Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa

4

31 High Street, Windsor, SL4 1PQ

Price From 107.44 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (75)

68% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Graham W

  • March 2015

Very Comfortable

It was a single room, plenty big enough, very clean & comfortable

  • L Holmes

  • November 2014

Out house down a back alleyway

I have stayed at the Harte and Garter once before so felt confident in booking to stay there again.

Originally I was travelling alone meeting friends in windsor, so wanted a hotel that was central and safe. When I arrived at the Harte and garter I escorted out if the hotel walked down the high street into a alley way and was introduced to a house that had just been converted from offices to hotel rooms. The house/hotel/offices has been renovated very well but this was not what I had booked. I was on the 5th floor and there was no lift. A friend has agreed to stay with me so I was lucky I didn't have to stay there alone. When returning after dinner around 11pm the now dark alley way was now filled with crowds of drunk people blurring music from the numerous clubs in the same alley way with a heavy police presence. It wasn't safe for two women walking through let alone a woman on her own we then struggled to sleep with all the drunken party goers coming and going. We didn't eat at the hotel because there was no option of room service. I'm guessing it's not really safe for the hotel staff to venture out to these rooms either. Very shocking and disappointing. I'm just glad it wasn't booked for a holiday or romantic break with my husband because it would have literally ruined any occasion I only had to suffer the one night and made a quick exit the next morning dodging the vomit in the street while making my way to reception to check out in the actual hotel.

  • T Hardy

  • November 2014

Pleasant

Pleasant room, with great view and nice size in a nice area

  • V Stevens

  • November 2014

Lovely hotel, but could do better

The Harte & Garter is a very lovely old style hotel, that could do with a bit of updating and improvements.

We paid £159 (room only, no breakfast) for 1 night and when we first arrived in our room I was so disappointed. The room looked dark and dingy, although the view was amazing. Just little things bothered me-cups and the tea tray, but no saucers. Therefore there were cup rings all over the furniture. There were no biscuits on the tea tray, which you normally get, and there was no plug socket to plug the kettle into, so we had to plug it in on the dressing table. The glass doors out onto the balcony were filthy, and one slightly broken. We asked to be moved to a nicer room, and the staff were very accomadating and sorted it straight out. Our 2nd room was much nicer and brighter, but still a couple of things broken and in need of updating. The shower was awful, and there was a horrid beige plastic bath mat in the bath, like i'd expect my granny to have. Not really fitting of a 4* hotel. We also went to use one of the hotel shower gels, only to find it had been re-filled with water. Oops. In the communal areas of the hotel, there are some carpets that are quite threadbare and need replacing. The dining room however is stunning, and we thoroughly enjoyed sitting in there for breakfast. Both food and service were excellent. I did like staying at this hotel, but definitely preferred The Macdonald Windsor just up the road, and it was cheaper for a nicer room. It's the little touches that make all the difference, and this is where I feel the H&G is lacking.

  • Julie H

  • November 2014

Not 4 star in our opinion

We were disappointed with our room.

Advertised as 4 star, we had a very basic room at the very back of the hotel. the room was not accessible by lift and we had to climb 2 sets of stairs (1 very steep) and walk through an empty bar to get to it. luckily we didn't have a lot of luggage. The plug was broken in the bath which mean we had to use shower which was caked in limescale. the bathroom door was very hard to close. There were marks on the table from where hot drinks had been left. There were no biscuits in the tea/coffee area. There is no parking at the hotel so we ended up spending nearly £20 on parking for our 2 night stay. I think we would have been better of in a B+B.

  • Anne L

  • October 2014

Convenient Location

Hotel was very conveniently located for shops, restaurants, railway stations.

I was alone and wanted a single room but inevitably it was a little bit small. But otherwise it was a pleasant place to stay and the bar service was good.

  • L Elcome

  • October 2014

Had an amazing room with castle view.

Would definitely stay again. Breakfast was really nice, and staff very friendly .

  • Stephanie B

  • September 2014

Overnight stay

The reception and all other staff were friendly and efficient.

The room had all the facilities one needs, there was decent storage and the bathroom was immaculate with verymgood quality towels. Breakfast was excellent. We did not have any other meal.

  • Grant A

  • September 2014

Problem after problem - sorted but took time

First of we were placed in a desperate hotel to the Harte Garter which was supposedly an extension but you had to walk round the block to get too.

We then requested to change rooms and this was eventually sorted but no castle view as promised. Then we went to use spa after being told to just pop down any time. We arrived to find out we had to pay a 15 pound surcharge each just to use a jacuzzi and steam room?!?. When explaining to the receptionist that it was not in our email that we would pay extra she was very rude and unhelpful,

Wouldn't stay again, too much drama and hassle

  • D PARKS

  • September 2014

Hotel is in a good central location for all tourist attractions & car park nearby for overnight stay

It would have been nice to have some complimentary biscuits on the tray and more than two tea bags.

A bit stingy in comparison to other places I've stayed in.