No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avonmore Hotel

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
57 Cartwright Gardens , London, WC1H 9EL
The Avonmore is a tranquil little hotel at the heart of London situated on a prime location of a Georgian Crescent overlooking tennis courts and gardens. The Avonmore, like London, is a mix of old and new, common spaces and outdoors are Georgian and Victorian style. Its pleasant surroundings and central location, courtesy and comfortable atmosphere will ensure a pleasant stay in central London. Close by are main line underground stations such as Russell square, King's cross and Euston, theatres and the West End are within 15 minutes walking distance. There are many places of interest within a mile of the hotel including the British Museum, Madame Tussaud’s Wax Museum, London Zoo, Covent Garden, Theatreland and Soho. The new British Library is within a couple of minutes walking distance to the hotel. A pre-authorization of your card will be made for the first night's amount in order to validate the card and guarantee your booking when a reservation is made, full payment is made on arrival or departure.
THE AVONMORE HOTEL IS A STRICTLY NON SMOKING HOTEL.
Picture of Avonmore Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a great experience
Awful basement room, like sleeping in a corridor with a door. Radiator didn't work in bathroom and despite complaint it wasn't fixed. Bathroom needs re tiling. Rather threadbare.

Reviewed by
Kate O

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel
excellent customer service

Reviewed by
brian farmer

From Prestatyn, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unwelcoming
The receptionist barely looked at me, didn't smile and was very curt when I asked about the bill. The money had left my account before I arrived and yet the receptionist said the payment had not reached them - she further said that many guests queried this system but was totally unapologetic about it.

Reviewed by
E Grey

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality for its price point
It's inexpensive rather than cheap. If you pay as low a price as this, you can't expect as good as it is. Very impressed. Clean, quiet, well-managed. I'll definitely come there again ;-)

Reviewed by
tom h

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value
Favourite location, though hadn't stayed at Avonmore before. Very quiet and comfortable. Very pleasant, clean room. Chairs needed replacing but they were usable and hardly a big deal at the price I paid.

Reviewed by
John R

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
What else could I need? Nice room, everything clean, good value, nice breakfast, simple check in and out. Friendly. I'll happily return

Reviewed by
Cameron R

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff
I found the Avonmore Hotel perfectly pleasant for the price (which is cheap for a central London location). The quality of the accommodation is in keeping with the price and the fact that it's an old building. The window was a bit hard to open and close, the floorboards felt a bit creaky, and the staircase was steep and narrow. The only thing that was worse than expected was the shower, as I found it hard to get it to the right temperature due to the old fashioned taps, but there was plenty of hot water. Overall, there was really nothing to complain about, unless you have ridiculously high expectations - in which case, you should stay somewhere a bit more expensive! NB: That there is no lift in this hotel.

Reviewed by
E Higgs

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
Only stayed for one night, breakfast was nice - lost of choice, room was clean and actually quite large (triple instead of double) however the bathroom was tiny! But nonetheless, a good room with TV and tea and coffee facilities. 24 hour reception, had to leave room key every time you left which we found a tad odd but other than that, I can't fault it! Great price too!

Reviewed by
R Jackson

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value in Central London
Avonmore was a great location for an affordable price. The bathroom was a bit small, but the room was perfectly suitable for an overnight business stay. It was in a quiet location, even though I was worried due to the construction across the street.

Reviewed by
Ian D

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but convenient
This hotel is very well placed if (like me) you have business in Bloomsbury. It's very basic and the décor is distinctly tired, but there are shops just around the corner (as well as a very good pub), and the square is pleasantly leafy. My room (Number 3) was downstairs in the basement: very long and thin, and gifted with a rumbling soundtrack provided by passing tube trains. I found this curiously lulling, although other travellers might be less forgiving. But there was a fine, large desk which (since I had work to do in the evening) was a great blessing. Reception, by the way, is distinctly curious — it's halfway up the stairs in front of you as you go in, via a hatch which looks rather like a glorified dumb waiter. The staff were pleasant and helpful, though, and I would certainly use the place again. The Ritz it ain't — but it depends what you're looking for. For me, it was fine — and excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Phil Taylor

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next