No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Aylesbray Lodge

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
5 Mowbray Road , Cambridge, CB1 7SR
For a Comfortable & Luxurious stay Aylesbray Lodge Guest House offers clean, comfortable, spacious en-suit and non en-suit rooms. We offer a warm & friendly atmosphere with superb full English breakfasts that only a family run Guest House can offer. Their is a choice of 4 Poster Beds, Double en-suit, Family rooms and Single rooms with shared bathrooms. All rooms include: Tea and Coffee making facilities, Alarm, Hairdryer, Free wireless internet in all the rooms and Free off Road Parking. The Aylesbray Lodge is non-smoking throughout.

Picture of Aylesbray Lodge, Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't be more helpful
The staff and management couldn't be more friendly and helpful. I have a bad back though and I found the bed uncomfortable and the toilet a bit confined, but when I told the manager that I was disabled he went to a lot of trouble to find us a room on the ground floor.

Reviewed by
R Harvey

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty, disgusting and dated
I stay away from home a lot for work but I have never slept anywhere as disgusting as this!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I apologise that the room did not meet your expectations. You booked Budget Room as shown below with a shared bathroom and not one of my en-suit rooms. "Single basic room .SHARED BATHROOM. ROOM ONLY option. Free parking & Wi-Fi.a budget room with a shared bathroom" You booked this room for one night on one of the busiest graduation days when the whole of Cambridge was full with families attending the graduation and presumably you were intending to book something different if there was availability. The room does what it says on the tin. Our opinions differ and can I only confirm that all the rooms at my guest house are made spotless every morning after being cleaned and that the all rooms are serviced daily. You had to share a bathroom with two other guests which when we clean it in the morning we make it spotless. We don't control how clean the other guests leave the bathroom during the rest of the day and night for the other guests after they have used it. For that I apologise. The Manager

Reviewed by
Damien S

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable location and convenient and clean but compact, noisy and out of date.
We booked late for a last minute event. The hotel is easily accessed from the Cambridge inner ring road on which it sits but its not that close to the city centre.. The manager was welcoming and efficient, and clearly the hotel is a family run business with minimal staff. The room we had was best described as a compact double with a similarly compact shower ensuite. There was a ridiculous four poster bed in the room, the posts and trimmings causing a real feeling of lack of space and obstructions to knock into. Such beds in these compact bedrooms are a nonsense and of no value except in making the room feel cramped and too small.. The décor was at best 1980s and floral - the room is long overdue a redecorate to meet modern minimalist and "clean line" expectations. Everything appeared well cleaned however. We had a road front bedroom and the traffic could be heard easily when around, especially as a window had to be open to provide some air circulation to prevent overheating and stuffiness. The inter bedroom walls were obviously thin, and noise from other rooms and door closing transmitted through easily. The dining room looked as though it had been redecorated recently including a laminate floor but the effect was destroyed by the elderly mahogany style dining furniture and doors that remained. The breakfast menu was reasonable and the home cooking acceptable and edible. No continental cold meat and cheese and fresh fruit style was available though. The patron was however attentive and polite and helpful. This business would be much believe if it was modernised. I would stay again if no other place was available at the price - it is verging on poor value for money given the issues and the availability of much better bedrooms at similar or slightly higher prices.

Reviewed by
david s

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very convenient for addenbrookes
Excellent owners, very pleasant. BB is very clean although outdated and bathrooms are a little off putting although you can tell they have been thoroughly cleaned.

Reviewed by
Silvana A

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK but rather noisy
We had a standard twin room which shared bathroom, the room was OK if a little dated, but was very noisy, we could hear anyone coming in and out of the other rooms or using the bathroom, and the guests above banging on the doors. The mattresses on the beds were very old and not really all that comfortable.

Reviewed by
Matthew P

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cambridge
Very small room. Bathroom also very small. Bathroom cleaned OK every day also the towels canged OK. No or bad vacuum cleaning of the floor in the room during the week. No change of bed clothes during the stay.
Good and very polite staff.
Breakfast OK. But dont expect that it is available every day because it is not unless you have an agreement about it the day before.

Reviewed by
Edgar K

From Norway, Norway
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely owners
Was travelling on my own for an interview and had originally booked a shared bathroom but the owner upgraded me for free to an en suite. Lovely customer service. Nice, quaint room

Reviewed by
S Harper

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Should have been better for the price
The staff was very friendly and the bed was suitable. There where also nice clean towels.
The walls where very thin. It looked like they and taken a very large room and put up temporary walls to create the rooms. The people in the room next to me where smoking weed and talking all night, it felt as if they where sitting at the end of my bed.
The bathroom was clean, but stained from heavy use. If I was paying half the price I would say I got what I paid for.

Reviewed by
Jason S

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2night stay
Incredibly friendly, plenty of parking with easy access to town and major roads and public transport.

Reviewed by
Lauren K

From , UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very helpful friendly staff, softer mattress and cleaner floor would be appreciated
accomodation a bit far from the city centre but close to a bus stop.
The room was ok but clearly not as it appeared on the photos.

Reviewed by
frederic l

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next