Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Slough > New Windsor Hotels > The Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa in Windsor
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa in Windsor

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
31 High Street , Windsor, SL4 1PQ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Formed from two 14th-century inns, The Harte & Garter sits directly opposite the historic Windsor Castle in Windsor town centre. The property boasts free WiFi and a luxury health spa.

Featuring many original Victorian features, the hotel offers elegant bedrooms with high ceilings and satellite flat-screen TVs. Each room has a luxurious private bathroom and some rooms enjoy stunning views of the castle.
There are 79 bedrooms within the main building and 19 in the townhouse, Goswell House, which is located to the back of the building and has its own separate entrance a short walk from the main hotel.

The Tower Brasserie and Tea Room serves afternoon teas and British classics using seasonal, locally sourced produce. Guests may also sample one of the hotel's fine wines from their extensive range.

Stable Spa has a selection of relaxing treatments. The experience of the Thermal Spa can be followed by unwinding in the post-treatment 4 Senses Loungers, the first of their kind in a UK hotel spa.

The Harte & Garter Hotel is conveniently located for Windsor's shops and restaurants. The River Thames is just a 5-minute walk away.
Picture of The Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa in Windsor, Windsor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 103 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Location!
The Hotel was situated exactly where you would want it, right in the centre of everything with beautiful views of the Castle from the restaurant. Our room was very big, the bathroom was clean, the bed amazing and the breakfast delicous. We were however situated on the lower ground floor which did give you the feeling of being in the basement and there must of been a nightclub close by as we heard loud music until the early hours of the morning. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone and would return but next time would request prior to not be allocated any of the lower ground rooms.

Reviewed by
J Smith

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor room allocated
We booked a double room but the room was really tiny and in my opinion shouldn't have been sold to us as a double room - you couldn't walk around the bed

Reviewed by
S Newman

From Reading, England
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

please provide milk
Only improvement i can suggest would be to provide milk with the tea & coffee making facilities. I asked for some to be provided and it was instantly brought to me in a jug each time but would be more convenient to provide the longlife milk cups in all other hotel rooms.

Reviewed by
Claire A

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sparsely staffed, thin walls, loud corridors

Reviewed by
Marc L

From Windsor, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Great hotel with beautiful views of the castle. Lovely room, would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
E M

From , England
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay
Fine hotel in a superb location to explore the delights of windsor

Reviewed by
DAVID O

From Bellshill, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

must stay here again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Only comment to make is, had a great stay accommodation excellent

Reviewed by
susan perry

From merseyside, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super view!
Amazing room! Amazing view! Never thought we'd get a room so spacious and beautifully decorated as we got as a standard. Bath and shower, huge bathroom, comfy beds and just very nice indeed! Only negative was Spa. Although we enjoyed our mud treatment, the Spa not what I call a Spa. Had to leave he hotel, walk down a nasty alley way until you reach the small spa with not much going on in there and not very relaxing or worth a £15 day ticket.

Reviewed by
R Morton

From Keston, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend in Windsor
Lovely hotel room perfect location excellant customer service superb selection at breakfast freindly pleasent staff

Reviewed by
a brant

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business
I was not given the choice of standard room which resulted in being given a disable room which did not suit my needs.
The restautrant staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Ray Milburn

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next