No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avonmore Hotel

2Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
57 Cartwright Gardens , London, WC1H 9EL
The Avonmore is a tranquil little hotel at the heart of London situated on a prime location of a Georgian Crescent overlooking tennis courts and gardens. The Avonmore, like London, is a mix of old and new, common spaces and outdoors are Georgian and Victorian style. Its pleasant surroundings and central location, courtesy and comfortable atmosphere will ensure a pleasant stay in central London. Close by are main line underground stations such as Russell square, King's cross and Euston, theatres and the West End are within 15 minutes walking distance. There are many places of interest within a mile of the hotel including the British Museum, Madame Tussaud’s Wax Museum, London Zoo, Covent Garden, Theatreland and Soho. The new British Library is within a couple of minutes walking distance to the hotel. A pre-authorization of your card will be made for the first night's amount in order to validate the card and guarantee your booking when a reservation is made, full payment is made on arrival or departure.
THE AVONMORE HOTEL IS A STRICTLY NON SMOKING HOTEL.
Picture of Avonmore Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and Basic
Location is good close to Kings Cross and Russell Square though roadworks are going on and there's a rowdy pub around the corner. It would be cheaper to book directly with the hotel as the price with Laterooms proved more expensive so we paid over the odds. We had 2 single rooms, my friend had a room in the basement but felt unsafe to leave her window open which opened into a patio which other hotel windows open into. She complained about this being a security issue and looking onto rubbish, the security issue was dismissed and the rubbish removed. She secured a small reduction in payment but later discovered 2 sets of her earrings went missing in her room, this was dismissed too. On the plus side, the hotel is clean, comfortable and location is good, breakfast is okay. It has no communal lounge.
The staff were pleasant, none appeared to be of English origin.

Reviewed by
A Day

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable with friendly staff.

Reviewed by
elaine ret

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Idiosyncratic
A bit old fashioned, but that was kind of charming, and no corporate feel.

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Traian T

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Traian T

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, cozy family room
Very Clean hotel rooms. Skirting boards were even spotless.
Only complaint is they do not have a safe storage room for luggage and ours was left in the corridors for majority of day without our knowledge. Would have appreciated if they called us and asked if they could put in our rooms or otherwise let us know it would be in the hallways until the room was ready.

Reviewed by
T Ng

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A london B+B with a tube lline underneath, clean friendly and perfectly adequate for a night or more

Reviewed by
C hawley

From Newmarket, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, right for the price
The hotel was very clean. In the room there were all the basic facilities that you would require, the member of staff was pleasant. It is right for the price, i would stay again.

Reviewed by
Darren A

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget hotel - basic but clean
The hotel has narrow corridors with reception accessed up a small flight of stairs. I would say if you are anyway disabled or elderly with mobility problems this probably isn't the place for you.
My room (3) was in the basement and was small but no smaller than the majority of London hotels.
The tube trains that rattle along underground make a little bit of noise but it really isn't too bad. The room was basic but really clean. The television plug was broken but as I there is free wi-fi I was able to use my tablet to watch the news ect. The walls are bare with no pictures or art work to break up the room so it doesn't feel too welcoming.
Bathroom and shower was clean with the water good and hot.
Breakfast was basic but reasonable and there was coffee and tea-making equipment and supplies in the room.
All in all a pleasant enough stay as I was on my own and in London on business which required an overnight stay. Suitable for a single person not intent on staying too long in the room. I'd sty here again quite happily but wouldn't use the hotel for a romantic weekend with my wife.

Reviewed by
Kevin Hughes

From Yr Wyddgrug, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonably priced hotel near Euston
The Avonmore is one of several similar hotels in Cartwright Gardens and compares quite well with the others. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good. My en-suite room was comfortable though I had asked for a room away from the road, which I did not get - and in the event had to climb on a chair to shut the sash windows to at least partially shut out the traffic noise. But overall the stay was a good experience.

Reviewed by
Gwyneth B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next