No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ELMWOOD HOTEL

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
19 & 20 ARGYLE SQUARE, KING'S CROSS , LONDON, WC1 H8AS
The Elmwood hotel is situated on a quiet side street, just moments from Kings Cross and Euston Road. The hotel offers easy access to Kings Cross tube and railway station and also to the Eurostar Terminal.

The Elmwood hotel is within a row of 19th Century Victorian houses. The Elmwood Hotel offers modern facilities fused with original Victoria features such as high ceilings and large windows. The hotels 24 hour reception provides a peaceful waiting area for other guests or friends and the Elmwood also offers a cosy breakfast room. The reception can also help arrange airport shuttle transfers and theater tickets. The hotel reception also features a safe deposit box service, for hotel guests.

On offer are over 35 en suite guest rooms, each with private bathroom including towels and a hairdryer. Bedrooms are brightly decorated, and are well maintained, clean and with large windows. Guest rooms are available as Single Rooms, Double Rooms and Triple Rooms.

All rooms feature a television showing local channels, and also tea and coffee facilities.

The Elmwood Hotel serves a light continental breakfast in the hotels breakfast room. Breakfast is served from 07:30 to 9.30 and includes items such as toast, cereals, ham,cheese and light drinks and fruit juice. The Elmwood hotel only offers guests breakfast and lunch and dinner can be taken nearby in on the many restaurants or wherever you choose. Kings Cross offers many cafes, restaurants and bars and there are also many grocery stores and supermarkets nearby such as Tesco. The friendly staff will be glad to offer assistance and recommend restaurants for you.

The Elmwood hotel is a very good choice, when choosing a hotel for sightseeing or to be near to Kings Cross. Within one kilometer of the hotel is Tuffnell Park, Camden market, Kings Cross Station, Euston Station, Russell Square, Bloomsbury, Farringdon and Clerkenwell.

The nearby Kings Cross station offers a quick connection to all areas of the city center, with access to five tube lines at the station. Journey time to Liverpool street is just 8 minutes, to Cannon Street is 10 minutes, Covent Garden would take 5 minutes and Arsenal, just 6 minutes.

People traveling to London visiting hospital, will be located very near to the Royal Throat and Eye Hospital, The Eastman Dental Hospital, The National Hospital and Great Ormond Street Hospital aswell as the School of Nursing. and UCL Hospital.

The location, between Liverpool Street and the Kings Cross station, makes it very accessible to Elmwood Hotel guests flying to Luton and Stansted Airports. Stansted offers an express train service to Liverpool street, whilst the Thames Silverlink service, travels from Luton Airport to Kings Cross. Kings Cross station also offers mainline rail services to the North of England and Scotland, making the Elmwood Hotel an ideal choice if you are traveling on from London, especially if its an early train!
The Kings Cross Thameslink train also offers a direct connection to London Bridge, Moorgate, Farringdon, Sutton and Wimbledon to name just a few.

NEARBY ATTRACTIONS: Euston Station, St Pancreas,Russell Square, Bedford Square, Bloomsbury Square, Coram's Fields, Foundling Museum, Senate House, Great Oxford Street , British Museum, Brunswick Square, Dickens Museum, St. George's Church

the hotel offers free WIFI internet connection in all rooms.

coffee and tea facilities, Local TV chanals, central heating, continental breakfast and city map in all rooms prices.

3.50% extra charges for paying by credit cards. or Amex
Picture of ELMWOOD HOTEL, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last Minute Panic!
I had booked another hotel for my trip to an exhibition in London but half an hour before check-in the hotel called to say my room was no longer available! An alternative was offered but not suitable due to the location. Michael at late rooms did a fantastic job finding me a more suitable loacation and that is how I ended up at the Elmwood Hotel. Not what I'd usually choose but staff were very friendly and helpful, romm was "OK" and for the cost, breakfast a little "basic" but adequate. Down side as I was travelling by car was the cost of parking which added 20% to the bill and the fact that the hotel was 100 yards inside the Congestion Zone (another £32!)

Reviewed by
Paul P

From Loughborough, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Even though it was a good price for London, it still fell short of expectation. Friendly welcome, but why did I have to pay a surcharge on C/Card payment? Room cheaply furnished with this sheets and thinner pillows. Clean but not spotless. Breakfast very poor even if for a continental. Wifi was good, but I won't be coming back.

Reviewed by
Charles D

From Lightwater, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The WIFI does not work on the top floors of the hotel. I stayed here on business, so I really expected to have WIFI and it is offered on the late rooms booking site description. This keeps happening with late rooms hotels. The last three that I have stayed in advertise WIFI and although its available, the signal strength is not sufficient to connect. Not good enough! Not for business.

Reviewed by
claire r

From Corsham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked 2 rooms at this hotel. One room, the kettle was not safe to use and the TV didn't work. These were minor problems compared to the second room. In the second room, the en suite walls were covered with mould, and it smelled very damp. Both rooms almost constantly had the sound of running water through the night.
The bed was comfy, and the sheets were clean. The breakfast was fine.
Both rooms were in the basement, the stairs were quite steep, although not a problem for us, if your mobility is not good request ground floor.

Reviewed by
Kayleigh L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel's not fit to put your dog in
We went on late rooms website, and it did'nt look bad
We got there and the room was so small you could'nt
Turn round, and the cleanliness took a bit to be desired,
The sheets were a bit dirty, so didn't have them on bed.
Then there's the noise, couldn't get a wink of sleep.
Crap hotel.
We've used late rooms many times, but i suggest you take this
Hotel off your site.

Reviewed by
M Percival

From Nottinghamshire, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value and Clean with friendly staff
We wanted a basic one night stopover befor catching the Eurostar train to the Continent from St Pancras Stn , 5 minutes stroll on foot away from this hotel .
Located like many others in the area in what were once posh family houses , the rooms are a fraction on the cramped side due to having to jam an en-suite loo+shower room into each former room , but it was clean and comfortable , friendly helpful staff , and a reasonable breakfast , all in all good value for central london at a fraction over £50 per head . I'd use the place again .

Reviewed by
Chris P

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room and food
we arrived at our hotel mid morning and found it in a very pleasant location overlooking a green - quiet a nice suprise for London. Reception were helpful in sorting out parking permit - which was needed for the first couple of hours only as parking was free from 1.30 on a Saturday till midnight on Sunday - another bonus. And you can park right outside the hotel - yet another bonus. The hotel is just a short walk from bustling Kings Cross area with many cafe's and restaurants of every nationality and a leisurly stroll into London centre and the main sights is approximately 30 mins - passing many small theatres and interesting sights along the way. well worth putting on your walking shoes and taking to the streets - although tube stations are only minutes away if you prefer to take the train. The room was tiny - though that is only to be expected in London where every inch of space equals money - but adequate. we did need to be pretty fit though as our room was in the attic space and up three flights of stairs - no lift available so beware if booking a room that you state you need a lower floor if you struggle with the stairs. Breakfast was included in the price and described as continental style - there were two plates of meat (ham and chicken - both descriptions used very loosely) and hard boiled eggs. all served with a basket of toast!!! no rolls or croisants in sight. yogurt and cereal also available. however, it set you up till lunchtime. Reception is manned 24 hours a day and all staff we met were helpful.

Reviewed by
Joyce W

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonably satisfied
Sent to neighbouring hotel (European Hotel). Upgraded to double room which is still very small. On 3rd floor and doesn't seem to have a lift; may be problematic for people with lots of luggage. Shower is feeble. Otherwise little to complain about.

Reviewed by
J Lay

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night stay
The hotel was alright. Only we where staying there so as to get to St Pancras International station for an early train next morning to be there between 06;00 & 07;00 Breakfast started at 07;00 they did give us some Bread, butter, jams and orange juice. (it was B&B)

Reviewed by
Colin O

From Birmingham, England
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Okay but one scarry incident
The Hotel was okay and the reception staff polite.
However, when I went to have a shower in the morning, in room 34, there was water dripping from a glass lamp shade! As I waited for the water to run warm, a cold drip started dropping on me! When I realised what was happening, I switch off the light, fearing some kind of incident. I hence had to shower and shave in the dark! (The light above the sink was wired into the main shower room switch.)
The same receptionist inspected the defect quickly and said he would report it to the owner immediately. (No rebate was offered!)

Reviewed by
Anthony Murphy

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5