No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Halford

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Fosse Way,Halford, , Halford, Nr Stratford upon Avon, CV36 5BN
Located on the fringes of the Cotswolds in the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon,

with close links to Birmingham. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi, and free onsite parking , a widely recognised restaurant , a warm welcome and various beauty treatments. Steeped in history and dating from 1567, this is an impressive stone built grade II listed 4 Star Coaching Inn full of charm, character and warmth. Guests will be greeted with a traditional friendly welcome where you will discover the very best in countryside dining, drinking and relaxation.



Bedrooms comprise of double , twin, suites or family all with a choice of en-suite bathrooms and some of the original features like wooden beams, door frames, fireplaces. There are two suites consisting of a stunning beamed second floor loft conversion and a large first floor family bedroom with a double and single bed that overlooks the courtyard. Rooms offer wonderful
village outlooks or great views across the Cotswold countryside. The rooms are also named after family owned race horses and the staff will happily give the history along with when each horse is running.

Dining in the restaurant is an experience not to be missed. The food is homemade and freshly prepared, carefully cooked to order, styled simply and elegantly with all the flavours of quality ingredients which are locally sourced wherever possible. The hotel is happy to cater for any allergies or special dietary requirements. There are a variety of beers and spirits including the locally brewed 'Hook Norton' Ale which is a popular choice.

There is a wide and varied selection of wines that are changed seasonally to compliment the menus.





Guests are encouraged to invest in some personal time at The Halford in their new beauty studio. Notonly dothey offer beauty treatments using high end products such as Fake Bake, Dermalogica, Jessica Nails and Jessica Geleration, along with offering Fake Bake and Dermalogica products, gift sets available for retail.





The market town of Stratford-upon-Avon is synonymous with William Shakespeare, where a stay would not be complete without finding out more
about the English poet that makes it famous. This allows you to visit the house where the world's most famous playwrite was born and grew up. Other
must see Shakespeare locations include Hall's Croft, Nash's House and New Place, Anne Hathaway's cottage and Mary Arden's Farm. With more than 800 years of history containing not only many buildings that survive today and
also a thriving community offering a wide variety of leisure and shopping experiences.



Warwick is famous for arguably the most complete medieval castles to be found anywhere and Warwick Castle itself is just 15 miles from The Halford.
Royal Leamington Spa is a bustling town centre with a large number of independently run shops offering exciting goods. Alcester offers many
ancient properties and a number of archaeological sites of interest.
Henley-in-Arden is a pretty, uncommercialised market town in the heart of
the old Arden region. The long winding High Street is the perfect setting to
show off the beautifully preserved buildings perched on either side, with over 150 listed as historic or of special architectural interest.

Please Note – There is a £15 charge for guests using extra beds in room


Picture of The Halford, Halford, Nr Stratford upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
We had a wonderful night and excellent meal at this gem of a hotel. The staff were professional, attentive and always ready to help with any query. Thank you to the team of The Halford.

Reviewed by
L Fielding

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel has a great sense of history about it even though the decor is very contemporary; this offers the best of both worlds. The staff are welcoming and made me feel that nothing would be a problem during my stay. My evening meals were delicious and elegantly presented, breakfasts offered a great choice. The hotel is quite close to Hidcote and Kiftsgate gardens and offers a great base from which to explore the Cotswolds. On a previous visit, a theatre trip to Stratford was easily within striking distance.

Reviewed by
J England

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed in Shared moments room which was beautiful but be warned if you are tall watch out for your head, lots of low beams. Staff were very helpful and welcoming and food was very nice too. Had a very relaxing two night stay, thank you.

Reviewed by
P Hellard

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous, Friendly Service
Part of the offer with the LateRooms.com booking was a free upgrade upon check-in, depending on availability. When we arrived the member of staff we were dealing with didn't seem to know anything about this offer, but as soon as I pointed it out to her she checked with the manager and 'Shared Moments' became the name of our new room, right at the top of the property. We certainly weren't disappointed with our free upgrade. The room was beautiful and better than any of the other rooms we passed with doors open during our stay there. The staff were all great – very friendly and helpful. One lady even gave us very detailed instructions as to where to park for free in Stratford-upon-Avon (which is about a fifteen minute drive from the hotel). I thought that was great service, going the extra mile like that. Our evening meal was lovely, as was the breakfast the next day. I couldn't fault this place nor the food! The only tiny, tiny minuses are that the hotel is on quite a busy road and the house white wine isn’t great (but the happy hour prices certainly helped!).

Reviewed by
R Fisher

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff & Room
Stayed 2 nights, the staff were very helpful, engaging and understanding of needs. The service at the bar and restaurant was very good with a very high standard of food for a great price. The rooms had everything that you need for a short stay over with modern facilities in a very old building quirky layout which made a refreshing change.
The down side to the rooms was the noisy saniflo macerators and pumps bathroom waste disposal system that was in use and lack of air conditioning. I can only assume that the rooms will be very hot in the warmer months.
Overall a very pleasant experience.

Reviewed by
Ian L

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location but overpriced
We stayed here on business for one night. The location was great. It was easy to get to and although we had concerns about the road being noisy we had a good nights sleep. The room was OK but we were expecting more for the price we paid. Little touches like a bath/shower mat for example would have made a difference. Breakfast was tasty and good quality but there was little selection in comparison with other hotels & B&Bs we have stayed in recently.

Reviewed by
douglas s

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very helpful and the food was excellent

Reviewed by
Marilyn Y

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky room Very Friendly Hospitality
A warm welcome awaits you at the Halford. Quirky rooms and excellent food both at Dinner and Breakfast. Will stay when in the area again.

Reviewed by
Graham D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautifull ancient property,very tastefully restored,with a modern twist! Staff are extremley helpful,nothing is too much trouble,really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
michael lootes

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walked out
Me and my partner stayed here for a romantic night away. We got there after hanging around in the doorway for ten minutes we asked someone where to go to check in. We then went to the bar and was handed the key. Guided up the stairs by a friendly staff member. Arrived at the room and it was tiny. Situated right next to another bedroom, a huge gap under the door and the room overlooked people's houses. We read the welcome pack which informed us we needed to hand the key in every time we left an had to be back by 11pm. We wanted a romantic trip. And felt we had no privacy. Spent 10 minutes in the room and walked out.

Reviewed by
S Jones

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next