No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ELMWOOD HOTEL

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
19 & 20 ARGYLE SQUARE, KING'S CROSS , LONDON, WC1 H8AS
The Elmwood hotel is situated on a quiet side street, just moments from Kings Cross and Euston Road. The hotel offers easy access to Kings Cross tube and railway station and also to the Eurostar Terminal.

The Elmwood hotel is within a row of 19th Century Victorian houses. The Elmwood Hotel offers modern facilities fused with original Victoria features such as high ceilings and large windows. The hotels 24 hour reception provides a peaceful waiting area for other guests or friends and the Elmwood also offers a cosy breakfast room. The reception can also help arrange airport shuttle transfers and theater tickets. The hotel reception also features a safe deposit box service, for hotel guests.

On offer are over 35 en suite guest rooms, each with private bathroom including towels and a hairdryer. Bedrooms are brightly decorated, and are well maintained, clean and with large windows. Guest rooms are available as Single Rooms, Double Rooms and Triple Rooms.

All rooms feature a television showing local channels, and also tea and coffee facilities.

The Elmwood Hotel serves a light continental breakfast in the hotels breakfast room. Breakfast is served from 07:30 to 9.30 and includes items such as toast, cereals, ham,cheese and light drinks and fruit juice. The Elmwood hotel only offers guests breakfast and lunch and dinner can be taken nearby in on the many restaurants or wherever you choose. Kings Cross offers many cafes, restaurants and bars and there are also many grocery stores and supermarkets nearby such as Tesco. The friendly staff will be glad to offer assistance and recommend restaurants for you.

The Elmwood hotel is a very good choice, when choosing a hotel for sightseeing or to be near to Kings Cross. Within one kilometer of the hotel is Tuffnell Park, Camden market, Kings Cross Station, Euston Station, Russell Square, Bloomsbury, Farringdon and Clerkenwell.

The nearby Kings Cross station offers a quick connection to all areas of the city center, with access to five tube lines at the station. Journey time to Liverpool street is just 8 minutes, to Cannon Street is 10 minutes, Covent Garden would take 5 minutes and Arsenal, just 6 minutes.

People traveling to London visiting hospital, will be located very near to the Royal Throat and Eye Hospital, The Eastman Dental Hospital, The National Hospital and Great Ormond Street Hospital aswell as the School of Nursing. and UCL Hospital.

The location, between Liverpool Street and the Kings Cross station, makes it very accessible to Elmwood Hotel guests flying to Luton and Stansted Airports. Stansted offers an express train service to Liverpool street, whilst the Thames Silverlink service, travels from Luton Airport to Kings Cross. Kings Cross station also offers mainline rail services to the North of England and Scotland, making the Elmwood Hotel an ideal choice if you are traveling on from London, especially if its an early train!
The Kings Cross Thameslink train also offers a direct connection to London Bridge, Moorgate, Farringdon, Sutton and Wimbledon to name just a few.

NEARBY ATTRACTIONS: Euston Station, St Pancreas,Russell Square, Bedford Square, Bloomsbury Square, Coram's Fields, Foundling Museum, Senate House, Great Oxford Street , British Museum, Brunswick Square, Dickens Museum, St. George's Church

the hotel offers free WIFI internet connection in all rooms.

coffee and tea facilities, Local TV chanals, central heating, continental breakfast and city map in all rooms prices.

3.50% extra charges for paying by credit cards. or Amex
Picture of ELMWOOD HOTEL, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ELMWOOD HOTEL
The room was very small. There was alot of noise coming from outside. The room was freezing. I most definately will not be staying here ever again!

Reviewed by
S Mulla

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
You kind of get what you pay for
Very close to Kings Cross Station, nice clean room, TV, Shower, Tea/Coffee, and its as cheap as anything you will find around there. I would hsppily stay there again

Reviewed by
Ashley Richardson

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty poor!
Pretty poor all round. There were stains on the bed sheets from previous customers and our ensuite stank of mould. No one came into the room during our 2 night stay to change the towels or provide us with tea / clean cups etc and the breakfast that was included in the cost of the room was extremely limited.

Reviewed by
A Bassett

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very compact but quite bijou!
Lovely room if extremely compact (top floor). Furniture fitted to the smallness of the room, but it worked, just and no more!
Breakfast was a little disappointing as there was scarcely space to turn around and one had to wait one's turn to even get in to the toast/cereal etc. Cosy though!

Reviewed by
Jill Kerr

From Arbroath, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for...
The room was fine for a couple of nights as a brief stayover - I only needed a crashpad and for that it was ideal - I upgraded to a double as the single was small - the double wasn't much bigger - I could touch both walls with arms outstreched.
However - It was clean and tidy - En-suit was fine - Shower was hot - it had all I needed for my stay.

Reviewed by
James F

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Elmwood Hotel - one night stay - two rooms - Dec 2014
Efficient check in at 3.00. Could use Wifi connection. Rooms are small and compact but clean with shower and wc working fine.
Continental breakfast offers cereals, fresh toast, meats and cheese and good coffee.
Would recommend for 1 or 2 night stay - only 5 mins from King's Cross/St Pancras. Very quiet inside and outside considering hotel's position.
We were allowed to leave 2 small holdalls till late afternoon there

Reviewed by
Hilary F

From Chatham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfactory for what I paid
As I got this relatively cheaply (£62.10 paying by credit card) it is probably unfair to criticise too much. It was mostly a clean room; a few spots on the wall wouldn't have merited closer inspection. Bed was clean and fresh. Breakfast was all I needed. My only observation, made to the receptionist on leaving, was that the only radiator in the room (including the en suite) did not work, so I had a cold night. I tried turning it on in the morning but it still didn't warm up.

Reviewed by
Jonathan P

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty awful
I stayed in room 1: it was a basement room. The bathroom smelled like cigarettes, the heating didn't work, the tv didn't work, there wasn't a quilt on the bed, a scratchy brown blanket, the PAT testing was out of date. For circa £100 a night I expect better. I will not be returning.

ManagementResponse

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly apologize for your bad experience. I only wish if you had expressed your issues at the time of your stay. Regarding the smoking smell, we don't allow anybody to smoke. However if such incident happened we would be more than happy to change the room for you. Our heating system works just fine in every room, all what you need to do is to turn it on from the radiator valve. The TV works fine as well, most likely the antenna wasn't plugged in probably. I'm very surprised you didn't find a quilt on your bed. as I said before, if you just has raised your issues at the time of your stay we would have sorted out everything in no time. Thank you, Andrew

Reviewed by
Michael S

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not great
Good location and close to King Cross St Pancras stations. Three key issues for me though...
1) When I asked for the room safe to be activated the manager on the desk tried to persuade me to put my valuables behind the front desk. I got the impression that I was being a pain and I did not like the way I was treated. I did not complain as I did not want to get into an argument. The manager reluctantly set up the safe and I thanked him for his trouble, but I still got the impression I was being a pain, 2) I was awoken very early on the sunday morning with what sounded like someone moving furniture around for approx 60 minutes with people walking about, dropping heavy items on the floor and talking loudly, and 3) I had a wobbly bed that I thought was going to collapse every time I rolled over - I am not over weight.
All in all, not a great experience.

Reviewed by
j berry

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Very good value for money. Good location for tube network. Friendly receptionist

Reviewed by
CARL M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next