You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Avonmore Hotel

3

57 Cartwright Gardens, London, WC1H 9EL

Price From 95.74 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (61)

70% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Kath V

  • December 2015

Stay for the location and price

A basic hotel but does not pretend to be otherwise and is priced to be good value.

Stayed here to catch early train from st pancras so location was perfect, room was a good size as well.

  • Michael L

  • November 2015

Brilliant very friendly and helpful staff

Brilliant hotel, will definately stay in again.

I stayed there and left bags for free, came back after check in time and they even let me use a room to get changed. Not many hotels would let you do this but they were so understanding and helpful!

  • Andrew S

  • November 2015

Respectable, comfortable, friendly and excellent value

I needed a place to lay my head for a night before a seminar I was attending nearby.

This place has an easily-accessible central location, quiet and respectable surroundings, and was friendly. Flashy and super-deluxe it is not, and the room was tiny, but it had everything I needed for a comfortable night, with an excellent full breakfast in the morning. I was pleasantly surprised to get all this for a very reasonable price (by London standards).

  • S Khan

  • November 2015

Very small room. Narrow stairs.

TV not working.

Separate bathroom was inconvenient. This should have been mentioned before booking. Not worth money spent. Sorry to have stayed there.

  • Lucy H

  • September 2015

Great hidden gem in Central London

Great hotel, friendly staff, the full English breakfast was excellent, I would definitely go back again.

  • M Roberts

  • July 2015

As basic as expected for price

Good location and so close to being a really pleasant experience.

Reception staff who smile would help a little as would soap in the bathroom. Breakfast was underwhelming with poached eggs beyond the range of options ("boiled, fried or scrambled only"). More an average guest house than hotel but ok for a night.

  • Sue t

  • July 2015

Avonmore Hotel

Easy to get to.

  • I gibson

  • June 2015

Not for the faint hearted!

The double bed, was a three quarter, too snug for us.

Not mentioned on website that there's a lot of stairs, 3 flights up to our room with the last becoming so steep and narrow, an achievement if carrying a case. The shower needs a warning in big letters, this will scald!. Very difficult to adjust the temperature. A nail protruding from the bathroom doorframe, made it very difficult walking thro. Breakfast was ok, but that involved 5 flights of stairs down, and 5 up again. The room felt very shabby and unloved, I have stayed in lot nicer hotels recently for a lot less money.

  • Colin T

  • April 2015

shower was difficult to regulate

  • alec T

  • April 2015

Avonmore Hotel

The first thing I noticed on entering the room was a fousty smell.

Getting into bed I became aware of the smell of urine. As the night progressed it got worse. The sheets, pillow and duvet seemed to have the same disagreeable odour. I complained and the sheets were changed for freshly laundered ones, but unfortunately the odour came back. I can only believe that some previous guest had wet the bed and saturated the mattress, as obviously clean sheets soon reeked. I complained again and from then on the bed was fine. they may have changed the mattress.

Apart from that, the room was spotlessly cleaned, as was the tiny bathroom. I only scored it 1 because of the bed experience. The shower head had a constant drip, and the cleaning staff tightened the taps so hard I could open them only with great difficulty, heaven knows how someone with arthritis would fare. A plumber could sort the problem in twenty minutes (and charge for two hours), a competent diy-er in thirty minutes. Hot water was frequently scalding, hot enough to make tea. Young kids beware. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent, fast and efficient service, large choice, and in any proportions requested. One last point, the carpet on the bottom two steps was worn into a hole, and could contribute to a fall by the unwary, the elderly, or inebriates if not attended to with alacrity. Has the makings of a good hotel, as its faults can be easily and cheaply rectified. Would I stay there again. Yes, but only if the problems are dealt with.