No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dashwood Restaurant, Rooms and Bar

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
SOUTH GREEN , KIRTLINGTON, OX5 3HJ
Twelve miles north of Oxford in the village of Kirtlington, Dashwood Restaurant, Rooms and Bar provides luxurious accommodation in an 18th-century Cotswold stone inn and converted barn. Offering rustic British and brasserie-style dining, Dashwood also provides free parking and Wi-Fi to guests.

Stylishly designed rooms all have an en suite shower or bath, with hairdryer and luxury toiletries supplied. There is a flat-screen TV with DVD player and tea and coffee facilities in each room, one of which has disabled access.
A wide-ranging restaurant menu includes Dashwood’s signature barbecue smoked meats and homemade burgers. Steaks, chicken and fish dishes are joined by inventive vegetarian options and a range of indulgent desserts.

This Oxfordshire inn lies on the edge of the Cotswolds, with the historic town of Woodstock and architectural splendour of Blenheim Palace just 5 miles away. Not to mention the ever popular Bicester Village Designer Outlet Shopping Centre on your doorstep (guests of The Dashwood get to enjoy 10% off VIP Shopping Vouchers – please ask at reception). Spend your day visiting Cotswolds towns such as Chipping Norton and Stow-on-the-Wold. You can reach Oxford city centre’s theatres, cinemas, museums and castle in just 20 minutes.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Dashwood.

Picture of Dashwood Restaurant, Rooms and Bar, KIRTLINGTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food
Staff were really friendly and welcoming. Dinner was fabulous, top notch stuff fairly reasonably priced. Just slightly disappointed i didn't get to try the cheese soufflé, although the baked camembert was good. Room was a little noisy from other guests opening doors though.

Reviewed by
Katherine M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful
Always a pleasure to stay at The Dashwood, the rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated, comfy bed, good shower food and service are excellent

Reviewed by
Fiona R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean & quit place to stay. Food first class however, breakfast at £12.95 is a bit steep.
Take £5 off and it would be a better deal.
Nice staff & friendly welcome. I arrived earlier than expected and the room wasn't ready but the owner kindly gave me a complementary coffee while I waited and the room was ready in 10 minutes.
One small point, the bedroom could do with a low wattage night light as the lights above your head hurt your eyes if you get up in the night. Other than that, no problem with the room.
Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Geoff H

From Halesworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dashwood Hotel
Lovely setting, fantastic breakfast, very professional and courteous staff. Bedroom was spotless. One teabag each in the room could be improved upon. Duvert was a bit light and to short for the bed.

Reviewed by
HIlary C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Passing Fair
The room was generally good but I pointed puit that one to the check-o0ut receptyionist that one H&S feature was worrying The shower floor was very sli[[ery withj no mat provided. nor was there a place for sap and shampoo to be kept other then the floor.Old people cpuld esily fall as they battled with the shampoo. It is an accident wainting to happen.
Minor feature,gven thr price were :-No tissues
-no biscuits propvided with the tea makiong facilities.
- a VERY temperamenmtal TV. It failed dto opwate in the morning.
An ast5tempgt eas made,a mistrswkeIm sure, to charge me twice for breakfast !
Malcolm Oxley.

Reviewed by
M Oxley

From LEEDS, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel with lovely staff!
Big room (if a little compromised by some of the beams), lovely restaurant with very tasty food, and lovely staff. I was very impressed by this hotel and will definitely be staying here again when I make my next shopping trip to Bicester.

Reviewed by
P Bagchi

From Stanmore, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little bit of Dash
We were looking for a weekend away near to Oxford. A Laterooms deal came up for the Dashwood Hotel and Restaurant so we jumped at it.
When we turned up on the Friday it was very quiet, I think we might have been the only people staying that night, and when we went down to the restaurant there were only two other occupied tables in there. I did start to get a little worried, but the food was fantastic. I had the double cheese souffle and my husband had the venison. Gorgeous! The lady serving us then recommended a couple of desserts. Scrumptious!!
The Saturday started to pick up a bit and more people ate in the restaurant. This time we tried the main courses off the 2-course deal. Not as great as the previous nights meal, but you get what you pay for I guess. More people stayed that night I think, lots of doors banging etc., The room was excellent, very comfortable and quiet, and the staff were so friendly and helpful, but it needed more people staying there.
If you are looking for a place to stay near Oxford, I would recommend this hotel. One additional bonus: it snowed Sunday morning, lashings of it. Perfect!

Reviewed by
Karen G

From Hampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay
Very nice hotel, staff very friendly, food very good, would staty here again

Reviewed by
e lloyd

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent hotel that cannot be faulted!
On arrival we were met with a friendly and accommodating welcome. The room was beautiful and to a very high standard. We ate at the restaurant and the food was excellent. Breakfast was equally good. Really can't fault anything about the Dashwood - a great place to stay and eat - whatever the reason.

Reviewed by
S Morgan

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3