No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castleton Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
164 SUSSEX GARDENS , LONDON, W2 1UD
Ideally located in the heart of London, this convenient hotel is situated adjacent to Hyde Park, and just 3 minutes walk from Paddington station and the Heathrow Express train service. Castleton Hotel offers a great location from where you can enjoy all that the city of London has to offer. Its close proximity to Paddington station means that you can be at Heathrow Airport in just 15 minutes. The famous shopping streets of Oxford Street, Regent Street and Bond Street are all nearby, as are most of London’s major attractions. The hotel’s comfortable rooms all have a TV and an en suite bathroom, while a full English breakfast is served in the restaurant each morning. The hotel is located in a quiet street in London’s Paddington/Lancaster Gate, from where you can go for a walk in nearby Hyde Park, or go shopping in one of the many shopping streets nearby.
the hotel also offers free WI - FI internet throughout the hotel.
the hotel also has a Car park costing £20.00 per day, must be reserved in advance over the telephone.
Picture of Castleton Hotel, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tiny room but great breakfast
Traveling with friend - reserved twin room. Room was SMALL, beds smaller than twin,, but it was clean and comfortable. More than one bag per person would be a problem. Perfect for a short stay and within walking distance to Paddington Station for the Heathrow Express. Breakfast was included and it was very good. Wouldn't want to stay in the twin room for more than 1 or 2 nights, so not a choice for an extended stay for me.

Reviewed by
J Carter

From USA
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

castleton hotel 3 star not.
the room was small, no wardrobe just a hole in the wall with a pole, dirt bed linen, half a window, no telephone like advertised. double bed you cant get out both sides. no channels on television. more stairs than the 39 steps. no greeting. room key that was attached to a big piece of rope. no light outside the room so could not see to open the door. a chamber maid that just walked in without knocking.

Reviewed by
s ellett

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for one night close to Paddington
This was the perfect stop over for one, room was tidy, the size was as expected in central London, the staff were very helpful, breakfast was good, all in all very good value for money for 1 night

Reviewed by
M Crompton

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Employees and Management
Every one, with one exception (evening security) was sincerely friendly, polite, and helpful. Which to me is positively a reflection of the manager Mr. T___.

Reviewed by
michael k

From USA
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but in desperate need of a refurb!!
This place really needs a refurb. It's clean, staff are friendly, it's in a good location 2 min from Paddington Stations and 5-6 min from Lancaster Gate on Central Line for tubes BUT, the room was really small, the en-suite is like nothing I've ever seen before (what can only be described as an elevated plastic cubicle) and the table in the room was in need of a skip. At over £200 a night last minute there are much better alternatives...

Reviewed by
Tony G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was way too small and the toilet was bad
The room was too small, the room key was attached to a heavy object so you were literally carrying an extra luggage anytime you leave the room with the key. The toilet was smelling even without having used it.

Reviewed by
Olusegun O

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

roomtoosmall
room too small..

Reviewed by
Seamus Boyle

From Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a Restful Experience
The bedroom seemed fine on arrival but it overlooked some extractor fans (I think this is what they were) and the sash windows were not sound proof. These fans woke me up at 4am both nights of my stay meaning that I hardly slept. On the second night I tried to get a very early night however the thin ceilings and walls meant that was impossible. Buffet Breakfast was served without a smile in the basement. After looking to spend 2 nights in London to get some rest and avoid a commute I ended up more tired than had I travelled 4 hours a day. There may well be far quieter rooms than the one I stayed in but I wont be taking the risk.

Reviewed by
Rob F

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The twin room was tiny with very slim single beds, though this central, I suspect it is not unique in this. The lighting was dreadful, with not a chance of reading a book in there - an overhead light by the door and a wall light at the foot of the bed! The bathroom was OK though I had to ask reception for towels. Breakfast was basic, cheap and tasteless cereal, sausage, egg, beans and no veggie option, though endless tea. The tea/coffee/ milk in the room were not replaced for my 2nd night. Parking was safe and they let me leave the car there all day on the day I checked out, so that I coud sight-see without it.

Reviewed by
caroline w

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room size.
the hotel in general was fine .My only complaint was that the "ensuite"bathroom was so small.You barely had room to turn around.On the plus side the room was clean the staff friendly and courteous and breakfast was good.Location was good.

Reviewed by
m knight

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next