No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crowne Plaza Reading

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
CAVERSHAM BRIDGE,RICHFIELD AVENUE, READING, RG1 8BD
The red-brick Crowne Plaza Reading hotel overlooks a peaceful stretch of the River Thames, 15 minutes' walk from Reading town centre. Nestled among trees on the banks of the River Thames, you'll find Crowne Plaza Reading an elegant retreat primed for business success, lavish banquets and a strategic base for unlocking London. If you're here with family, for a seminar or wedding, leave a gap for some me-time in our sumptuous Leisure Club, with its infinity-effect pool , sauna and 5 luxury treatment rooms. Crowne Plaza Reading is 1 hour's drive from central London. You can leave your vehicle in our complimentary car park and stroll 15 minutes to Reading rail station , where trains zip to London Heathrow Airport in 20 minutes and central London in 30 minutes . Flirt with the latest fashions at The Oracle mall in Reading town centre or treat the family to escapades at Thorpe Park or LEGOLAND Windsor theme parks. Strive for business success from the leather chairs in our dark wood Executive Boardroom. For an insider guide to quaint pub gardens and locks along the river, look no further than the dedicated Concierge at Crowne Plaza Reading .
Picture of Crowne Plaza Reading, READING at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel with friendly staff and good location for town centre and motorway.
first class with everything

Reviewed by
paul young

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay! Staff very helpful! Breakfast was very good!
This hotel is a great place to stay! We didnt know what to expect based on the low price we paid for it, but I would highly recommend it! The restaurant was good although massive portions, the drinks were well prices and overall the stay was enjoyable. The Spa was lovely and clean and again the staff were helpful! The room was clean and tidy and the bathroom was immaculate!!! The restaurant supervisor gave us an excellent service and recommended very good food, the other staff seemed a little less enthused about their jobs but he really did make our evening!
Thank you for a lovely stay!

Reviewed by
Sherry Clifford

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Must Stay
A great hotel in which to spend the weekend. Would definitely be top of my list if I stayed in Reading again.

Reviewed by
S Hughes

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visited Henley to watch Wharfedale RUFC v Henley - travelled from York
My wife and the friend travelling with us have stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Reading before - I have not. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the service was attentive without being too much. Impressed that we could get a meal after 9pm in the restaurant and the food was of a good standard considering the time of the evening. We were warned that due to a charity function there my be some noise up to 1am but we were not disturbed at all. I would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
Mark H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reading regulars
We stay in Reading quite regularly as we have friends there so we tend up use the hotel as a base. The hotel was very clean and the customer service was excellent. It's a quiet location not being in the centre of town but it's also not far to go. We probably didn't use it to its full potential but would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Julie C

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night but well worth it
We came to visit friends. We checked in and then left for the day but staff were friendly. Room service in the evening was very quick. Continental breakfast in the morning was excellent.

Reviewed by
Alexander W

From Helensburgh, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay with exceptional service. Good facilities and great location!
Very nice hotel and the service was wonderful in every area of the hotel. Bedroom was beautiful although the bathroom could do with a slight update but nothing major. We sadly had a view of the roundabout but we couldn't hear the road at all and so it wasn't an issue. Breakfast was a little underwhelming considering the price but lovely surroundings to eat in!

Reviewed by
A Macallan

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impressed
All the staff were very friendly and I got a phone call from Roxy at the hotel asking about my reservation, explaining to me that the room I requested had a sofa bed for the third person in my party of three. I explained that we would have just finished a charity walk and wouldn't really want to sleep on a sofa bed. So we were giving a complimentary adjoining room for our complete comfort! A wonderful gesture from Crowne Plaza for three worn out old women! We were very grateful - thank you!

Reviewed by
V McCartney

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't be booking again.
We booked based on the price, the fact that no one had complained that it wasn't clean on a well know review site and that it was close to the river. Our family room was at the front of the hotel though which fronts onto a crazy busy road/ roundabout. For us we found it noisy. My husband said the front of house staff were unfriendly. There were no spaces outside the front entrance so we could unload the car easily with the kids and then park. We parked in a disabled bay. And we found the bed was really uncomfortable. There were a couple of small hairs in the bath. The room though was good, well laid out and of a good quality and the reception looked amazing with the breakfast area having doors leading out onto the river. I felt if we'd have had a room over the river we might be writing a happier review.

ManagementResponse

Dear H Lamb, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay with us. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit. Sincerely, Anthony, IHG Care

Reviewed by
h lamb

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

RECEPTION AND GREETING
Very impressed with the politeness of the reception staff and the welcome received.
Nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewed by
W DUGDALE

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next