Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Slough > New Windsor Hotels > The Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa in Windsor
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa in Windsor

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
31 High Street , Windsor, SL4 1PQ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Formed from two 14th-century inns, The Harte & Garter sits directly opposite the historic Windsor Castle in Windsor town centre. The property boasts free WiFi and a luxury health spa.

Featuring many original Victorian features, the hotel offers elegant bedrooms with high ceilings and satellite flat-screen TVs. Each room has a luxurious private bathroom and some rooms enjoy stunning views of the castle.
There are 79 bedrooms within the main building and 19 in the townhouse, Goswell House, which is located to the back of the building and has its own separate entrance a short walk from the main hotel.

The Tower Brasserie and Tea Room serves afternoon teas and British classics using seasonal, locally sourced produce. Guests may also sample one of the hotel's fine wines from their extensive range.

Stable Spa has a selection of relaxing treatments. The experience of the Thermal Spa can be followed by unwinding in the post-treatment 4 Senses Loungers, the first of their kind in a UK hotel spa.

The Harte & Garter Hotel is conveniently located for Windsor's shops and restaurants. The River Thames is just a 5-minute walk away.
Picture of The Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa in Windsor, Windsor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 102 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel
We were given a different room by a lady checking the rooms as the original given by the snooty receptionist was tiny! The rooms were very clean and luxurious. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
S Green

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review 29th June 2013
Reception desk was rather chaotic, long queues formed quickly due to lack of staff on check in desk. Room was a available to leave luggage in although this was also somewhat chaotic and in my opinion not particularly secure. Room quality and cleanliness good, although water was only warm not hot when taking a shower before leaving the morning of the 30th.
Hotel bar was closed at 11pm, and whilst advertised as being open to residents all the products had been locked away & therefore no drinks able to be served - this was not only poorly dealt with but a clear income loss for the hotel on what was a busy evening in Windsor.

Reviewed by
steve morris

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

too noisey
unfortunaetly at 6.30 in the morning the contin ious slaming of a door below our room, kept us awake

Reviewed by
j wilkinson

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, unimpressive service / staff / food
The location can't be beaten in Windsor, bang opposite the castle. But this tired old hotel needs an overhaul. We were checked in by an unsmiling and uninterested night porter who watched me haul a heavy overnight bag up two flights of stairs in my high heels (we'd been to a wedding) without offering to help, or exchanging any pleasantries at all . We'd been hoping for a small snack - just a cheese sandwich or similar - but there was no room service available. Our room was roasting hot. Breakfast in the morning was abysmal - I had to ask the staff for everything, from clean glasses for juice (they'd run out), to butter (not out on display), to coffee, milk, etc. Nobody came over and offered anything to us at all. It wasn't that they were trying to close - we were there a good half hour before breakfast service ended. There was just no interest in trying to provide us with a pleasant experience at all. I rather got the impression the staff were probably poorly paid, poorly trained, and probably didn't want to be there. Whenever i asked for anything, I was greeted with a look of disdain. I didn't check out the spa so can't comment on that but I do wish I'd stayed somewhere cheaper and slightly further out. It was a wholly unedifying experience from start to finish.

Reviewed by
Emma Kennedy

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room Condition
We have 2 rooms, 1 with air-con but 1 without. My comment is that the management shall consider having air-con in all their rooms but not just supplying fans to solve the ventilation problem. Beisdes some little flys are around inside the no air-con room.

Reviewed by
R Cheung

From Hong Kong
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but not great
The room was lovely and well equipped. The rooms were cleaned but not tidied very well and the beds made up ok. The bed was really comfortable. The corridors and rooms were too warm.
The food (breakfast) was very good but the service was awful. Had to ask for our coffee/tea twice and then they only brought one coffee and one tea we had then to ask for the other again. We had to go and find someone for more milk and all in all it was hard work! The receptionists looked bored and seemingly just were going through the motions and they were not aware we were standing at the desk on a couple of occasions when they were only a couple of metres from them. For the money and in a front line hotel with lots of foreign tourist one would have expected receptionists to be spot on - they are a hotel's main asset (or liability!). The parking, loading/unloading is a big issue especially when "changing the guard" is occuring. As it happens every day there should be some way that guests a) have somewhere suitable to load/unload luggage and b) have a porter to help outside with this.

Reviewed by
Jo S

From Derby, England
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Harte & Garter Windsor
Not very impressed.

Reviewed by
Jo C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
As I had to attend a course just outside Reading I decided to book into the Harte and Garter Hotel and Spa for one night to save too much traveling. I was greeted at check in by a lovely lady who asked if I wanted to book breakfast and explained all the hotel facilities to me. We did have our evening meal in the hotel restaurant which was great. The location of the hotel is ideal as it is directly opposite Windsor Castle. After an exhausting day walking around Windsor and Eaton it was lovely to retire into a large bedroom which was extremely clean and comfortable. I will most definitely be staying at this hotel again but next time it will be for more than one night.

Reviewed by
S Snazell

From beckenham, Kent, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel and Views of Castle
The hotel was very nice and reception made us feel very welcome although there was a man who worked there (David???) who looked us up and down as my partner had his army rucksack with him, dont really appreciate that when we have payed to stay there. So apart from the one snob our stay was very enjoyable!

Reviewed by
Danielle W

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced accomodation
The hotel did not have the booking and I booked a luxury room with castle view. The receptionist looked at my phone and issued us a room not with a view which I did tell the lady who came up to bring us linen. There was no room service for food after midnight. The bed was 2 singles joined badly and there was a ridge in the centre of the bed. When we pulled back the sheets the bedding was badly marked. There was tea and coffee making facilities but no tea, coffee or milk. Even though we put a do not disturb sign up as we were looking forward to a lay in the cleaner vacuumed the hall outside our room vigorously for 10 mins often bashing the door. On checkout when I then spoke to the receptionist about the room and it not being the £169 room I'd booked I was told I'd been upgraded to a feature room which is usually £239 - maybe the feature was the no view except of an adjoining roof or any of the other 'features' I've mentioned but either way it was not anywhere near what that price has got me in all my other previous bookings.

Reviewed by
Jan W

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next