Reviews - Avonmore Hotel


57 Cartwright Gardens, London, WC1H 9EL

Price From 303.18 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (58)

69% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • thomas b

  • December 2014

Avonmore December 2014

Bizarre number of beds in room - would be good value I suppose if there were about 5 staying.

Having said that double bed was very comfortable albeit small

Bathroom a bit basic - shower only - but clean

Beware if you're either a bit infirm or afraid of heights - we stayed on top floor and last staircase is like loft ladder with about a 2:1 ratio climb. Good value for where it is though - peaceful but v central spot

  • David A

  • December 2014

Dave's London Break

Hotel is conveniently situated close to bus routes for the places we wanted to visit; principally Royal Opera House and Camden Lock Market.

  • G Pearson

  • November 2014

Avonmore Hotel

Excellent value for a one night stopover providing a comfortable bed in a spotless room and a substantial breakfast

  • Val S

  • November 2014

Excellent value only 5 mins walk from Euston station

Wasn't sure what to expect for the price I paid for this room in such a handy location.

Overall it was better accommodation than I expected. On arrival the reception desk was unusually positioned up a flight of stairs and was more like a serving hatch manned by a pleasant receptionist if a little unprofessionally dressed. My room was a single room located in what seemed like the basement but was comfortable and clean with everything I needed. I didn't use the shower but it looked clean and functional. I was somewhat worried about the lock on the inside of the door which seemed a bit broken however I managed to balance it so the door could not be pushed open. It did lock successfully from outside however. Breakfast the next morning consisted of a good choice of cereals, juice and yogurt and/or cooked full English. I went for the full English and was served by a nice lady and the food was well made and delivered promptly.

  • B williams

  • November 2014

Hotel is looking very tired, needs some TLC

I booked this hotel because it was reasonably priced.

The chap on reception was very helpful on our arrival. The room was quite small very dated carpet & decorated. Shower very small heaven help anyone with a weight problem they would struggle to get in. No bath mat provided. Only 1 hand & bath towel supplied even though it was booked for 2 persons. The room was nice and warm, we had a peaceful sleep no noise. Breakfast was good. The two girls serving up were very polite. Breakfast room well stocked and clean. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to friends but if I needed to book a cheap room over night I would book it for ourselves.

  • Craig L

  • November 2014

Lovely staff and nice clean hotel

The staff were lovely and very helpful and welcoming, room was clean and comfy.

Very handy for the tube stations, will certainly stay again!!

  • Susan F

  • November 2014

Friendly service

Room was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was excellent.

  • J Sowerby

  • November 2014

One night stay

Clean,friendly and a good freshly cooked breakfast and reasonably priced.

Close to trains, buses and underground. Would stay again.

  • Nigel E

  • November 2014


Very average with no outstanding features except a four storey hike to the top floor and no elevator.

  • Paul J

  • November 2014

Fine for the price

Very helpful and polite desk staff.

A nice enough room considering it was in the basement (and that I could hear the Tube until midnight and again from 5am), although the bathroom wasn't the best. Perfectly fine for the price I paid though given its helpful location so close to King's Cross and Bloomsbury.