No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Melbourne House Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
79 Belgrave Road , London, SW1V 2BG
The Melbourne House Hotel is located in the heart of London and is recommended by Lets Go, Frommers and most guest who have stayed here. The family hotel run by John and Manuela Desira has been in business for the past 20 years and is noted for the family atmosphere and especially for the standard of housekeeping. The hotel has been totally refurbished in 2007 and all rooms except the 2 basic single are with private bathroom, and offer flat-screen digital TV, along with tea/coffee making facilities. We offer guests flat screen in every room with 70 stations and movies, brand new showers, communal internet and a fabulous breakfast menu.
Picture of Melbourne House Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over inflated price
The hotel was a lot of money for the quality and the size of the room. The staff were friendly. The breakfast was totally inadequate. Overall, not overly impressed.

ManagementResponse

Dear Ms. Rogansky, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Melbourne House Hotel. Your input and the feedback are very important for us to improve our service in order for us to satisfy our guest's expectations. Some of our rooms are certainly small and I sincerely apologise if you did not know this in advance. We do serve continental breakfast and this service is complimentary. As you may have noticed we have a wide range of items such as Muffins, Fresh Croissants, Fruit Salads, Fresh Fruits, Yogurts etc available for breakfast which is good quality. Once again I do apologise if the breakfast was not up to your liking. However we take every comment seriously and strive to improve our service as per guest's requests. I hope your next stay with us will be a much pleasant one and hope you would stay with us again. I have shared your comments with our members of staff and thank you for valuable remark regarding our customer service. Look forward to see you again! Many Thanks, Madu Jayalath, Assistant Manager

Reviewed by
A Rogansky

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Melbourne - delightful
Had a really good two night stay here. Price was reasonable and room was clean and acceptably appointed. Shame about the 3 flights of stairs but is the norm in this type of property! Booking confusion led to having to accept a twin instead of a double which was disappointing but management came up with an offer unprompted which was welcome in the circumstances. Overall a good experience and would be happy to stay again.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr. Sargeant, Thank you for your recent review regarding the Melbourne House Hotel. Despite the confusion we had regarding the room type, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here. We are more than happy to welcome you here again at Melbourne House Hotel. Your review will be shared among our team at the hotel and we will ensure your next stay will be a much more pleasant than this time. We look forward to seeing you soon! Madu Jayalath, Assistant Manager

Reviewed by
Guy Sargeant

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My FIRST stay in London. How lucky I was!!
First impressions do count!! Ten out of ten for friendliness,the receptionist could not have been more helpful.The taxi service she booked for us was second to none!The proprietor and all staff were brilliant.Continental breakfast very good.Situation of hotel perfect for our needs.

Reviewed by
Patricia Taroni

From Looe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good budgetb hotel
Well located hotel, close to embankment and Pimlico tube station. Friendly service and nice clean rooms. Basic but decent enough breakfast.
Sub £100 hotel would recommend

Reviewed by
Jon T

From Penarth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small room with noisy street
This was the smallest room I have stayed in for a long time. No food so I went out for the evening. Handy for the tube but no nearby restaurants.
Single glasing so plenty of road noise.

Reviewed by
lesley e

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
It is always hard to fin cost effective accommodation that is easily accessible in London. I will certainly stay here again

Reviewed by
Nick A

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit to London
The hotel is clean. The staff and owner were friendly,
The breakfast was poor.

Reviewed by
Linda Chisholm

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Night Getawy with friends
I booked this hotel for me and 3 friends completely last minute. It was in a perfect location, just 5 minutes walk from Victoria station. The manager was helpful and friendly and the room had just enough space for all of our comfort. I would definitely stay here again for a 1 or 2 night break.

Reviewed by
Terri M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is an exceptionally clean hotel
I stayed in one of the twin rooms on the top floor - it overlooked the back of the hotel so was peaceful, very clean and I was pleased that I could open the window. The light above the sink was not working but as soon as I mentioned it the hotel fixed it with no problem. Good selection of food for Breakfast. I would stay here again. The only minor disappointment was not having any shower gel provided (if I had known I could easily have brought my own).

Reviewed by
Lucy P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall very pleasant, would stay again but wouldn't pay for breakfast
This hotel is pleasant enough. Very we'll situated near to pimlico or Victoria tube station. I would walk from pimlico, taxi from Victoria (if you have heavy bags with you). The bathroom was top notch, clearly newly fitted and very pleasant for a hotel of this price bracket. Twin room was on the small side, wardrobe doors didn't open fully for example. But it did the job and I would deed use them again (despite the fact it's up a lot of stairs with no lift.....) I would not however pay for breakfast. I would recommend any number of the local cafe's. the croissants were stale, selection limited to coffee and toast and not much else....

Reviewed by
L Major

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next