No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avonmore Hotel

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
57 Cartwright Gardens , London, WC1H 9EL
The Avonmore is a tranquil little hotel at the heart of London situated on a prime location of a Georgian Crescent overlooking tennis courts and gardens. The Avonmore, like London, is a mix of old and new, common spaces and outdoors are Georgian and Victorian style. Its pleasant surroundings and central location, courtesy and comfortable atmosphere will ensure a pleasant stay in central London. Close by are main line underground stations such as Russell square, King's cross and Euston, theatres and the West End are within 15 minutes walking distance. There are many places of interest within a mile of the hotel including the British Museum, Madame Tussaud’s Wax Museum, London Zoo, Covent Garden, Theatreland and Soho. The new British Library is within a couple of minutes walking distance to the hotel. A pre-authorization of your card will be made for the first night's amount in order to validate the card and guarantee your booking when a reservation is made, full payment is made on arrival or departure.
THE AVONMORE HOTEL IS A STRICTLY NON SMOKING HOTEL.
Picture of Avonmore Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avonmore
For a 2 star hotel I don't think you could expect anything better, very good for this level of hotel, very comfortable accomodation.

Reviewed by
J Kirk

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and convenient
Very clean and welcoming, right by the station. Will definitely stay here again!

Reviewed by
Kate M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small and hot, but clean, friendly and well located
I stayed at the Avonmore on short notice on a Friday in February (ie with 5 hours notice) and couldn't bring myself to spend £100+ on a London centre hotel. The Avonmore is 5 minutes from St Pancras/Kings Cross, situated on a quiet crescent and only 5 minutes from Russell Square tube station. The chap on Reception was very helpful, pointing me in the direction of the tube station and confirming that he would be there 24 hours to allow me back in after a London Fashion Week party (whatever time that would be! He did ask me if I'd had a good night when I returned in the wee small hours)
My single room was small, but adequate, although the floor did slope quite noticeably away from the bathroom door. The room was also incredibly hot, but luckily they have proper sash windows (rather than 1" Premier Inn 'safety' windows), so cool air was quicklly flooding in! Although the bathroom was compact, it was immaculately clean and had all that I needed. Other reviewers have pointed out the lack of a bath towel and this is a simple fix that the Avonmore could address I think.
Breakfast was included in the cost of my room, but after a late night, I didn't partake :o) I kept the window open all night to relieve the heat and the room cooled down nicely. As an added bonus, the crescent was quiet all night and the bed comfortable, so I slept well.
A great little find just off the centre of London, ideally placed for a quick overnight trip to the Capital and it's definitely somewhere I will consider staying again! Well done Avonmore!

Reviewed by
Lauren R

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything was great and the fact they upgrade me for no additional cost to a larger room as really great , the only thing I have to say is that the towel looked a bit old but it was fresh and clean , the room was good too .

Reviewed by
simone s

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avonmore hotel
hello
This hotel was adequate, room was clean, it was a strange shape and tucked away in the basement. It was just the little things that were missing (e.g. only getting a hand towel to wash with, no shampoo, lock not working properly on door), having stayed in hotels outside of london for less money where they put a lot of effort in it was disappointing.

Reviewed by
Lindsay M

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, great location
Conveniently located for Euston/Kings Cross and slightly larger room than I expected on the budget, if long and thin. Clean, warm, with recent basic but pleasant bathroom conversion, good shower. Usual small, steep stairs for this type of converted older building. Near good food pubs and internet cafes. I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Alan C

From Scotland
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noche en el Avenmore
Yo fui a pasar una noche al hotel, en relación calidad precio está bien, es un hotel económico teniendo en cuenta que las estaciones de King Cross y St Pancras están a menos de 5 minutos. La habitación era doble, con una cama grande y otra de 90, el baño no muy grande pero para pasar la noche estaba bien, no hacía nada de frío. Lo malo es que me dieron en la tercera planta la habitación y las escaleras son muy estrechas y no hay ascensor. Y había arañas en la habitación. El trato fue bueno, me respondían por email rápidamente a la hora de reservar y la habitación estaba muy limpia.

Reviewed by
Laura C

From Elstree, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4