No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Abbeyfield Guesthouse

2Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
2 Rustat Road , Cambridge, CB1 3QT
Affordable Accommodation on a room only basis(NO BREAKFAST and shared bathrooms), from £25-00 per night, in a very clean, spacious, comfortable house located in a quiet residential street near the Cambridge Leisure centre, just a few minutes walk from the Rail station, and the historic City Centre. Ideal location for easy access to the Colleges, Addenbrookes hospital, M11 and A14. All Rooms have colour TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Free parking and free wireless internet access throughout the house.

Please note that we use the credit card to secure the room. On arrival, we would expect you to pay us in cash please or by cheque with a cheque guarantee card.

Since we do not have permanent reception staff at the guest house, we would be grateful if you could call us 10 to 15 minutes before your arrival at the Guest house

CONDITIONS OF BOOKING
Credit cards are used to secure the room only. Payments are by cheque or cash on arrival. There is no permanent reception staff please call us 15 minutes prior to arrival to have someone meet you at the guest house.

Cancellation: If cancelled up to three days before arrival , 50 percent of all nights will be charged. If it is cancelled later on in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. For group bookings (2 rooms or more), our cancellation policy is one week’s notice prior to the day of arrival.For group bookings, (more than 1 room) our cancellation policy is one week’s notice before the day of arrival.
Picture of Abbeyfield Guesthouse, Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
45% recommended this accommodation to a friend 48% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic
Room was basic, but enough if you just want somewhere to get your head down for the night and don't want any frills. Room I had was adjacent to a dining area and was noisy when some of the other residents returned and brought supper in the shape of a Chinese meal with them!!

Reviewed by
Stuart S

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sabena!
We were given a clean twin-bed room upstairs with an adjacent bathroom. The area is quiet residential. One of the beds had an uncomfortable mattress. The bathroom was clean but there was no shower. So far so good!
Downstairs was quite different. The bathroom (with the only shower) was in a very poor state, with a really dirty bath. The common room had unwashed plates etc on the table and was very uninviting. We believe that one occupant was perhaps semi-permanent and was mainly responsible for the mess. We suggest the proprietor take steps to improve the situation, or he will just not get customers.
We were not able to book the rooms using a credit card, but had to pay the proprietor in cash. This was inconvenient and we did not buy his explanation as to why the situation was such.
Considering the distance from the centre of the town, the lack of breakfast and the abovementioned deficiencies, the value for money was poor and we would not recommend this accommodation

Reviewed by
Robin K

From Finland
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too expensive for the being unattended
I had to wait for an hour because there was nobody in the house. After the check in I didn't see anybody else from the staff. The bathroom and the room was dirty. I would have payed 5 pounds for these conditions, not 40.

ManagementResponse

Dear Sir, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to see that you did not bother to read the instructions on your booking. I have guests that come from Monday to Friday for months at a time and they are VERY happy. Sometimes when there is massive exhibition in Cambridge and the are NO free rooms anywhere. I get by accident people for one night when the guesthouse is completely full who would like to express their opinion. We welcome the feedback but when this is done it should be fair and not untruth. This the information you have before during and after you made the reservation. If you followed the information you did not have to wait. "Can I please ask what time approximately you are hoping to arrive at the guest house, this is very important because we do not have a full time reception and we work around the arrival times of our guests. Also we would be grateful if you could call us 10 to 15 minutes before your arrival at the guest house as this would help to make sure someone can be there to receive you. Please note that 10pm is the latest check in, later check in has to be agreed by prior arrangement". You booked “Single room with tea and coffee making facilities. No Breakfast included. FREE WIFI.SHARED BATHROOM". You chose accommodation with shared bathrooms. At one o’clock on the afternoon when we finish cleaning the whole house the bathrooms are spotless. As soon as guests start using them I cannot guarantee that they will leave them in a spotless condition for the next guest use. May be in Spain you can get a room for £5-00 but not so here in Cambridge. For the £40-00 you were given two rooms. One was the kitchenette with your FREE tea and coffee are and one as you bedroom. That money you paid has to pay for the clean towels soap pillows plus the salary of the cleaning staff commission charges to LateRooms plus to pay for the free WIF and for the electric gas you used. I am very disappointed with your comments. The Manager

Reviewed by
A Lloret i Villas

From Granollers, Spain
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for

I was looking for somewhere to put my head down for the night and that is exactly what I got. Nothing fancy, absolutely basic and that is why the price. I have read some previous reviews and they were obviously expecting to get a 4 star accommodation for the price of a 2 star (I would say more one star standard) so people please manage your expectations.

Reviewed by
khalid a

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

do not go there
Everything was Shocking! Grubby, layers of dirt in corners and skirting of room, rubbish in drawers, shared bathroom in similarly poor cleanliness - layers of dried soap scum, peeling paint, musty smell; kitchen - various remains of food, dirty plates lying on the table. Booked for 2 nights and called the owner to send a cleaner and replenish milk sachets - shocking rude response, customer service is non existent! Would not go there even if offered money. No bargain at £40 for the room only!

Reviewed by
n parma

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you're stuck....
Decor was very outdated and old fashioned and the place needed a good makeover in terms of aesthetics and general maintenance. Clearly trying to squeeze the profit margins by charging as much as possible and spending as little as possible on upkeep. Bathroom was unhygienic and the bedroom door (Room 1) was downright dangerous, slamming shut with great force as soon as you let go and sometimes even if you didn't. Grim and depressing though the owner was friendly and there is a nice garden

Reviewed by
j hayes

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Abbey field guest house.
George was a friendly guy, however I would make sure I showed that virtue given the fact I was purveying basic hostel facilities at the price of a hotel. The facilities were disgusting, the shower was awful & the room resembled a neglected 60's b&b. Its main virtue was the proximity to Cambridge city centre. Fortunately being on a side street, parking was ample & it was quiet. I suppose the final point is to be made by the most recent flyer for nearby tourist attractions dating from 2008. If it was a '4 in a bed' venue I'd value it at £20 tops.

Reviewed by
A Gillies

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single Stay
I travelled down the night before a university interview. I was arriving later than the closing time so the man kindly arranged so I could still get in to the hotel. My room had two single beds and one was un-made so I thought I was staying with someone else but turns out it was just un-made because the cleaners were told there was only one person staying. Overall worth the money and very friendly.

Reviewed by
f martinez

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just what we needed
This guest house was perfect for what my group needed. Close to city centre, comfortable clean room, accommodated all 4 of us in 1 room which is hard to find. Friendly staff who leave you to get on with it. Thanks very much, next time I come to cambridge I will definitely stay here!

Reviewed by
N Parker

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't take a shower !
This is the worst guest house I have ever been. Dirty. The bath in the shower room was black! And the bed was so uncomfortable too.
I don't recommend this accommodation even to my worst enemy.

Reviewed by
Francisco I

From Prevessine Moens, France
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next