Reviews - Little Hallingbury Mill

3

Old Mill Lane, Gaston Green, Bishops Stortford, CM22 7QT

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (48)

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Paul G

  • February 2014

Peace and tranquility

I really enjoyed my stay at Little Hallingbury Mill.

Although My first room had a slight problem (No hot water) with it this was promptly remedied by an alternative room being allocated. The staff were all very helpful.

  • Paul G

  • February 2014

Tranquility

Once again I had a very enjoyable stay at Little Hallingbury Mill.

Although I was a bit wary of being allocated the same room as the week before I was pleased to find that the problem with the room had been resolved and there was plenty of hot water. As usual the staff were very friendly and helpful. I will definitely be staying here again .

  • e brock

  • January 2014

excellent services, very friendly.

  • s pereira

  • December 2013

Stop over before meeting.

The Mill is off the beaten track and down by the Marina, It is in a remote area with no facilities in area which are walkable, plenty of parking space, the building has two parts to it , Reception in main Mill area which has bar and restaurant .

The stairs up to room are quite steep and if on top floor there are 3 flites, could be a issue for people with difficulties. The breakfast room is on second floor also, the bar area is ok and does have a selection of locals from area and staff from Mill ( one person was very appiniated on race issues , and made us very uncomfortable.) Bar prices well London !!!. did feel that we were pressured on ordering our food as not many guests eating. The food was to a good standard but had little choice for price . Room was ok in size with traditional features of Mill in room, The issue I had was that it was cold and the heating was not on in winter, the shower and toilet area was really small . You could sit on toilet and you were in shower , you could wash your elbow in shower and other one in sink at same time. The toilet area was just one big shower tray with a toilet and basin, would be unsuitable for a larger person, had comp toiletries . The shower in morning had luke warm water also. Its a hotel with good features and is in a good location if your visiting London for business, just felt that it needs to sort out the following issues above and it would have a great hotel, get the heating on in winter !!.

  • Carolyn V

  • December 2013

A lovely stay

We stayed for two nights.

A beautiful setting,a nice room with narrow boats just under the window...bliss. I would have given full marks if the bed had been more comfortable. The springs were quite prominent!

  • Andy R

  • November 2013

Very pleasant stay

Little Hallingbury Mill is in new ownership.

I think the previous manager let it run down. The new guy is pleasant and keen. Rooms are OK, food is typical bar fayre, beer was excellent. I stayed on a cold winter night but it would be a superb location in summer, right next to the river. Would I stay again. Yes, but others are better for the money.

  • G Pinch

  • November 2013

Late, Late Booking - Made to feel very welcome

A change in work plan required me to stay close to Bishops Stortford for the night.

I booked at 7.00pm and arrived at 8.45pm. Held kitchen open and made me feel welcome. Lots of stairs and room small but for a nights sleep absolutely perfect. Location is picturesque and very quiet.

  • ANDREW HODGSON

  • November 2013

A short break

A real little gem with very friendly staff throughout.

  • brett r

  • November 2013

Lovely Peaceful Country Place with great food

The mill, is a lovely character property and a nice place to stay its right out in the countryside so nice views, etc on a river and very peaceful, staff/owners very friendly and welcoming, nice bar and excellent food, thier chef is great couldn't get enough of his food, the diet went on hold all weekend.

Nice clean rooms, with everything you need, tv, free WiFi, etc. Other guests I chatted to were equally happy with the place and some had stayed there before. I will certainly visit again and highly recommend it!

  • karen lake

  • November 2013

peaceful,unique get-away

tranquil setting,and unusual property.host very helpful and friendly.

room we had was large in the Mill house,and was very comfortable. only complaint was the scampi was over done, but large portions, and the pate was lovely.