Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Slough > New Windsor Hotels > Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
31 High Street , Windsor, SL4 1PQ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Formed from two 14th-century inns, The Harte & Garter sits directly opposite the historic Windsor Castle in Windsor town centre. The property boasts free WiFi and a luxury health spa.

Featuring many original Victorian features, the hotel offers elegant bedrooms with high ceilings and satellite flat-screen TVs. Each room has a luxurious private bathroom and some rooms enjoy stunning views of the castle.
There are 79 bedrooms within the main building and 19 in the townhouse, Goswell House, which is located to the back of the building and has its own separate entrance a short walk from the main hotel.

The Tower Brasserie and Tea Room serves afternoon teas and British classics using seasonal, locally sourced produce. Guests may also sample one of the hotel's fine wines from their extensive range.

Stable Spa has a selection of relaxing treatments. The experience of the Thermal Spa can be followed by unwinding in the post-treatment 4 Senses Loungers, the first of their kind in a UK hotel spa.

The Harte & Garter Hotel is conveniently located for Windsor's shops and restaurants. The River Thames is just a 5-minute walk away.
Picture of Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, Windsor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 94 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Stay at the Harte and Garter
Myself and my husband stayed for 2 nights, it was a child free weekend for us, found the hotel staff on arrival very friendly, your food was lovely, breakfast was even better, the only downside was our room did not have a bath - we stayed in room 318 and also I found the room quite warm as the windows hardly opened at all, but the stay was very relaxed, and we will certainly look to stay again if we get the chance to be without the children again.
Perfect location to do all we wanted to do within windsor.

Reviewed by
Emma Pillar

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location on the door step of the castle, only slight disappointment was that the windows didn't open fully get air in the room, they did have a small fan but the room was still warm. It really is worth staying as the location is perfect.

Reviewed by
Sarah Whittaker

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally satisfactory but there were several light bulbs missing or not working in the bedroom and bathroom. We felt that there could have been better provision to deal with the extreme heat than the one fan. Sleep was very difficult in the stifling heat (18 July).

Reviewed by
Joan L

From Studley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ROOM
The Hotel was easy to find as it is right by Windsor and Eton Central Train Station. We arrived at 10:30 p.m. and was greeted by a very polite receptionist. We stayed in room 221 which was a lovely room and very clean with a view of the Castle which was very nice. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was really quiet with no noise being heard from outside, not even trains! The purpose for the visit was to visit Legoland which only cost £10.00 in a taxi. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
L Hynes

From Smethwick, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent weekday break
Excellent location right in the middle of Windsor,our rooms was a good size and faced right on to the castle. It was nice to have a bath as well as a double shower. My only comment was it would have been nice to have had biscuits as well being able to have more than one drink. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We look forward to staying again

Reviewed by
Michael C

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel
We were given a different room by a lady checking the rooms as the original given by the snooty receptionist was tiny! The rooms were very clean and luxurious. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
S Green

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review 29th June 2013
Reception desk was rather chaotic, long queues formed quickly due to lack of staff on check in desk. Room was a available to leave luggage in although this was also somewhat chaotic and in my opinion not particularly secure. Room quality and cleanliness good, although water was only warm not hot when taking a shower before leaving the morning of the 30th.
Hotel bar was closed at 11pm, and whilst advertised as being open to residents all the products had been locked away & therefore no drinks able to be served - this was not only poorly dealt with but a clear income loss for the hotel on what was a busy evening in Windsor.

Reviewed by
steve morris

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

too noisey
unfortunaetly at 6.30 in the morning the contin ious slaming of a door below our room, kept us awake

Reviewed by
j wilkinson

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, unimpressive service / staff / food
The location can't be beaten in Windsor, bang opposite the castle. But this tired old hotel needs an overhaul. We were checked in by an unsmiling and uninterested night porter who watched me haul a heavy overnight bag up two flights of stairs in my high heels (we'd been to a wedding) without offering to help, or exchanging any pleasantries at all . We'd been hoping for a small snack - just a cheese sandwich or similar - but there was no room service available. Our room was roasting hot. Breakfast in the morning was abysmal - I had to ask the staff for everything, from clean glasses for juice (they'd run out), to butter (not out on display), to coffee, milk, etc. Nobody came over and offered anything to us at all. It wasn't that they were trying to close - we were there a good half hour before breakfast service ended. There was just no interest in trying to provide us with a pleasant experience at all. I rather got the impression the staff were probably poorly paid, poorly trained, and probably didn't want to be there. Whenever i asked for anything, I was greeted with a look of disdain. I didn't check out the spa so can't comment on that but I do wish I'd stayed somewhere cheaper and slightly further out. It was a wholly unedifying experience from start to finish.

Reviewed by
Emma Kennedy

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room Condition
We have 2 rooms, 1 with air-con but 1 without. My comment is that the management shall consider having air-con in all their rooms but not just supplying fans to solve the ventilation problem. Beisdes some little flys are around inside the no air-con room.

Reviewed by
R Cheung

From Hong Kong
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next