No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ben Wyvis Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Strathpeffer , Strathpeffer , IV14 9DN
The Ben Wyvis Hotel, located in the beautiful and tranquil Ross-shire highlands enjoys a commanding position looking over Strathpeffer, much like the nearby mountain from which it takes it's name. The architecture of the hotel blends in perfectly with the village whilst the relaxed air of the hotel gardens reflects the serenity of the location.

The Hotel has its very own 32 seat private Cinema that shows the latest DVD's throughout the day. In our stunning grounds we have a 9 hole pitch and putt with epuipment available from Reception free of charge. Free wi-fi access is available in all public areas to guests with laptops.

The Ben Wyvis is an ideal base for day trips to Ullapool, Isle of Skye, Inverness, Loch Ness, Black Isle, Dornoch to name a few! A wide range of activities are available locally including some of the most amazing quad biking and mountain biking tracks in the Highlands.
Picture of Ben Wyvis Hotel, Strathpeffer  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor service
Our trip was ruined upon arrival at the hotel. We were told that there had been plumbing problems and we had been booked into a hotel across the road. The receptionist said that they had been calling us but when shown the screen with the number on it was a different booking sheet. We went to the hotel across the road which was poor in comparison but we were charged the same rate. It was too late to find alternative accommodation of our own so were had no choice but to stay in a horrible room in a terrible hotel. I would never book with Crerar hotels ever again.

Reviewed by
S Doherty

From Greenock, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looked great from the outside but rooms need refurb. Wanted to watch the football on TV but no TV in bars, had to go elsewhere. Returned at 1030 wanting a nightcap and had to get reluctant staff from reception to reopen bar a move which was welcomed by some spanish visitors who did not know how to make it happen. Ambient noise next morning was unacceptable so won't be back

Reviewed by
Chris B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

TV
The television set really needs to be updated and upsized!!

Reviewed by
D Ulivi

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely location, friendly staff. good food

Reviewed by
Mark S

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank goodness for breakfast
I stayed a Monday night at this hotel while working in the area. Receptionist was pleasant, room was very disappointing. The bar was unattended when I went down and after a 5 minute wait a member of staff appeared to say that if I wanted food in the bar it would be a very long wait. This was in the context of an empty bar and my preference not to eat in the dining room. Thankfully breakfast was good. A hotel in need of TLC and good if you don't mind the dated appearance and service.

Reviewed by
D Morris

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Won't rush back
Hotel sits in beautiful surroundings but that is where my enjoyment ended. The girl on the reception desk didn't give me dinner or breakfast times, I had to ask where meals were served. They took a swipe of my credit card assuring me no money would be taken off, yet when I checked out they had already charged my card with £30.The evening meal was mediocre. Breakfast was just ok. The bar area is large and would be perfect for bus tours but has no atmosphere.

Reviewed by
EVELYN M

From Alloa, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is a bit dated but clean enough our room was large and the bed was comfortable breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
george t

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality of food and accommodation was excellent.
A good base for sight seeing in the north of Scotland

Reviewed by
Peter Lowe

From Newent, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unsatisfied customers
The look of hotel looks great on iPad on arrival I noticed it did not match picture when I went into hotel My first impression was it was in very poor condition for a 3star hotel. The room was very dark a small double bed and very uncomfortable television was very small about a12 inch screen toilet facility very poor very old plastic shower curtain broken sash cord hanging from window dirty blind you could not open.no iron in room phoned reception only to be told they could not supply one. Went down to lounge to get a refreshment mid afternoon was informed bar would not be open till 5 pm when I went for evening meal resturaunt was no better very old tables all broken and chipped did not feel very clean I
Was so disappointed I asked if I could cancel the second night and was told I would have to get in touch with yourself .decided it was too much of a hassle will never go back to that hotel again or book through your company as this was a to be a special weekend and the occasion was spoiled by the whole experience I can honestly say that it has been the worst hotel I have ever stayed in .yous truly Roy Wylie.i

Reviewed by
Roy Wylie

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place - shame about the management
We were put in a room right by reception. When they came on shift at 6am they talked in loud voices on and off until I was eventually driven from my bed in a foul mood. Contempt for customer!
Then at the bar which boasts a whiskey bar, I studied their listing and made my choices - the first five I asked for they did not have! Crisps, nuts, a wee something to nibble with our drinks - nothing to offer, he even said there was a restaurant - suggesting I go have a meal!
On the plus side the breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
A Armstrong

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next