You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Blue Boar

4

28 Market Square, Witney, OX28 6BH

Price From 153.05 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

67% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • K Bennett

  • January 2016

The Blue Boar

Lovely place.

Comfortable and friendly hotel with top quality food and service.

  • T KEEBLE

  • October 2015

First impressions lasts.

I didn't know what to expect when I booked a nights stay at this accommodation.

Having neither visited the hotel nor the town of Witney before. On both counts my wife and I were pleasantly surprised, the room was clean and spacious, and the staff consisted of people who were friendly and helpful with a good level of local knowledge to steer you to the right places to visits. One major bugbear, it has to be said, is the parking. Although the town offers free parking of varying time limits you find yourself moving the car around like musical chairs each time it reaches its limit accordingly. Luckily there was much better parking to be found with the benefit of the ever so helpful local hotel staff. But I'm not going to tell you where it is...you'll have to stay at the Blue Boar to find that out!

  • T mcneil

  • April 2015

A* accommodation

Staff extremely friendly, room was large and very clean.

Restaurant food was extremely tasty and the bar had a wide range of drinks available. Would recommend to everyone, A* hotel!.

  • Sharon M

  • February 2015

Coaching Inn becoming Gastro.

This was an old Pub that was a Coaching Inn and now has been modernised and trendy.

Tha Bar area is small and the Bar Staff are preparing drinks for the Bar custom and the Restaurant, so at busy times you may have a bit of a wait to be served. The Restaurant is also quite small with an annex area but the service is really good and the breakfast was great. The room we had was in the Annex area, and was of a Premier Inn style and quality, with laminate floors. It was a busy Saturday night so was a bit noisy outside from passers by, not residents. There is no car park and outside is only for half an hour Monday to Sat until 6 pm, so that is a bit of a pain. There are nearby pay and display car parks . The Hotel is located in a lovely little village with shops and a Market opposite on a Saturday. The Staff were very helpful and polite and friendly. The Hotel was nice and clean.

  • D Thompson

  • January 2015

Mediocre

  • G Szeborowski

  • January 2015

Best value hotel that I have ever stayed in!

Simply the best Value for Money b and b

  • Clifford V

  • January 2015

Ambience good but a bit over priced

Due to the Hotels location we would both stay and recommend, unfortunately there is no parking and it is not mentioned on the hotel page, so its at a local supermarket or if luck is on your side you can find a slot on the main road but that's for an hour only, so lugging cases or bad weather can really get you off to a bad start.

Room 5 is like in an attic room, nice inside but the last flight of stairs is very steep and no handrail, with a case it is tricky. We were also surprised that the room door opened inwards directly facing the top step a bit scary when you have a false fire alarm at night, which we did.

Things we take for granted matter!, we mentioned to the Manager about the luke warm coffee at breakfast and that the room radiator did not function on a mornings. The staff were polite and informative about the area, the bar is busy at the weekends so can be a bit noisy. The Hotel states an investment of 3m or 1.3m on two different ads, which ever is correct I would expect to see a Big Wow or a Wow factor but I dont!

  • Emily L

  • October 2014

The Parson's nose

The Blue Boar was like The Parson's Nose -good in parts.

Our room didn't have WiFi which was a blow as I don't sleep well and use my iPad for surfing during the night. Their brochure clearly states there is wifi throughout. Staff seemed to do a lot of banging of bins and working outside before 9am which woke us up. Our room was changed for the last night of our four-night stay and was not clean. Bathroom bin had previous occupants rubbish in it and the dust was thick on the bedside table and all over the radio. It was as if a vacuum cleaner had been emptied over it. However, we did get a faint wifi connection. Generally, the service was just ok but too casual for my liking. A lot of chatter and banter between staff members to the detriment of this customer. A conversation I was having with a receptionist was interrupted by the receptionist so she could tell another member of staff a joke. She turned back to me afterwards to explain they were having a sick joke day. I was taking a break after a bereavement so was not in the mood for jollity. Nor did I want to have to listen to two staff members' conversation while they clattered teacups for half an hour in the hotel lounge where I thought I would relax and read the paper. The hotel is, however, very central, close to shops, etc. Parking was a huge problem as the hotel has no parking and doesn't offer a valet service. Parking is severely limited in Witney and we ended up parking in residential streets as there were time limits on all public areas. I didn't think it was good value for money. There were very few staff on duty. Some were friendly, some verged on the surly. I think some corporate hospitality training would be necessary to bring everyone up to scratch as service was very inconsistent. I didn't think it was good value for money.