Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Slough > New Windsor Hotels > The Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa in Windsor
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa in Windsor

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
31 High Street , Windsor, SL4 1PQ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Formed from two 14th-century inns, The Harte & Garter sits directly opposite the historic Windsor Castle in Windsor town centre. The property boasts free WiFi and a luxury health spa.

Featuring many original Victorian features, the hotel offers elegant bedrooms with high ceilings and satellite flat-screen TVs. Each room has a luxurious private bathroom and some rooms enjoy stunning views of the castle.
There are 79 bedrooms within the main building and 19 in the townhouse, Goswell House, which is located to the back of the building and has its own separate entrance a short walk from the main hotel.

The Tower Brasserie and Tea Room serves afternoon teas and British classics using seasonal, locally sourced produce. Guests may also sample one of the hotel's fine wines from their extensive range.

Stable Spa has a selection of relaxing treatments. The experience of the Thermal Spa can be followed by unwinding in the post-treatment 4 Senses Loungers, the first of their kind in a UK hotel spa.

The Harte & Garter Hotel is conveniently located for Windsor's shops and restaurants. The River Thames is just a 5-minute walk away.
Picture of The Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa in Windsor, Windsor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 102 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel in brilliant location for the castle and the rest of Windsor and Eton. Would certainly sta again

Reviewed by
anthony c

From UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good hotel, cute room and excellent view to Windsor Castle
I' veI chosen this hotel for go to Legoland with my 6 year old son and it was a little bit far from resort, but for staying in Windsor it's perfect.

Reviewed by
larisa s

From Russia
Who stayed in October 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent service very helpful
cheapest car park is the romney car park next to the train station, bit of a walk but worth as only 6.50 for 24 hrs stay!

Reviewed by
martin watson

From Hartlepool, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Front facing room 107 thought at one stage our bed was in the middle of a night club this was 4am
Really disappointed had a brilliant day at the races and then we all went out in windsor booked 4 rooms altogether everyone else rooms were fine and large double rooms our room was small and faced the castle the toilet didnt flush and the noise at night was awful people shouting in the street we thought our bed had been transferred to a night club at one point very tiried the next morning I have emailed the hotel direct with my comments..

Reviewed by
z priestley

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No better location in Windsor!
The room we had was on the corner with four huge windows overlooking the castle - couldn't have wished for a better room - it was spacious, clean and well appointed. The bathroom was very large with good quality fittings and was spotlessly clean.
The check-in wasn't as great as you would expect in a hotel of this standard - they were talking amongst themselves and had to ask us for our name twice as they were distracted with their own conversation (albeit about hotel business but still a little rude!) They didn't ask whether we wanted to pre-authorise a card at check-in so we were unable to get a drink in the bar after 11pm as they don't take cash after 11pm - their loss!
Overall a great hotel, in a brilliant location!

Reviewed by
Faye L

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we enjoyed our stay. The location of the hotel was perfect, staff very friendly and helpful
as I have mobility problems I had a room to suit my needs. The only negative was the plumbing was rather noisy and the shower head was not removeable

Reviewed by
helen h

From Rugby, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location & reception very helpful

Reviewed by
M Parker

From Whitstable, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service, excellent location

Reviewed by
Debra T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2012

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Break away
I travelled to Windsor with my sister and her daughter for a concert. We had a family room. It was beautiful and clean. Breakfast was great as was afternoon tea. Already planning my next visit.

Reviewed by
A Humphreys

From Wigan, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family picnic package
hotel excellent location opposite windsor castle lovely room with view of castle. Breakfast vast choice of cooked continental juices fruit etc.
staff very helpful friendly nothing too much trouble

Reviewed by
david cox

From bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2012

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next