No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Arms

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
30 High Street , Amersham, HP7 0DJ
The Kings Arms Hotel may date from the Tudor period but its interior reflects the very best in modern sumptuous design.

As the famous ‘The Boatman’ in Four Weddings and a Funeral the hotel is perfect for a romantic getaway. You may also recognise us from the ever popular ‘Midsomer Murders’. The hotel provides a tour map of all the other filming locations from this television series for you to explore.

Located in the heart of Old Amersham, renowned for it’s exclusive boutique shopping and fabulous antiques, the hotel is an excellent base for the seasoned shopper and with our links to the local golf course, there really is something for everyone before returning to relax in the lounge whilst enjoying the log fire.

The original part of the hotel features individually designed bedrooms that cater for the executive with large desks, broadband access and flat screen televisions, and being located only 50 minutes on the tube line from Wembley Stadium and 67 minutes to the centre of London, Bank stop. If travelling by car you will find we are only 10 minutes drive from both the M40 and M25. A range of conference facilities are also offered through our partnership with Palladia.

For hundreds of years weary travellers, including Oliver Cromwell, have found relaxation and great hospitality in the hotel and have enjoyed returning from local attractions such as Ascot and Windsor Racecourses, & Cliveden House to name but a few.

We are now proud to announce the arrival of 'The Kings Bar & Bistro' at The Kings Arms Hotel. A separately owned restaurant is now available to guests, who can dine in the relaxing traditional bar area at lunch time ( please note the bar is closed on a Sunday evening)and the more formal restaurant in the evening (with the exception of Sunday). Table reservations can be made with the Bistro staff prior to your stay by calling 01494 723989. The Kings Bar & Bistro are a separate business and should always be contacted directly to check availabilty.

Wether here for business or pleasure, please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable.

Picture of The Kings Arms, Amersham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dont have the scrambled eggs. average breakfast for a 4* hotel.

Reviewed by
Alfred J Bettis

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location loverly village and the facilities were great too, would highly recomend

Reviewed by
A Jones

From Tipton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very helpful, check-in was short and straight-forward, and the room was well fitted out. Having a stand-in shower was a treat and the towels were large and soft (both rare in many hotels). My only criticism is that the mattress was too soft (but I still had a good sleep).

Reviewed by
L Beaumont

From Brentford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not all bad, but not all good
The room was lovely, but is in need of a little TLC. paintwork needs touching up as there were a lot of scuff marks. There is a need for a full length mirror as the mirror on the desk is too small. The stairs leading to room 11 were a little precarious with no hand rail.
We had a snack in the bar which was delicious - can't say the same for breakfast though. We arrived at 9.30 for breakfast but found little food left on the hot plate, one of our party waited over 10 minutes for the items to be replenished and even then only a small amount of food was forthcoming (4 rashers of bacon and no eggs), even though other guests were still arriving for breakfast. Once we complained a fresh plate of scrambled eggs arrived, after we had finished breakfast.

Reviewed by
Dawn Bennett

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room
The room that my friend and I stayed in was lovely. Very spacious and modern. Extremely clean.
The food wasn't so great - the lamb shank I had at dinner was mainly gristle and my toast at breakfast the next morning had mold on it.

Reviewed by
S Heath

From Windsor, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place to stay in a great location
I absolutely loved my stay at the Kings Arms. The building itself was stunning, the staff were attentive and friendly and our room (deluxe - worth the extra £20 a night) was comfortable and well appointed.
Breakfast was good too - plenty of choice and helpful staff if you required extra toast etc.
We didn't dine there of an evening but we did have a few drinks in the bar which was cosy and had a good selection of ales.

Reviewed by
Kaleigh W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good choice!
A superb hotel in a lovely situation, close to London yet rural and in the scenic Chilterns. Caring staff and delicious meals. A treasure!

Reviewed by
Gay W

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice room, very pleasant location, friendly staff, good value for money

Reviewed by
Michael W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing break
Hotel steeped in history in a lovely setting.

Reviewed by
a flack

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful experience
We were delighted with our room which was redolent of the inn's historic past while having some luxurious modern fittings. The bath was particularly enjoyable having an ingenious set of jets set into the base.One slight problem was that the room was hot, even after switching off the radiator, and with a heavyweight duvet there seemed no way to keep cool. A single sheet in addition to the duvet would have made it possible to dispense with the duvet altogether.

Reviewed by
Anna Cole

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next