No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avonmore Hotel

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
57 Cartwright Gardens , London, WC1H 9EL
The Avonmore is a tranquil little hotel at the heart of London situated on a prime location of a Georgian Crescent overlooking tennis courts and gardens. The Avonmore, like London, is a mix of old and new, common spaces and outdoors are Georgian and Victorian style. Its pleasant surroundings and central location, courtesy and comfortable atmosphere will ensure a pleasant stay in central London. Close by are main line underground stations such as Russell square, King's cross and Euston, theatres and the West End are within 15 minutes walking distance. There are many places of interest within a mile of the hotel including the British Museum, Madame Tussaud’s Wax Museum, London Zoo, Covent Garden, Theatreland and Soho. The new British Library is within a couple of minutes walking distance to the hotel. A pre-authorization of your card will be made for the first night's amount in order to validate the card and guarantee your booking when a reservation is made, full payment is made on arrival or departure.
THE AVONMORE HOTEL IS A STRICTLY NON SMOKING HOTEL.
Picture of Avonmore Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mediocre at best
After having stayed 1 day in this hotel and having paid over 120GBP, I overall have mixed feeling about my stay. The room being in the basement (which was a unique experience in itself), one can hear the subway trains passing by every few minutes, which bothered me a little bit but not too much considering the room itself was fine with one single bed, table and char. The customer service/ reception however, in my opinion, was under par in comparison to other hotels I have stayed in London.

Reviewed by
M Jain

From Clydebank, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Good value for the price considering it is in Bloomsbury. Lovely comfortable bed and the room was quiet and restful. Television for those who want it with all the free view channels etc.

Reviewed by
J Millar

From Bordon, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Performance.
I guess you get what you pay for. I chose the Avonmore simply due to budget restraints. I was nestled on the lower ground floor, the room smelled damp, the shower and toilet facilities were extremely cramped and the breakfast... 3 forkfuls and I suddenly had too rush off for an 'Early appointment'.
Overall a disappointing experience, the only saving grace was the friendly reception staff. Will avoid in future.

Reviewed by
Connor C

From Whitley Bay, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Clean and Central
The triple room with three single beds was perfect for two teenagers plus Mum and very comfortable. For the price I could not fault it. The facility to leave luggage for the day after you have checked out could be very useful although we did not need it.

Reviewed by
S Caesar

From Wareham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When I arrived at reception at around 8pm the man on reception stank very heavily of alcohol with the shakes. I was awoken at 5am with noise and the breakfast wasn't great. I wouldnt stay here again

Reviewed by
H Brown

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was a special treat coming to London from Wales and meeting up with a friend from the north. We had to book the room at the last minute because the hotel we stayed at the night before had only booked us in for one night instead of two.
We were disappointed at the small size of the room and there was no place to put our suitcases and no towel rails in the bathroom. It was clean but the standard was only just above a hostel level in our opinion.
There was no choice of cooking eggs for breakfast and only ordinary tea or coffee , no other choices, so we were not impressed with the menu.
The staff were alright but not very friendly or particularly welcoming.
Altogether it was a disappointing experience.

Reviewed by
Bronwyn S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avonmore Hotel, nr. King's Cross, 14-15 May 2013
The hotel could not be faulted for cleanliness. The room was clean, the décor fairly recent and the bathroom facilities modern. I was only staying for one night, so did not have cause for any assistance, but the staff were friendly and helpful. The room, like most central London hotels within this budget that I have stayed in, was small, but the window large, which made the room bright - it overlooked Cartwright Crescent. As a 'provincial', I usually find London hotels way over-priced for the quality of accommodation, but the Avonmore, given its location (I walked from here to Trafalgar Square, in about half an hour, at a fairly leisurely pace) and the cleanliness, was pretty good value. Having said that, for a longer stay, I would almost certainly splash out to book a larger room.

Reviewed by
Michael R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accommodation
Room was very clean and staff were very pleasant and helpful

Reviewed by
Moira M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate and great location
This was an amazing experience ..this hotel was tucked away very close to russel square tube station and amazingly quiet Neighborhood. It was great and quite adequate for one night and good value for money but it wasn't by private as I heard my neighbours chatting but it was quite comfortable.

Reviewed by
Priya B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wish I had stayed at a Premier Inn
I think the title says it all really..........the room was clean and the location was ideal for the meeting venue I had to attend.........I didn't bother with Breakfast so I can't comment on that. The the hotel is very tired as are the rooms and although I do like to not stay with the big hotel chains in this case I wish I had..........sorry but I cannot recommend you stay here even at the reduced prices that are on offer through late rooms.

Reviewed by
Paul Browning

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next