No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - THE OLD HALL HOTEL

3Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
Main Street Frodsham, RUNCORN , WA6 7AB
The Old Hall Hotel is a charming 16th Century hotel offering traditional English warmth and comfort. With original beams, log fires and relaxing sofas the Old Hall Hotel offers you all the qualities of a privately owned country hotel within an urban environment.

Our elegant restaurant is renowned for its traditional food and fine dining. Our lounges and bar offer light meals and the opportunity to unwind and enjoy tea, coffee or an aperitif in a quiet corner.

Situated on the Main Street in the bustling historic town of Frodsham, mentioned in the Doomsday Book. The hotel is ideally placed for the business traveller visiting the commercial centres of Runcorn, Widnes Warrington and Liverpool. For the independent traveler the hotel is centrally located for touring the countryside of North Cheshire and the cities of Chester, Liverpool and Manchester all less than 30 minutes away. For lovers of walking, the Old Hall is placed at the start of the Sandstone Trail and 2 miles from Delamere Forest. Other attractions include Cheshire Oaks Outlet Shopping Village, Chester Zoo, The Blue Planet Aquarium and numerous local Golf courses.
Picture of THE OLD HALL HOTEL, RUNCORN  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was dissapointed with my room. It was very basic and I certainly do not feel it was worth the £90 I paid for it. Had all the premier inns not been booked up, I would have stayed at one of those and paid half the price. The bathroom in the room was very spacious and there was plenty of wardrobe space and more than enough drawers. I personally expected a little more for a £90 room.The pub downstairs however had a great feel to it and was cosey and inviting and the staff working were polite.

Reviewed by
H Cooper

From Knottingley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Stay
A pleasant hotel which shows some of it's 17th century origins. The staff were all very pleasant and attentive. I stayed in a single room which I found to be quite spartan and only found the T.V controls the following morning which had somehow fallen behind the waste bin, perhaps a lack of attention to detail by the housekeeping team. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was very good which in my view are perhaps the most important elements of an acceptable stay.

Reviewed by
Alan Miller

From Wick, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
Great little hotel, right in the centre of Frodsham - walking distance from a few pubs and restaurants, would recommend this place.

Reviewed by
Emma F

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old but good
Great oldie worldie hotel with loads of character. Lovely peacefully stay and huge room. Bed was super comfy...will stay again.

Reviewed by
M Lowe

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice period hotel
Enjoyed my stay. Rooms, outside and inside look and feel is authentic. Might be back with the family!

Reviewed by
Rene P

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
very nice building with helpfull staff (had a problem booking in as booked family room 2 adults 2 children but only one double bed in room so they let us have another double room free of charge )
can not ask for more than that .

Reviewed by
cliff m

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old hall with plenty character looking forward to another visit
Very quaint hotel every room had loads of character and original features. Modern bathroom good powerful shower. Staff very friendly and attentive. Only had breakfast which was plentiful and tasty Great base for lots of attractions. Looking forward to my next visit.

Reviewed by
Rod MacLean

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little hotel in a nice little town
With the choice of this place or the local Holiday Inn we plumped for the more traditional hotel. On the High Street, easy to find and close to loads of pubs and restuarants. Traditional is the best description with very friendly staff. TV a bit small though ;-)

Reviewed by
Pete D

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was not impressed
We paid for a superior double room which it was far from. Have had better basic doubles for much cheaper. Upon entry to our room I used the toilet and found vomit under the toilet seat which I cleaned myself. The room was very basic. However, the food was excellent. We had a problem parking close by and parking is on a busy main road. Don't be fooled into thinking you are getting the room that is pictured because you don't. Upon arrival we were waiting 10 minutes for someone to turn up in the reception. This place has the potential to be so much better.

Reviewed by
k smith

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
The rooms are not great for the rate. I would pay £65 for a standard room in this hotel.
Late Rooms described this as a Superior room but they only do standard and suites. So what was it superior to....?
The bar/lounge is lovely though and I would go there for a meal, just not to stay.

Reviewed by
Emma T

From Newton le Willows, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next