Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Slough > New Windsor Hotels > The Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa in Windsor
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa in Windsor

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
31 High Street , Windsor, SL4 1PQ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa sits directly opposite historic of Windsor Castle and enjoys the finest location in Windsor Town Centre.

Originally two 14th Century coaching inns, the Hotel has maintained many of the original features with modern comforts added. Each room has complementing high ceilings, Victorian features with modern satellite flat-screen TVs and its own luxurious private bathroom.

The Harte and Garter comprises of 79 bedrooms in the Main Building and 19 bedrooms in the Townhouse - Goswell House, which is located towards the back of the building, a few moments' walk from reception.

Some rooms offering stunning views of Windsor Castle and 7 elegant meeting rooms providing a unique venue for private events for up to 260 delegates, including our exquisitely restored Ballroom providing a charming setting for your special day. Overall presenting a fantastic combination of both luxurious classical styles with, modern facilities, including complimentary Wifi throughout the Hotel.

Enjoy simple and seasonal British classics in the Tower Brasserie & Tea Room, or indulge in a shameless celebration of the English institution of afternoon tea!The Stables Spa at The Harte & Garter delivers a world of calm, allowing you time to lose yourself in luxurious surroundings, giving you a perfect excuse to relax and unwind at the end of a long day!
Picture of The Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa in Windsor, Windsor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 111 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service, excellent location

Reviewed by
Debra T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2012

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Break away
I travelled to Windsor with my sister and her daughter for a concert. We had a family room. It was beautiful and clean. Breakfast was great as was afternoon tea. Already planning my next visit.

Reviewed by
A Humphreys

From Wigan, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family picnic package
hotel excellent location opposite windsor castle lovely room with view of castle. Breakfast vast choice of cooked continental juices fruit etc.
staff very helpful friendly nothing too much trouble

Reviewed by
david cox

From bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very very good stay again
Fantastic view over looking castle clean and smart I would definitely stay again and recommend you as a place to stay

Reviewed by
R Matthews

From Welshpool, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent views of castle but noisy at 2am
Excellent views of the castle. Clean, tidy and contemporary. Breakfast was ok. Very friendly and excellent customer service. Fantastic welcome from reception staff. However a real let down was the very noisy delivery van at 2am outside the front of the hotel and our room. Our young daughter woke up on both nights and we found it very difficult to get her back to sleep.

Reviewed by
Christine O

From Ely, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent experience! customer service a little poor but free wine was offered to compensate!

Reviewed by
Katharine Jackson

From London, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Double booked, busy and hot!
Came to the hotel for a birthday weekend, we booked a month in advance but less than 48hrs before we where due to arrive the general manager called and tried move us to another hotel as his was fully booked. The alternative was a B&B in Eton and not in any way similar. We refused and after much pushing they agreed to reinstate our room (Leanne you where the only one that was helpful!) When we finally got there, the room wasn't ready and we had go back to reception to inform them, there was no air conditioning and the rooms at the front were very noisy due to the location. All in all it was the first and last time I would stay there - go to the Christopher Wren instead - great service, location and facilities.

Reviewed by
sara s

From Esher, UK
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel review
Hotel was lovely, great location, right in town with a great selection of restaurants to choose from, the rooms are well decorated and very spacious, bathrooms great, now for the comedown, the sink in the bathroom really was slow drain the water out of the plughole, causing soap scum round the bowl, thought the cleaner would disinfect and clean it but did not, bit gross. Also pretty obvious previous people had been smoking in the room, there was all fag ash on window bottom and curtains stunk. Parking was nightmare, after driving on motorway for 3 hours arrived at 2.30 drove round town for another hour to find car park space every car park was full, but please do park at the riverside train station it is so much cheaper than other places, it cost us £15 for 3 days and just round corner from hotel

Reviewed by
Sarah L

From Huthwaite, Sutton in ashfield , England
Who stayed in August 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Summer break in Windsor 2012
The hotel was in an excellent location, opposite Windsor Castle and adjacent to the train station - but no noise issues. A well executed mix of contemporary styling within the facade of 2 beautiful former historic inns. From a warm welcome in Reception to a friendly and courteous breakfast, with stunning view and ambience. A large well equipped room was our welcome 'home' for 2 nights - only issue was no air con and bedroom fan was noisy option. Highly recommend for both accommodation, value and top location - with beautiful riverside walks and high end shopping all close by. Only shame was we never had enough time on our Windsor and Legoland break to enjoy the hotel spa...maybe next time!

Reviewed by
L Humphreys

From Darlington, England
Who stayed in August 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a fabulous time!!!
The staff were extremely friendly and really helpful. The team behind the reception desk when we arrived were second to none, they helped sort out a beautiful room for us and offered help & advice on activities we may like to do. The room was elegant and everything we could have needed was available to us. Linen was soft & welcoming, air-conditioning made the room temperature perfect & the room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious, hot & tasty & waiting staff were very friendly. We ate looking out over the picturesque Windsor Castle, we couldn't have wished for more & would recommend anyone to stay at this luxurious hotel. It's city centre location was ideal for shopping, restaurants & bars, not to mention the sightseeing! The only small problem was the lack of car parking available but a safe car park was within a stones throw of the hotel and directions given by the hotel took us straight there and we had no problems parking for £3.50 overnight (a small price to pay for such a wonderful hotel). Thank you Harte & Garter.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth O

From England
Who stayed in August 2012

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next