Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Slough > New Windsor Hotels > Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
31 High Street , Windsor, SL4 1PQ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Formed from two 14th-century inns, The Harte & Garter sits directly opposite the historic Windsor Castle in Windsor town centre. The property boasts free WiFi and a luxury health spa.

Featuring many original Victorian features, the hotel offers elegant bedrooms with high ceilings and satellite flat-screen TVs. Each room has a luxurious private bathroom and some rooms enjoy stunning views of the castle.
There are 79 bedrooms within the main building and 19 in the townhouse, Goswell House, which is located to the back of the building and has its own separate entrance a short walk from the main hotel.

The Tower Brasserie and Tea Room serves afternoon teas and British classics using seasonal, locally sourced produce. Guests may also sample one of the hotel's fine wines from their extensive range.

Stable Spa has a selection of relaxing treatments. The experience of the Thermal Spa can be followed by unwinding in the post-treatment 4 Senses Loungers, the first of their kind in a UK hotel spa.

The Harte & Garter Hotel is conveniently located for Windsor's shops and restaurants. The River Thames is just a 5-minute walk away.
Picture of Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, Windsor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 94 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyable stay
Myself, Wife and 8yr old son had a two night stay at the hotel as we were visiting Legoland. We thought the hotel was great, fantastic location right in the centre of Windsor opposite the castle and only a 10-15minute drive to Legoland. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the family room we stayed in was very spacious, clean and had a really large ensuite bathroom with seperate shower. Enjoyed the buffet style breakfast (Full English, fruit, pastry etc.) We parked our car at the Riverside carpark during our stay which was only about a five minute walk from the hotel. Would definately recommend the hotel.

Reviewed by
K Gregory

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the reduced room rate
the room was smalll andl at the end of a series of narrow corridors and stairs . It had windows but they peered only into a dark narrow courtyard where in the early morning kitchn porters slammed metal trolleys around.
We were told on your website that the room would have normally been sold for £350 ....this is a lie as nobody would pay this sum for such a room. We have a greivance and have been very misled

Reviewed by
J Wilson

From Totnes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

essex manc
our daughter was getting married [she lives in windsor] and we had a excellant overnight stay in the hotel. super views of the castle !!

Reviewed by
Michael A

From great dunmow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a very good night stay at the hotel staff very helpful.
Only negative is there is no car parking but it is in the centre of Windsor and it would e very difficult

Reviewed by
A Muir

From Heybridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice central windsor weekend getaway
Lovely big, comfortable room. Only downside was that it was quite a walk to our room from reception laden with suitcases. Also the room was a little noisy.

Reviewed by
Richard J

From Littleborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was very small and dark

Reviewed by
Lennard G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
Brilliant location right opposite the castle, next to the entrance to the station and all the shops, plus loads of retaurants. Was surprised and delighted to see that my single room had a 4 foot bed and not the awful 3 foot beds normally found in single rooms at hotels. The room was a little dark as there are the usual energy saving bulbs, however, there was a good size, flat screen television and a good sized bathroom. Bad points: Unfortunately, is was difficult to plug in the kettle as there was no plug adjacent to the desk and a very short cable on the kettle. Had to balance the tray on the suitcase support. No shelf by the bed for water or books. No towel rail next to the basin and no shelf to put cosmetic bag. The shower leaked badly where it met the wall and, with the gap in the screen sealer, water puddled all over the floor. Reported the problem to reception so hopefully this will be sorted out. All staff were kind, courteous and friendly.

Reviewed by
D Eckert

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night in Windsor
The room, whilst very nice, spacious and well appointed, was extremely hot. The windows only open about 6 inches and afford very little in the way of ventilation (I did not stay during the heat wave of July - goodness knows what it must have been like then!). The electric fan that was provided did a sterling job, but even leaving it on all night didn't make much difference.
The bathroom sink was cracked - a repair had been attempted - but still meant that water leaked onto the floor when you filled it!!

Reviewed by
Chris H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, unfortunately no parking on site but there are plenty of local chargeable car parks nearby. Staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, enjoyed my stay!

Reviewed by
d watson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not book online for this hotel - initial payment £164 double room 2 nights no breakfast
My partner and I arrived at the hotel after a three hour journey and we were extremely disappointed with the hotel room reserved for us. The hotel staff appeared a little apprehensive when we booked in and it soon became apparent why. We were then told the lift was out of action, taken out of the front of the hotel through the delivery/staff entrance past the kitchens into the rear of the hotel to a room which was dark, damp and quite frankly disgusting. We paid an extra £100 for an upgrade and were given a much nicer room with a view of Windsor Castle.

Reviewed by
C Williams

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next