Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Yeovil Hotels > The Globe and Crown (formerly Globetrotters)
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Globe and Crown (formerly Globetrotters)

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
73 South Street , Yeovil, BA20 1QF
Centrally located in the market town of Yeovil, on the southern borders of Somerset, The Globe & Crown is ideal for exploring Somerset and Devon. There are 31 ensuite bedrooms that include multi channel TV, tea/coffee facilities, work desk and hairdryer. The traditional English bar serves traditional ales, a variety of wines and a varied menu of hearty food. There is also a peaceful canopied garden area where you can dine al fresco.

Yeovil is a vibrant market town situated on the southern border of Somerset, 130 miles from London, 40 from Bristol and 30 from Taunton. Sherborne Castle and Montacute House are only a short drive away

Picture of The Globe and Crown (formerly Globetrotters), Yeovil at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Globe & Crown
Not bad - a bit chaotic - lights in the bathroom did not work. Service was friendly, once you found it. Breakfast good, presented in chaotic fashion.
Not at all a bad place to stay. Could be improved a bit.

Reviewed by
Chris Mills

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay here
Prior to my stay at the Globe and Crown I had read the reviews. I feel the reviews are very mixed. I do believe this hotel may have a couple of nice rooms and serve their purpose. However mine was not so. All I can describe my very small room was, a small closet room that was attached to a garage that was situated in a car park. The room faced out onto a dark alley way, and I felt unsafe. There was very little heat in this room, and I had to borrow a fan heater off a colleague that lives near by. There was no heating in the bathroom. The bed was very small and my feet poked out of the bottom. You could feel every spring in the bed and the pillows felt as though I was leaning on a rock. I was meant to be staying four night, however I left after the first night.
The cup that was in the bedroom was not clean at all. I had to be up very early the next morning of my first night and I wanted to complain to someone but I couldn't even get into the main hotel or pub.
All in all I was very disappointed, and I advise if you are going to stay here please check which room you have first.

Reviewed by
Charlotte Williams

From , Canada
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room OK, Breakfast OK. Reception and general attitude indifferent. Evening meal rubbish.

Reviewed by
GERARD M

From SERRES SUR ARGET, France
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

From the moment we checked in we felt welcome, the manager recommended the black rock grill if we were eating in the hotel ~ oh my god, it was amazing and the best steak I've ever eaten. We will definitely stay here again.
The room was slightly 'tired' but very very clean

Reviewed by
Nicky S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Globe and Crown
Nice people. Good nights sleep. Good food.
No complaints.

Reviewed by
Steve N

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth it!
We had a lovely night's stay in a very comfortable room with great customer service, keeping the kitchen open later than they needed. The only downside was the TV turning itself on in the early hours!

Reviewed by
Nicki R

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unsatified Cistomer
The noise of people standing outside shouting and using disgusting language was terrible. It needs some sort of security to patrol the late night revellers especially as they were staying at there.UnsU

Reviewed by
M Hotchkies

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room for improvement
we booked a double room but ended up with a single not the most comftable sleep when hot and 2 people are squeezed into small bed. unfortunately could not check room until we returned as left waiting to book in while somebody answered 2 phone calls and spoke to people at the bar. by the time we returned it was 1.45am. while checking out I was ushered very quickly out the door by somebody cleaning the floor so unable to voice my complaint then.

Reviewed by
k badcock

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
The room was dimly lit with an adequate bathroom, although the extractor fan was little more than a hole in the wall. There was a great deal of noise from the pub which woke us up at intervals throughout the night. The bed dipped towards the middle. We will not stay there again.

Reviewed by
Ros M

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired facilities. Smoke could be smelt on stairs. Noise from late drinkers under bedroom window at 12.30am. Fire escape ??
Main complaint related to the quality and amount of the cooked breakfast. We were told we could only have one egg, one rasher of bacon and one sausage. Toast was cold. No fruit available only cereals. Frying pan needs cleaning as egg and bacon was covered in charcoal bits from the frying pan.

Reviewed by
Alan H

From Crediton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next