Reviews - The Vines Hotel and Restaurant


The Vines Hotel and Restaurant, Burford Road, Black Bourton, Oxford, OX18 2PF

Price From 211.04 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

55% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • G Fletcher

  • August 2015

How dissappointing

I had emailed at time of booking to request an early check in (1pm) and also rang on the day before check-in to confirm that the room be available as requested.

Upon arrival, room was not ready. An alternative was offered which we had to take due to the fact we were attending a wedding that same afternoon. The room did not live up to expectation. It was a family room with disabled facilities. Extractor fan came on each time you entered the bathroom and continued for several minutes after exiting the room. Became very frustrating as it disturbed sleep if bathroom used during the night.

  • Barry chisnall

  • June 2015

Friendly hotel in quiet location

Character inn in a small village.

Very friendly and helpful staff and management. We dined in the restaurant, the food was well prepared and very enjoyable. Buffet breakfast was a little disappointing but did not detract from the overall experience.

  • Lorraine S

  • April 2015

Enjoyed the position of this hotel very convenient for Burford and the surrounding areas.

Evening meal we had was excellent, rooms had everything and very comfortable but a little disappointing as not part of the main hotel.

  • L Hayward

  • October 2014

Nice hotel and room, very friendly and good value for money

  • Christine M

  • October 2014

Lovely location, shame about the bland building!

The picture of the hotel does not really show the true reality, the restaurant is indeed in a beautiful Cotswold stone building but the bedrooms are situated round the back in a very bland 1960's style building.

I think the website should make it clear that the picture of the restaurant in not the whole building. Such a shame. Also the rooms while having some nice touches such as movement activated lights and fan in the bathroom and good quality bed linen, the furniture is looking a little tired and dated.

  • M Coutin

  • September 2014

Disappointed,not as expected . Nothing like views on Website.

We arrived to an empty hotel on Saturday early evening .

Our first thoughts were that the gardens were untidy especially for late summer . inside the Hotel again it all seemed very tired and in need of some TLC.

  • L Sher

  • August 2014

Lovely hotel in the Cotswolds

We spent a lovely evening at The Vines in a very comfortable room, and had a delicious meal in the dining room where we were welcomed by friendly and accommodating staff.

The breakfast was very good, and the coffee hot & delicious.

  • John C

  • June 2014

Don't stay on a Sunday

On arrival the door was locked with a sign saying to telephone if you have arrived before 7pm.

I telephoned the number and was greeted by the owner (I think he was the owner) and was given the key to the family room which was very clean with one king size bed and a single which had controls for adjusting the matress ( like hospital use) which was very comfortable. The downside was we were told that the restaurant was closed on Sundays and was given directions to a local pub. Oh well at least we will have breakfast in the morning to look forward to. We were served by a very friendly and helpful lady and decided to go the whole hog and have a full English which was mediocre with the bacon cooked well done (I'm being kind). Would we stay there again. NO, too expensive for what you get and call me old fashioned but I like to have the opportunity to eat in the evening as I find that just having one meal a day makes me a bit crotchety!!!

  • Carolyn S

  • June 2014

real gem

Was truely a lovely hotel like home in a fantastic location.

Great service in a comfortable environment. Would be booking in again.

  • S Hart

  • May 2014

The hotel was set in a beautiful village which was very peaceful.

We all had a pleasant stay and the service was excellent. We would not hesitate to book again.