No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure George Hotel Reading

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
10 - 12 King Street, Berkshire, READING, RG1 2HE
The George Hotel is believed to be the oldest existing building in Reading, dating back to at least as far as 1423. It was one of the major coaching inns between London and the West Country in the 18th century, and it still retains many of its wonderful:original Coaching Inn features, including Tudor Archways and a very attractive Cobbled stone courtyard. The main entrance from King Street still contains some of the original timbers, and 18th and 19th century facades overlook the courtyard.
Picture of Mercure George Hotel Reading, READING at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic - Very basic.
Room was small, very hot (no AC) and noisy. Was locked out after returning from dinner as the court yard is locked and the buzzer didn't work. Stood in the rain for 10 minutes before grumpy and non apologetic bloke let us in.

Reviewed by
Kieren M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not for those wanting to sleep
Creaky floorboards are a feature throughout this hotel, meaning there's a lot of noise at night. Couple that with paper thin windows and a city centre location and you've got a poor night's sleep.
Staff on the whole were lovely but couldn't make up for the hotel itself. Breakfast isn't worth having. Wi-fi barely works. The room was tiny but the bathroom was a great size.
There are better hotels for the same price in Reading. I'd go for one of them...or buy earplugs on your way to this one.

Reviewed by
John M

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great to stay not to eat
Really nice hotel. Very clean and we'll laid out with a historic soul. Friendly staff who were very helpful and had all the info to hand. Very close very close to the Oracle but still very quiet and no disturbance. Highly recommend the uprated rooms.
However let down by a bad breakfast. They had all the facilities to make it great but fell at the last hurdle! Cheap sausage soggy hash brown and poor waitressing. Stay here and go for breakfast at malmaison up the road!

Reviewed by
J Williams

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok - for price.
The room itself is quite basic but clean. The bed was not very comfortable and seemed to dip in the middle, it was a double bed and I had a bad back in the morning. The pillows were not good too, i had to sleep on the cushion that was on top of the bed because the pillow was giving me a bad neck. The bathroom is very small. Our room price included breakfast which I found alright, but my husband said his sausage was the worst he had ever tried (I dont eat sausages so cant comment). On the way towards the room there is a horrible musty smell, I think it is because there is no windows and the air does not circulate.

Reviewed by
Tara F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good central location but could do with improvement
This hotel is ok depending on what you want. The hotel is old but the rooms are clean and well presented. Due to the age of the hotel the 'character' details includes squeeky, slanted floor boards, with room furniture sitting at jaunty angles on uneven floors. Our first room was situated at the front of the hotel and unfortunately we suffered late night shouting and fighting from the streets until early morning. We were offered an upgrade that was situated at the rear of the hotel that was really quiet and much better, although I didn't feel there was anything exceptionally different from our initial double. The cooked breakfast was ok, nothing spectacular but what you would expect, that said there was a good selection of cereals, teas, coffee etc. the location was great and you are right at the bottom of town, but the hotel could do with some updating and look at investing in some sort of noise reduction for the windows. I would possibly stay again if the price was right but may be tempted to try another hotel in future.

Reviewed by
Patricia M

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
Very central. Quirky hotel with lots of character. Enjoyable 1 night stay.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Jill s

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot weekend in Reading Mecure
On what was an exceptially hot weekend we really had a most uncomfortable stay in Room 208.The smaller rooms at your Hotel really do need air conditioning-we asked for a fan on the second night which made it a little more bearable but the heat,size of the room and size of the bed did not help a great deal.

Reviewed by
C Boyles

From Llanelli, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

That breakfast
Just thought breakfast experience did not match the hotel, the reception staff etc. Just really poor experience.

Reviewed by
Michael Abraham

From Kirkby Stephen, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location but no shower pressure, hot water or parking
Stayed at Mercure George Hotel, Reading for one evening and would say that I would not do it again. I was a late arrival and circled the hotel and area three times looking where to park. In the end I left the car on the main road as parking restrictions indicated that they only applied in the day time. To be sure I asked at reception when I checked in and the response was just I do not know and park at your our risk. For a hotel without a car park I would have expected them to be aware of all local parking restrictions and offer some advice. On the flip side, the hotel did have a sign at reception saying where to park but this is not that useful if you are already parked when you see it. Checked into my room which was dated (rather than traditional) and everything else was fine until the next day. In the morning I turned on the shower and pressure was pathetic. I ran this for over 5 minutes and it never warmed up so I gave up. Lovely looking hotel from the outside, great central location if you are having a night out in Reading but would I stay there again....no!

Reviewed by
D Hanson

From East Cowes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location and value tor money
Perfectly suited to what we needed. Great central location. Good value for money with clean rooms and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Laura L

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next