Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Slough > New Windsor Hotels > Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
31 High Street , Windsor, SL4 1PQ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Formed from two 14th-century inns, The Harte & Garter sits directly opposite the historic Windsor Castle in Windsor town centre. The property boasts free WiFi and a luxury health spa.

Featuring many original Victorian features, the hotel offers elegant bedrooms with high ceilings and satellite flat-screen TVs. Each room has a luxurious private bathroom and some rooms enjoy stunning views of the castle.
There are 79 bedrooms within the main building and 19 in the townhouse, Goswell House, which is located to the back of the building and has its own separate entrance a short walk from the main hotel.

The Tower Brasserie and Tea Room serves afternoon teas and British classics using seasonal, locally sourced produce. Guests may also sample one of the hotel's fine wines from their extensive range.

Stable Spa has a selection of relaxing treatments. The experience of the Thermal Spa can be followed by unwinding in the post-treatment 4 Senses Loungers, the first of their kind in a UK hotel spa.

The Harte & Garter Hotel is conveniently located for Windsor's shops and restaurants. The River Thames is just a 5-minute walk away.
Picture of Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, Windsor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 98 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Harte & Garter Windsor
Not very impressed.

Reviewed by
Jo C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
As I had to attend a course just outside Reading I decided to book into the Harte and Garter Hotel and Spa for one night to save too much traveling. I was greeted at check in by a lovely lady who asked if I wanted to book breakfast and explained all the hotel facilities to me. We did have our evening meal in the hotel restaurant which was great. The location of the hotel is ideal as it is directly opposite Windsor Castle. After an exhausting day walking around Windsor and Eaton it was lovely to retire into a large bedroom which was extremely clean and comfortable. I will most definitely be staying at this hotel again but next time it will be for more than one night.

Reviewed by
S Snazell

From beckenham, Kent, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel and Views of Castle
The hotel was very nice and reception made us feel very welcome although there was a man who worked there (David???) who looked us up and down as my partner had his army rucksack with him, dont really appreciate that when we have payed to stay there. So apart from the one snob our stay was very enjoyable!

Reviewed by
Danielle W

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced accomodation
The hotel did not have the booking and I booked a luxury room with castle view. The receptionist looked at my phone and issued us a room not with a view which I did tell the lady who came up to bring us linen. There was no room service for food after midnight. The bed was 2 singles joined badly and there was a ridge in the centre of the bed. When we pulled back the sheets the bedding was badly marked. There was tea and coffee making facilities but no tea, coffee or milk. Even though we put a do not disturb sign up as we were looking forward to a lay in the cleaner vacuumed the hall outside our room vigorously for 10 mins often bashing the door. On checkout when I then spoke to the receptionist about the room and it not being the £169 room I'd booked I was told I'd been upgraded to a feature room which is usually £239 - maybe the feature was the no view except of an adjoining roof or any of the other 'features' I've mentioned but either way it was not anywhere near what that price has got me in all my other previous bookings.

Reviewed by
Jan W

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

didn't meet expectations
advertised as a luxury hotel - we got our booking via another website and at a huge discount (according to the website) so possibly should not have had such high expectations. The room was adequate but we were given the disabled room - so no bath, just a walk in shower (but the seat was not foldable so had to stand to one side), no plug for the sink so used the coaster for the tooth glasses. The helpful lady at reception tried to get a plug but as it was the bank holiday, maintenance people weren't working and they have the key for these things so she gave us a shower cap to fill the plug hole. No fridge in the room. It was at the back so we were woken by the deliveries at 8am. On the whole, we could have had better at travel lodge a lot cheaper. But the breakfast was lovely!

Reviewed by
M Spalding

From Morden, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mediocre
We stayed at the harte and garter over the bank holiday weekend. The hotel has had a facelift and looks great but there were a few things I wasn't keen on. The receptionist was very busy and not hugely accomodating. Infact the reception area was very small and the room for storing bags was an inconvenience to all. Also I don't think the hotel should advertise the spa, this was a £15 supplement which would be fine if it wasn't tiny and really attached to the hotel. Perhaps my expectations were too high but we paid £120 per night and our room was very small and overlooked by people walking in the street. Overall disappointing.

Reviewed by
Kirsty F

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smallish rooms shower v outdated more of a trickle

Reviewed by
Sarah J

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor
Rooms not too bad Breafast cold Becon very fatty poor selection overhall veryb poor

Reviewed by
m freeman

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money short break
Excellent location for the castle and the town. Although the nearest car park is about five minutes walk away, we did not find this a problem and my husband enjoyed the rest from always driving. The room was huge, but a little basic. Having said that it did have air conditioning that was needed as the room was quite warm. They certainly did spend the money on the beds, bedding and towels though, which were all a briiliant quality. To improve the room we would have appreciated a second comfortable chair for an adult, a DVD player and more tea bags/milk etc (although the staff upon request were happy to give these out). To our surprise, Windsor turned out to be quite a lively, party town at night. Our room faced the rear of the hotel and was close to a nightclub. Although there were people outside this did not cause us a problem and is only what might be expected in the centre of a town. Included in our stay was breakfast, which was fabulous and had something to please everyone (fruit, cereal, pastries and full english!). Our package also included a picnic each day which was a great touch and was always ready whatever time we had arranged to collect it. In total for two nights we paid less than £200 and, at this price, would not hesitate to recommend it to family and friends.

Reviewed by
tanya m

From England
Who stayed in April 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Harte and Garter
We had a lovely two night stay at the Harte and Garter in Windsor. The room was large and very clean. The bathroom had a nice shower and bath. We ate in The Tower restaurant one evening and the food was very good. A couple of things that were a bit disappointing were that there were no ceiling lights in room number 2 - only side lamps - which made the room quite dark. Also, there was only one choice of tea in the room (English breakfast) and no biscuits! Overall though, we thought the hotel was good value for money and we would return for another stay.

Reviewed by
Debbie L

From London, England
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next