No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Little Hallingbury Mill

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Old Mill Lane, Gaston Green, Bishops Stortford, CM22 7QT
Welcome to Little Hallingbury Mill Hotel and Restaurant situated on the Essex/Hertfordshire border close to Bishop’s Stortford and Sawbridgeworth. We are a small, independent family run hotel who take great pride in delivering friendly service, food and hospitality from the heart. Set alongside a pretty tributary of the River Stort, Little Hallingbury Mill is a grade II historic listed water mill providing a home to a hotel, restaurant and venue for small conferences, small weddings and parties.

When you reach the Mill you will find a venue set in a beautiful, tranquil location which feels miles away from it all. There is plenty to do during your stay. You can cycle along the Flitch Way, take a leisurely stroll along the River Stort towpath or just relax in our pretty garden or accommodation. We offer free Wifi, free parking for the duration of your stay and also welcome well behaved dogs in our garden.
Picture of Little Hallingbury Mill, Bishops Stortford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hosts, lovely place !
Great hosts, I was made to feel very welcome, my room wasn't so spacious and the shower / toilet was really small. However, the shower itself was powerful and really hot - loved it. The towels and bed linen smelt lovely...really fresh. Overall this was great value and super service.

Reviewed by
A Newell

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite a find!
Room was fine, Food was very good too. The two lads working in the evenings (the chef and the barman) were friendly, accommodating and a level above what you find in most places. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Chris G

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a jewel of a place
I really enjoyed my 'solo' retreat' to Little Hallingbury Mill. The proprietor was very hospitable. the food was lovely and the room comfortable

Reviewed by
karen o

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Miranda and Richard made us feel so welcome. Loved the quirky bathroom. Will definitely go back again. Food was good. Richard does a lovely breakfast.

Reviewed by
L Hyde

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Place of character
We had a very nice meal but the room was basic - no wardrobe, no chairs and the single bed mattress was on a base that felt like a rocking horse!

Reviewed by
Sue K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hallingbury Mill
Great location Great value and truly excellent customer service
Thoroughly recommended

Reviewed by
A Thorne

From Wallington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay away close to Stansted Airport
This is the second time i stayed here. The location is very relaxing, needs a car or taxi though to access. Room small but clean. Strange musty smell in the entrance of the accomm building which i'm sure they will sort out. A would have loved a chair squeezed in a corner, but maybe the bigger rooms have that. Nice hand cooked food and a pint in the pub/restaurant mill building.

Reviewed by
C FORRESTER

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place to stay
Just been taken over and you can see the difference. rooms are being upgraded and décor is lovely

Reviewed by
P Lang

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room but a little tight,nice view from room.would definitely stay next time I am in the area.

Reviewed by
Modris Kesans

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The location is beautiful and the owners are very friendly - they have only been there since February this year the room was a bit jaded but was big - bathroom quite tiny - The owners have plans to re furbish and I think it will be really stunning when done -

Reviewed by
e rudge

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next