No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Little Hallingbury Mill

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Old Mill Lane, Gaston Green, Bishops Stortford, CM22 7QT
Welcome to Little Hallingbury Mill Hotel and Restaurant situated on the Essex/Hertfordshire border close to Bishop’s Stortford and Sawbridgeworth. We are a small, independent family run hotel who take great pride in delivering friendly service, food and hospitality from the heart. Set alongside a pretty tributary of the River Stort, Little Hallingbury Mill is a grade II historic listed water mill providing a home to a hotel, restaurant and venue for small conferences, small weddings and parties.

When you reach the Mill you will find a venue set in a beautiful, tranquil location which feels miles away from it all. There is plenty to do during your stay. You can cycle along the Flitch Way, take a leisurely stroll along the River Stort towpath or just relax in our pretty garden or accommodation. We offer free Wifi, free parking for the duration of your stay and also welcome well behaved dogs in our garden.
Picture of Little Hallingbury Mill, Bishops Stortford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

peaceful,unique get-away
tranquil setting,and unusual property.host very helpful and friendly. room we had was large in the Mill house,and was very comfortable. only complaint was the scampi was over done, but large portions, and the pate was lovely.

Reviewed by
karen lake

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here prior to an early Stansted flight!
Lovely looking property off the beaten track! Reception is in the bar / restaurant which is very cosy and welcoming. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room itself had a comfortable double bed and TV with Freeview. Also had tea and coffee making facilities. Toilet and shower was rather small but as I was just using it for a few hours sleep prior to a very early flight at Stansted, it was no problem. I would stay here again under the same circumstances.

Reviewed by
Laura B

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Had a lovely stay, staff friendly, food was gorgeous and rooms where cosy, will defiantly go back

Reviewed by
Kevin Damps

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poorly signposted.
Not very clean.
Tea & Coffee facilities (Milk 2 months out of date)
Toilet & Bathroom to small for a shower, similar to a small caravan.
Not comfortable.

Reviewed by
T Starling

From , UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful setting
Joiner & Painter two separate rooms, spot on for what we needed with a little more. Nice room, quaint setting, decent pint, food average. Close enough to where we were working although very secluded generally. Nearest pub about a mile walk. Not great for elderly or those that aren't too fit, lots of stairs & hill leading to main road very steep. I was fine, but hey you know painters lol

Reviewed by
mark c

From Wallsend, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was basic but clean. Comfortable beds. Food was excellent and the staff was terrific.
The atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly. Lovely surroundings. The meals were excellent.
I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
R Simmons

From Mississauga, Canada
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An oasis
A great base for those wanting a view of the countryside and clean air. Fantastic scenery and walks along the Stort. Great bar and food with attentive and friendly staff. If you are curious and want something quirky and different then try it!

Reviewed by
Mark S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for overnight stay
Although, the rooms and decor are looking a bit tired and dated it is value for money and very close to Stanstead which may be useful for those needing the airport. We don't know why we were the only guests although we were told Sunday can be quiet. We only ate breakfast here which was fairly typical but ok. The best bit about the mill is it's location, very near the River Stour and it was lovely to walk along the river before breakfast. The mill is down a quiet lane and although air traffic is noticeable during the day we weren't woken by it.

Reviewed by
Eva M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Picturesque location.
I travelled down from Lancs with my wife and our 3 year old. We were given a warm welcome and showed to our room. It was lovely and clean if in need of an update. You must remember though that this is not travelodge and this is part of its charm. The food is excellent and the waiter/barman couldn't do enough for our little boy. The childrens menu is also very good. I had the slow roasted pork belly and it was lovely. My wife had the smoked haddock fishcakes and polished off the lot. Rooms are cosy but warm in the summer as there is no air con. You can always open a window though. We would definitely stay there again, and can highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Sean H

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little country inn
Lovely Place , good service food.
Chill out with a beer in the garden next to canal.
Will go back.

Reviewed by
Brian Nicholls

From Leigh, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next