No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Blue Boar

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
28 Market Square , Witney, OX28 6BH
Beer, Bread, Blankets. These are the staples that historically, Witney is famous for. The Blue Boar redefines these symbols, providing a stylish bar, restaurant and rooms in which quality and comfort is paramount. Formerly known as The Marlborough Hotel, The Blue Boar has benefited from a £3m investment, and boasts 20 boutique style bedrooms and an elegant function room.

Each of the 20 en-suite bedrooms is individually designed in boutique-style, with luxury bathrooms and of course, the famous Witney blankets. All of the rooms also feature iPod docking stations, flatscreen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and free WiFi.

Whether visiting the Blue Boar for business or for pleasure, the high quality finish of the rooms guarantees a warm and comfortable stay.
Picture of The Blue Boar, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again!!!
My father and I were put up a room intended for use by disabled persons, which was fine other having to crouch down to use the mirrors and having a wet room instead of standard shower. I have no problem with this but they could have told us. £155 for the one night and breakfast, with an early departure due in the morning and missing out on the breakfast there was no offer of something we could take with us as had been offered in previous years. Also no hot water to take a shower in the morning. It seems they increase prices year on year and each year you get less from your money. Also no chance of any sleep with the drinkers out the back and roasting to death in the room due to trying to keep the noise out with closed windows. Certainly our last visit.

Reviewed by
Lee Stiles

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We come back!
Parking problematic. Rest fantastic.

Reviewed by
Pieter P

From Netherlands
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab hotel
I stayed in the blue boar for three nights. Customer service was excellent and was promptly moved to another room when I discovered a problem with my shower. Ate in the restaurant every night, food was excellent as was service. Staff so pleasant and breakfast was tasty. Room was cosy, clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
L Curran

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing experience
amazing!

Reviewed by
D Lee

From Chertsy, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were initially allocated a wheelchair access bedroom. The bed was enormous and the room cold. The bathroom was much adapted. When I asked I was given the options of two other rooms to choose from. The room I choose was nice.
Overall the hotel was tastefully decorated and the staff helpful.
The breakfast was nice and the hip crowd flooded into the bar overnight.
On a saturday night the restaurant needs to be booked prior as it was fully booked on our arrival at 6pm.

Reviewed by
T Doherty

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but overpriced
The location is lovely and the room was large and clean although for the price I have stayed in rooms with more effort with the decor. The staff were friendly but I would have expected better service, the small things are important - enough towels in the room for both guests without having to ask, the windows closed and the heating on when you first walk into your room in winter. The breakfast was good quality but there was only a limited menu choice. In the evening the bar was buzzing with a good atmosphere, we ate at the restaurant with a party of 11 and we thought it was overpriced for the quality, some meals were overcooked and some were only luke warm.

Reviewed by
Gill E

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little gem in Witney
Conveniently situated in the centre of Witney The Blue Boar is perfect for short stay, business or leisure.the hotel is steeped in history but has been refurbished to a very high standard.The bar and restaurant areas are modern yet very cosy with a comforting wood burner fireplace a focal point.
The rooms are bright ,well decorated with most comfortable beds and bedding,smart bathrooms.
We had both lunch and dinner at the hotel,food and service very good.
Breakfast the following morning a real treat,no self service buffet all food cooked to order,great coffee.
The big plus for The Blue Boar is the whole team of staff,very friendly,efficient and helpfull
We really enjoyed our short stay at this hotel and found it good value for money
Thankyou

Reviewed by
alan marshall

From Oldham, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with great food and atmosphere
A bit pricey for what it is but great food, clean rooms, friendly staff and a good atmosphere

Reviewed by
Laura P

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem in Oxfordshire
I paid slightly more than I wanted for a room but as the hotel was located around the corner from the venue where we were attending a performance, I figured the convinience made up for the bit extra. Turned out the "bit extra" was worth it. Lovely, clean, modern without being too "cold" in atmosphere. Though on the High Street, the double glazed windows shut out noise ....we didn't even hear the street market being set up the next morning! We're so use to waiting ages to get heat that we usually cranck up the radiators as soon as we walk in hoping to be warmed by the time we go to bed but before we knew it we were toasty warm and had to turn the heating off! The bath and shower were welcoming and for once I actually prefered the toiletries in the room to my own brand soap and hair care procduct That is rare!
The menu looked inviting and the bar welcoming but we had other plans so didn't try any of the foods until breakfast. This was a menu breakfast, not a buffett, so everything was freshly prepared and served. Despite the temptation of eggs benidict, pancakes, scrambled egges wiuth salmon and other breakfast yummies I stuck with a tradtional breakfast and was very pleased and satisfied with the choice, not to mention delighted with real ground coffee! Breakfast was served until noon....so no pressure at all to rush down before breakfast closed
Very few issues, all minor. There is no parking with the hotel but the front desk were very helpful with letting us know where we could safely park overnight. And the area for hanging clothes was small and difficult to access.
Overall, a comfortable and relaxing stay

Reviewed by
L Krawecke

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing place to stay!!!!
What a gem! My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights in October. We booked a twin room but when we arrived they hadn't made up the twin room, as they were quiet they gave us another room for free!!! The rooms were modern with a traditional twist, my room had huge beams in the vaulted ceiling...stunning! We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was great, the bar was lovely too with leather sofas and chairs around a big open fireplace.
Food good, drinks good, rooms good, service good...overall a FANTASTIC stay and would recommend anyone to stay here!

Reviewed by
Susan M

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next