No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ben Wyvis Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Strathpeffer , Strathpeffer , IV14 9DN
The Ben Wyvis Hotel, located in the beautiful and tranquil Ross-shire highlands enjoys a commanding position looking over Strathpeffer, much like the nearby mountain from which it takes it's name. The architecture of the hotel blends in perfectly with the village whilst the relaxed air of the hotel gardens reflects the serenity of the location.

The Hotel has its very own 32 seat private Cinema that shows the latest DVD's throughout the day. In our stunning grounds we have a 9 hole pitch and putt with epuipment available from Reception free of charge. Free wi-fi access is available in all public areas to guests with laptops.

The Ben Wyvis is an ideal base for day trips to Ullapool, Isle of Skye, Inverness, Loch Ness, Black Isle, Dornoch to name a few! A wide range of activities are available locally including some of the most amazing quad biking and mountain biking tracks in the Highlands.
Picture of Ben Wyvis Hotel, Strathpeffer  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ben Wyvis hotel
The hotel is an older property (1887) however there is a modern lift not mentioned in any reviews, the staff were all friendly & service was excellent, more in line with some 5 star hotels I have stayed in. the room was exactly as described & shown. The bed was huge much bigger than most double beds in hotels. We had no complaints with our stay & we would return to this hotel for future breaks.

Reviewed by
Alan Edward

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel a little tired with regards to decoration but I got what I paid for and was happy overall. Would have liked the bar to have been open and more inviting at 5 as stated. I watched another guest arrive at the bar and just leave as it was closed and after sitting reading in the lounge for half an hour looking forward to a g and t the notion left us. The staff are missing a trick here as others may follow if it looks inviting. Friendly staff at mealtimes however and welcoming receptionist.

Reviewed by
G Anderson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looks good from the outside, that's it! Rooms old and tired. Staff aren't the most attentive.You're better off in a Premier Inn, at least you know what your getting with the room.

Reviewed by
Paul G

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Superb food, friendly staff

Reviewed by
J Newlands

From Bonnyrigg, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor service
Our trip was ruined upon arrival at the hotel. We were told that there had been plumbing problems and we had been booked into a hotel across the road. The receptionist said that they had been calling us but when shown the screen with the number on it was a different booking sheet. We went to the hotel across the road which was poor in comparison but we were charged the same rate. It was too late to find alternative accommodation of our own so were had no choice but to stay in a horrible room in a terrible hotel. I would never book with Crerar hotels ever again.

Reviewed by
S Doherty

From Greenock, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looked great from the outside but rooms need refurb. Wanted to watch the football on TV but no TV in bars, had to go elsewhere. Returned at 1030 wanting a nightcap and had to get reluctant staff from reception to reopen bar a move which was welcomed by some spanish visitors who did not know how to make it happen. Ambient noise next morning was unacceptable so won't be back

Reviewed by
Chris B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

TV
The television set really needs to be updated and upsized!!

Reviewed by
D Ulivi

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely location, friendly staff. good food

Reviewed by
Mark S

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank goodness for breakfast
I stayed a Monday night at this hotel while working in the area. Receptionist was pleasant, room was very disappointing. The bar was unattended when I went down and after a 5 minute wait a member of staff appeared to say that if I wanted food in the bar it would be a very long wait. This was in the context of an empty bar and my preference not to eat in the dining room. Thankfully breakfast was good. A hotel in need of TLC and good if you don't mind the dated appearance and service.

Reviewed by
D Morris

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Won't rush back
Hotel sits in beautiful surroundings but that is where my enjoyment ended. The girl on the reception desk didn't give me dinner or breakfast times, I had to ask where meals were served. They took a swipe of my credit card assuring me no money would be taken off, yet when I checked out they had already charged my card with £30.The evening meal was mediocre. Breakfast was just ok. The bar area is large and would be perfect for bus tours but has no atmosphere.

Reviewed by
EVELYN M

From Alloa, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next