No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Blue Boar

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
28 Market Square , Witney, OX28 6BH
Beer, Bread, Blankets. These are the staples that historically, Witney is famous for. The Blue Boar redefines these symbols, providing a stylish bar, restaurant and rooms in which quality and comfort is paramount. Formerly known as The Marlborough Hotel, The Blue Boar has benefited from a £3m investment, and boasts 20 boutique style bedrooms and an elegant function room.

Each of the 20 en-suite bedrooms is individually designed in boutique-style, with luxury bathrooms and of course, the famous Witney blankets. All of the rooms also feature iPod docking stations, flatscreen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and free WiFi.

Whether visiting the Blue Boar for business or for pleasure, the high quality finish of the rooms guarantees a warm and comfortable stay.
Picture of The Blue Boar, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mediocre

Reviewed by
D Thompson

From , UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best value hotel that I have ever stayed in!
Simply the best Value for Money b and b

Reviewed by
G Szeborowski

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ambience good but a bit over priced
Due to the Hotels location we would both stay and recommend, unfortunately there is no parking and it is not mentioned on the hotel page, so its at a local supermarket or if luck is on your side you can find a slot on the main road but that's for an hour only, so lugging cases or bad weather can really get you off to a bad start. Room 5 is like in an attic room, nice inside but the last flight of stairs is very steep and no handrail, with a case it is tricky. We were also surprised that the room door opened inwards directly facing the top step a bit scary when you have a false fire alarm at night, which we did.
Things we take for granted matter!, we mentioned to the Manager about the luke warm coffee at breakfast and that the room radiator did not function on a mornings. The staff were polite and informative about the area, the bar is busy at the weekends so can be a bit noisy. The Hotel states an investment of 3m or 1.3m on two different ads, which ever is correct I would expect to see a Big Wow or a Wow factor but I dont!

Reviewed by
Clifford V

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Parson's nose
The Blue Boar was like The Parson's Nose -good in parts. Our room didn't have WiFi which was a blow as I don't sleep well and use my iPad for surfing during the night. Their brochure clearly states there is wifi throughout. Staff seemed to do a lot of banging of bins and working outside before 9am which woke us up. Our room was changed for the last night of our four-night stay and was not clean. Bathroom bin had previous occupants rubbish in it and the dust was thick on the bedside table and all over the radio. It was as if a vacuum cleaner had been emptied over it. However, we did get a faint wifi connection. Generally, the service was just ok but too casual for my liking. A lot of chatter and banter between staff members to the detriment of this customer. A conversation I was having with a receptionist was interrupted by the receptionist so she could tell another member of staff a joke. She turned back to me afterwards to explain they were having a sick joke day. I was taking a break after a bereavement so was not in the mood for jollity. Nor did I want to have to listen to two staff members' conversation while they clattered teacups for half an hour in the hotel lounge where I thought I would relax and read the paper. The hotel is, however, very central, close to shops, etc. Parking was a huge problem as the hotel has no parking and doesn't offer a valet service. Parking is severely limited in Witney and we ended up parking in residential streets as there were time limits on all public areas. I didn't think it was good value for money. There were very few staff on duty. Some were friendly, some verged on the surly. I think some corporate hospitality training would be necessary to bring everyone up to scratch as service was very inconsistent. I didn't think it was good value for money.

Reviewed by
Emily L

From Ballyclare, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room not as booked
The main issue I had was that I did not receive the room I booked! I booked an Executive Room which was supposed to be larger, with sofa etc. but I was allocated a room for a handicapped person with a wet room, low level wash hand basin, mirror etc. As I arrived late in the evening after a long day I did not complain about it until the morning but would always expect to get what what was booked. The guy at reception was apologetic explaining that they were fully booked and had no alternative rooms but Late Room.com should not advertise rooms that are not available. I was offered a reduction as a result of the mixup but I don't believe that this was the fault of the Blue Boar. In fairness, the staff in the Blue Boar were fantastic with one of the guys covering reception, bar and restaurant on the evening I arrived and was again on duty early the next morning.

Reviewed by
A O' Donnell

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again!!!
My father and I were put up a room intended for use by disabled persons, which was fine other having to crouch down to use the mirrors and having a wet room instead of standard shower. I have no problem with this but they could have told us. £155 for the one night and breakfast, with an early departure due in the morning and missing out on the breakfast there was no offer of something we could take with us as had been offered in previous years. Also no hot water to take a shower in the morning. It seems they increase prices year on year and each year you get less from your money. Also no chance of any sleep with the drinkers out the back and roasting to death in the room due to trying to keep the noise out with closed windows. Certainly our last visit.

Reviewed by
Lee Stiles

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We come back!
Parking problematic. Rest fantastic.

Reviewed by
Pieter P

From Netherlands
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room in fab hotel
Arrived to be checked in to disabled room which was not requested. Everything fine and with extra large bathroom - assume non disabled bathrooms would have been a bit more luxurious. Recently modernised rooms Id suspect with great linen and comfy bed. Breakfast meal ordered in adjoining restaurant was a bit limited and small in size but tasty. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Craig D

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab hotel
I stayed in the blue boar for three nights. Customer service was excellent and was promptly moved to another room when I discovered a problem with my shower. Ate in the restaurant every night, food was excellent as was service. Staff so pleasant and breakfast was tasty. Room was cosy, clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
L Curran

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing experience
amazing!

Reviewed by
D Lee

From Chertsy, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next