Avonmore Hotel

3

57 Cartwright Gardens, London, WC1H 9EL

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (58)

69% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Ian D

  • January 2015

Great Value in Central London

Avonmore was a great location for an affordable price.

The bathroom was a bit small, but the room was perfectly suitable for an overnight business stay. It was in a quiet location, even though I was worried due to the construction across the street.

  • Phil Taylor

  • January 2015

Basic but convenient

This hotel is very well placed if (like me) you have business in Bloomsbury.

It's very basic and the décor is distinctly tired, but there are shops just around the corner (as well as a very good pub), and the square is pleasantly leafy. My room (Number 3) was downstairs in the basement: very long and thin, and gifted with a rumbling soundtrack provided by passing tube trains. I found this curiously lulling, although other travellers might be less forgiving. But there was a fine, large desk which (since I had work to do in the evening) was a great blessing. Reception, by the way, is distinctly curious — it's halfway up the stairs in front of you as you go in, via a hatch which looks rather like a glorified dumb waiter. The staff were pleasant and helpful, though, and I would certainly use the place again. The Ritz it ain't — but it depends what you're looking for. For me, it was fine — and excellent value for money.

  • E Bull

  • December 2014

Would love to visit again.

Very easy found, comfortable.

Friendly staff, who were helpful. I enjoyed my short stay there.

  • Simon B

  • December 2014

Good location but so many lost opportunities

  • thomas b

  • December 2014

Avonmore December 2014

Bizarre number of beds in room - would be good value I suppose if there were about 5 staying.

Having said that double bed was very comfortable albeit small

Bathroom a bit basic - shower only - but clean

Beware if you're either a bit infirm or afraid of heights - we stayed on top floor and last staircase is like loft ladder with about a 2:1 ratio climb. Good value for where it is though - peaceful but v central spot

  • David A

  • December 2014

Dave's London Break

Hotel is conveniently situated close to bus routes for the places we wanted to visit; principally Royal Opera House and Camden Lock Market.

  • G Pearson

  • November 2014

Avonmore Hotel

Excellent value for a one night stopover providing a comfortable bed in a spotless room and a substantial breakfast

  • Val S

  • November 2014

Excellent value only 5 mins walk from Euston station

Wasn't sure what to expect for the price I paid for this room in such a handy location.

Overall it was better accommodation than I expected. On arrival the reception desk was unusually positioned up a flight of stairs and was more like a serving hatch manned by a pleasant receptionist if a little unprofessionally dressed. My room was a single room located in what seemed like the basement but was comfortable and clean with everything I needed. I didn't use the shower but it looked clean and functional. I was somewhat worried about the lock on the inside of the door which seemed a bit broken however I managed to balance it so the door could not be pushed open. It did lock successfully from outside however. Breakfast the next morning consisted of a good choice of cereals, juice and yogurt and/or cooked full English. I went for the full English and was served by a nice lady and the food was well made and delivered promptly.

  • B williams

  • November 2014

Hotel is looking very tired, needs some TLC

I booked this hotel because it was reasonably priced.

The chap on reception was very helpful on our arrival. The room was quite small very dated carpet & decorated. Shower very small heaven help anyone with a weight problem they would struggle to get in. No bath mat provided. Only 1 hand & bath towel supplied even though it was booked for 2 persons. The room was nice and warm, we had a peaceful sleep no noise. Breakfast was good. The two girls serving up were very polite. Breakfast room well stocked and clean. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to friends but if I needed to book a cheap room over night I would book it for ourselves.

  • Craig L

  • November 2014

Lovely staff and nice clean hotel

The staff were lovely and very helpful and welcoming, room was clean and comfy.

Very handy for the tube stations, will certainly stay again!!