Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Slough > New Windsor Hotels > The Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa in Windsor
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa in Windsor

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
31 High Street , Windsor, SL4 1PQ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Formed from two 14th-century inns, The Harte & Garter sits directly opposite the historic Windsor Castle in Windsor town centre. The property boasts free WiFi and a luxury health spa.

Featuring many original Victorian features, the hotel offers elegant bedrooms with high ceilings and satellite flat-screen TVs. Each room has a luxurious private bathroom and some rooms enjoy stunning views of the castle.
There are 79 bedrooms within the main building and 19 in the townhouse, Goswell House, which is located to the back of the building and has its own separate entrance a short walk from the main hotel.

The Tower Brasserie and Tea Room serves afternoon teas and British classics using seasonal, locally sourced produce. Guests may also sample one of the hotel's fine wines from their extensive range.

Stable Spa has a selection of relaxing treatments. The experience of the Thermal Spa can be followed by unwinding in the post-treatment 4 Senses Loungers, the first of their kind in a UK hotel spa.

The Harte & Garter Hotel is conveniently located for Windsor's shops and restaurants. The River Thames is just a 5-minute walk away.
Picture of The Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa in Windsor, Windsor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 104 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

prime locastion
I chose the hotel for the location and proximity to station and stops for local leisure resort, for ease of manoeuvrability with 6 year old in tow. I was really pleased with the location right opposite the Windsor Castle and my 6 year old was equally Impressed. The family room was a clean, well-presented and a reasonable size. good range of choice for breakfast with additional help from lovely staff to meet the needs of children. Beautiful airy breakfast dining area was a very pleasant addition. enabling relaxed eating and planning for the day.

Reviewed by
c nuttall

From PRESTON, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent stay
We stayed at this hotel with our 3 year old son before we went to Legoland it was in an excellent central location.

Reviewed by
H Hancock

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fabulous experience
Having booked this hotel last minute at a bargain price my expectations of the room were not high. Upon check in we were given room 210. Huge room, lovely big bathroom and a view to die for, Windsor castle in all it's glory. impressed is an understatement.

Reviewed by
Mark Lillie

From USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff wonderful, rear rooms not for the faint hearted
the quality of the staff cannot be faulted, helpful, cheery and attentive. however, while the rooms to the high street have views of Windsor Castle the rear rooms have views of service equipment and hipped roofs. I was allocated a room to the rear, first impressions slightly musty damp smell although clean and spacious. It is only a hotel room and my only intention was to use it for sleeping. I was disappointed if sleep was what was being sought. The noise from the aforementioned service equipment could only be described as being next to a jet engine. Two nights, no sleep.
The location of this hotel is fantastic, the staff are fantastic, if you want quiet relaxing slumber better off at terminal five in a tent next to the runway or ensure you get a room to the front of the hotel.

Reviewed by
graham h

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed our stay, but was a shame house keeping wanted to clean our room at 8.10am

Reviewed by
Tracy S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break in windsor
the hotel is in a prime position for getting about in the town it is very clean and child friendley

Reviewed by
S BOTHAM

From HIGH PEAK, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spa is closed on Mondays
On Mondays the Spa is closed due to cleaning, which was disappointing as one of the main reasons we have booked this Late Rooms hotel was because of the interesting looking Spa. If we'd know we wouldn't have booked. Also there is no car park and had to park in one of the Car parks and it clocked up quite an amount to park overnight.

Reviewed by
Jennie Craven

From Hook, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Lovely room and all staff we met were friendly & helpful
Couldnt fault it.

Reviewed by
Annie D

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overpriced!
Customerservice was excellent. Our first room was tiny and next to the staircas and above the staff rear entrance so was really noisy. After a sleepless first night we were moved to a better sized room but were still above the staff entrance so was awoken very early. Very little sleep was had by either of us. The hotel is also advertised as a spa. Not only is the spa down an alley amd what appears to be a storage area you also hsve to pay £15 pp per day! considering this and the room size and quality I am appalled and quite angry at the price charged!

Reviewed by
richard g

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable , Convenient and Friendly
We took a weekend train trip so the location of the Harte and Garter couldn't have been more perfect. Our room was beautiful and quiet with air conditioning and the bed was sensational.. We didn't eat in at all but the dining room looked elegant and the meals we saw looked very nice. Would highly recommend this place for location..

Reviewed by
M C

From England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next