The Wellington Arms Hotel

3

Stratfield Turgis, Basingstoke, RG27 0AS

Price From 145.97 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (90)

91% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • P Jennings

  • March 2015

Great Food and reasonably good accommodation

Amazing food including freshly cooked English breakfast.

Rooms where clean although a little dated.

  • C Gibbon

  • March 2015

a little gem in Hampshire

You won't be disappointed if you stay at The Wellington.

Excellent service and good value for money. Be sure to sample some of the Honey at breakfast from the Duke of Wellington's estate.

  • Robert H

  • March 2015

Mostly excellent with a few hiccups

Stayed here for a wedding which was held at nearby Highfield Park.

Overall my experience was very good but a few elements meant it wasn't excellent. Good points:

- Price - I paid £70 for a double room on a Saturday evening including a lovely breakfast, which was cooked to order (no buffet with food being kept warm under lights!)

- Room was good size with comfortable bed and didn't experience any noise issues from adjacent rooms

- Service was excellent - I called to ask if we could check-in a couple of hours early to get ready for the wedding and they dealt with it really well. They even greeted me by name when I arrived as they knew I was coming early. Not quite as good points:

- Room was a bit tired - mould on wooden window frame, a few cobwebs in ceiling corners and the cold tap ran boiling (and I mean boiling!) hot for at least 60 seconds before it finally went cold. Overall would recommend it as a few rough edges are to be expected for £70 inc. breakfast.

  • r field

  • March 2015

GOOD VALUE B&B IF ON A DEAL

The location is good, the breakfast great, the room was clean but very tired, paper coming off walls and marks on walls, needed painting, furniture tired looking, curtains and arm chair badly faded from the sun, plumbing was a bit to be desired, had to run the cold water tap on when flushing the toilet to stop the pipes from banging, beware that there is no hand rail to hold in the bathroom when getting in and out of shower over the bath, nearly had a nasty accident, but luckily got away with a badly bruised knee and leg, would not have called the room superior as advertised, so would not like to have seen what the standard rooms look like.

Is saying all that this is a good comfortable and value for money B&B when on a deal, ie: 2 nights for 2 B&B £70 but would not pay full price.

  • Sara O

  • February 2015

Perfect anniversary

We stayed on 20th February for two nights celebrating our wedding anniversary.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The atmosphere was warm and friendly, thanks to the attentive staff and management. The bedrooms were comfortable and quaint. The restaurant excellent with roaring log fires and delicious food- the homemade burger was the best we have ever had. The beef was superb. Breakfasts were excellent providing lots of choice. All freshly cooked and served with a smile. We will be going back.

  • John H

  • January 2015

Couldn't fault it!

A brilliant stay; everything was just as we would have expected and it made a relaxing break.

  • Maureen Greenaway

  • December 2014

Excellent Hotel staff are very helpful would recommend to anyone who appreciates quality

  • david b

  • December 2014

Weekend Break

Excellent

  • P clark

  • November 2014

Excellent stay and service

  • Stephen M

  • November 2014

Great value for money

Nice room, good breakfast and friendly staff