No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Little Hallingbury Mill

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Old Mill Lane, Gaston Green, Bishops Stortford, CM22 7QT
Welcome to Little Hallingbury Mill Hotel and Restaurant situated on the Essex/Hertfordshire border close to Bishop’s Stortford and Sawbridgeworth. We are a small, independent family run hotel who take great pride in delivering friendly service, food and hospitality from the heart. Set alongside a pretty tributary of the River Stort, Little Hallingbury Mill is a grade II historic listed water mill providing a home to a hotel, restaurant and venue for small conferences, small weddings and parties.

When you reach the Mill you will find a venue set in a beautiful, tranquil location which feels miles away from it all. There is plenty to do during your stay. You can cycle along the Flitch Way, take a leisurely stroll along the River Stort towpath or just relax in our pretty garden or accommodation. We offer free Wifi, free parking for the duration of your stay and also welcome well behaved dogs in our garden.
Picture of Little Hallingbury Mill, Bishops Stortford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty place but cold
Very pretty place and great customer service. Room was very small but okay for what we wanted. Room was cold but heater provided. 'Pod' bathroom was like a freezer and even smaller than expected! Despite all this we did enjoy our stay

Reviewed by
Lynne G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel
Gorgeous hotel, really friendly staff and very close to Stansted Airport; perfect!

Reviewed by
David S

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem hidden away
We booked Little Hallinbury Mill for three nights as we were attending a wedding in the area. Our welcome from Derrick was most warm after a long journey we enjoyed a nice cup of tea and Derrick brought us a plate of biscuits. After some rest we enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant which was cosy and relaxing. On Saturday we attended the family wedding and spent Sunday in Cambridge. We were sorry to leave the cosy little gem with excellent staff and good food

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Omagh, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thumbs up!
Was a really nice out-of-the-way get away! Very nice homely feel to it, yet, it wasn't too far out that a venture in to town for something to eat was laborious! Staff were very helpful and friendly, and I would definitely recommend to anybody!

Reviewed by
Jamie M

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place, lovely people, excellent value.
My brother and I missed a flight and booked a room very last minute. The staff were lovely, as was theroom and the locale. The room was clean and although a little dated in its decor was mostly comfortable. One of the bunk beds had a mattress where you could feel the springs but other than that our stay was lovely.
The food and restaurant are great, proper delicious pub food of a high quality and the breakfast is great value and delicious.

Reviewed by
E Worrell

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean room lovely surrounding , highly recommend this hotel

Reviewed by
K Adams

From , UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

-
-

Reviewed by
Simon S

From England
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really enjoyed my stay would stay again

Reviewed by
A W

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

place to stay near Stansted!
Peaceful place right near the airport - great find!

Reviewed by
G Gorst

From Milano, Italy
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little gem in the sticks
nice large clean room with en-suite. When the sat nav says you have arrived - keep going until the end of the track, it is in a fantastic location close to but away from everywhere! We did not stop for an evening meal as we came down to be at an evening dinner event, however we did have a full English breakfast which was fantastic, hot plate, hot food, with a choice of what you want. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Will definitely come back, especially when flying from Stanstead. observations the room could do with more plug sockets being available for guest use and there was no heating in the en-suite.

Reviewed by
Derek B

From Willenhall, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next