WC1H 9EL
Tucked away just north of Russell Square on the edge of Bloomsbury in a classic crescent of Georgian town-houses (built c.1807) overlooking Cartwright Gardens and tennis courts available for guests to use. This is the perfect location for a stay in London - quiet but within easy walking distance of the British Museum and the West End, ideal for theatres and shopping. Approved by the AA and the London and English Tourist Boards with a 3-Star grading. Prices include service and tax Breakfast is available at 5.00GBP per person between 08.00-10.00am. In addition to the free Wi-Fi, we have a guest computer with webcam and free internet access (available during reception hours only) in the guest lounge area so that you'll be able to easily keep in touch with friends and family while you're away from home. Please note that the George is a smoke-free establishment and we do not have an elevator.
Picture of George Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 156 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
Service was great, hotel was clean, bed was comfy. only issue was people above walking around in heels but stopped after 9 pm. Would recommend it to anyone wanting cheap place in London.

Reviewed by
Sian P

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

surprisingly good value for money hotel in London
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was nicely cooked and hot.
Room was clean and warm, just needed a shelf of some description next to the bed for cups of drink.
Accessibility to Theatreland (15mins), British Museum (5mins), Euston station (10mins)
Would definitely stay here again

Reviewed by
KEVIN T

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short business stay
Very convenient for the meetings I had on Euston Road. I was very impressed with all aspects. For the price I thought it was really good value. Staff friendly and efficient. I forgot to take my lap top charger and they phoned me and emailed me which meant I was able to get it back before I left London, but they did not know that when they offered to post it to me.

Reviewed by
Peter R

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B, shame about the roadworks
Great accommodation, beautifully clean and staff very friendly. Only down side was the major roadworks outside, which started at 8am.

Reviewed by
Adam A

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy and homely
My room was very cosy and warm, which was perfect as it was very cold outside. The decor was very homely and the room clean with all the little extras you would need. It was just a shame that the room wasn't ensuite but it was there was a shared bathroom only a little walk down the corridor and I didn't have any problems getting access to it. The receptionist was very efficient. I wouldn't mind staying there again.

Reviewed by
R Ahmed

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location but terrible room
The location is good for metro, shops etc and the entrance and reception were fine but my room (No 11) was on the ground floor near to the night entrance door. The room itself was small but manageable but really in need of some attention. The carpet was literally filthy, the walls scuffed and dirty, there was tea and coffee making so after a long day I made a cup of tea only to find the milk portions were off. The worst was the bathroom which I can only describe as an extended portaloo, it smelled very strongly of chemical toilet, really quite nauseating and it simply was a plastic 1 unit room, tiny and not very clean, The shower was not very powerful, little more than a trickle from the old showerhead and not easy to have an adequate shower. I'm 5ft and if I was larger in height or width I'd have struggled to fit in the shower, as it was I had to sit 'off angle' so my knees avoided the sink when sat on the toilet. I used the hairdryer but it made a loud abnormal noise and after 30 seconds smelt strongly of burning rubber, so I had to dry off my hair with my fingers and hairstraigtenerd, I did report this to reception and she said she would change it but very worrying. The floor was very uneven and each footstep produced a loud creak, I was consious of waking the other occupants as I rose early so tried to tiptoe around, which didn't really make a difference, also the position of the room meant I could hear everyone entering or leaving, the final entrant being at 2.45am. The plus side was the bed, although quite hard and uncomfortable, had clean bedding and the room was warm. It had wifi and after a few attempts I managed a connection. I was so dissapointed in the room that I decided not to chance that breakfast was of equal poor quality and went around the corner to one of the deli cafes. All in all for I thought it was no better than a hostel room and certainly not worth the price.

Reviewed by
Collette H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable and good value for money
Our room was spotless. Customer service was good. There were parts of the stairs that needed some attention. There was no lift so probably not suitable for people with walking difficulties. I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Zena E

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night at the George
This past weekend I stayed for only one night at the George Hotel but I was pleasantly surprised by this as a 'budget hotel' advertised hotel. The room was small but had a nice interior and a lovely little bathroom. I didn't have breakfast so can't comment on the quality of the food but would definitely return to this hotel for my next stay in London. Russell Square tube station is 5 minutes away by foot and St Pancras/Kings Cross train station is only about 10 minutes away.

Reviewed by
Maike M

From Netherlands
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't go wrong with this place!
My stay at the George was comfortable and relaxed. My single room might have been small but it was well-designed, modern, impeccably clean and with all necessary amenities. The wet room was great and the shower powerful. Plenty of plug sockets and in the right place - always a boon for someone with hair-drier and straighteners as well as laptop! The staff were great, allowing me to store my luggage both before check-in and at departure which saved left luggage fees at the train station. Minor niggles were slight rip in and tiny stain on duvet cover but other than that you can't go wrong with this value-for-money hotel in a fabulous location.

Reviewed by
Barbara Guest

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 20 top of house
grt use of space and clean. good value for money.

Reviewed by
c lyons

From England
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next