No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Chelsea Guest House Hotel

2Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
372 Wandsworth Road , London, SW8 4TE
Our charming and contemporary Guest House is located close to the centre of London in SW8. Our rooms are available at budget prices however the accommodation on offer is of a high standard, with calm and relaxing décor throughout. Your comfort is of utmost importance to us and our excellent staff offer a warm and personal service, catering to your needs in order to ensure that your visit to London is everything it should be.

Please note Reception opening hours:
Mon-Sat: 24 hours (CHECK IN FROM 12.00)
Sun: from 15.00 (CHECK IN FROM15.00)

The guest rooms at Chelsea Guest House have been recently refurbished to a high standard. Each room is well appointed with en suite and an inviting and spacious interior, including luxury beds and televisions.

We cater not only for tourists on shopping or theatre breaks in London but also the professional businessman or businesswoman on a short or extended assignment, providing single, twin and double rooms, in addition to family suites.

LOCATION:
There is no other more conveniently located Guest House in this price range in all of London. We have excellent transport links with the centre with buses bound for the centre passing the Guest House every 3-5 minutes. In addition to this we are a very short walk away from an Overground station, offering quick links to Clapham Junction and East London. The Guest House also offers convenient access to the world famous music venue, the Brixton Academy which has hosted everyone from Bob Dylan to Madonna, to Faithless, Motorhead and the Mighty Boosh. We are also a short commute from the popular Clapham, the new ‘up and coming’ area of London with great restaurants, cool bars and impressive stores and boutiques.
Picture of Chelsea Guest House Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 125 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slept on the floor under my husbands coat!
Never again! Absolutely horrible night, I should have slept in my car instead. The mattress was an absolute joke, it was impossible to sleep in it. The double duvet provided was quite small for two people sharing the bed. I moved onto the floor at around 2am just to get any sleep. As there was only one duvet I covered myself with my husbands coat. Worst night ever. Then there was also this ongoing noise from inside the hostel - I think maybe another guest had left the lights in the bathroom on and therefore the fan aswell? No idea but it really didn't help. The carpet I slept on was grubby so I used the bathtowels to cover it - but we were only given one large hand towel and three small ones - which again was not great when we had a shower in the morning. When complaining the next morning the girl at the reception suggested I should have just come down and asked for a second duvet... honestly... well first of all it was 2am, I was in my PJs and also is she saying the sleeping on the floor with a second duvet is ok? Another lady at checkout apologised and said they were going to renovate the rooms soon and they already had new mattresses - well - they obviously knew about the poor quality of the room yet they happily took our money and let us stay in a rubbish bed - why not just replace the mattress if you already have one??? Takes like 10minutes. My back still hurts and I have caught a cold. I would have expected a refund - that would have been the decent thing to do - we were offered free breakfast though but all I wanted was to drive home, take the day off, take a shower and a nap.

Reviewed by
Kerstin M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

reasonable place to stay
Friendly staff, lots of noise intrusion a little from the road but mainly from people going up and down very loud stairs...............
good shower
good internet access
Parking is as challenging as you would expect considering the area.
its next door to Mcdonalds - which could be a positive .....

Reviewed by
Robert B

From Arundel, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chelsea guest house hotel
nice hotel 2 mins from the tube station (on the map it looks ages away) until you see where the drive thu mc donalds is!
room was small but nice, perfect for what i needed for.
lovely shower, tiny sink but it was just me so it was fine
nice receptionist(s) staff on the different days
alsp hotel was about 20-30 mins from theatres (once you knew where they were)
only major con i had with the whole place simply was my room was right beside the street so could hear everything, but thats a small complaint really!

Reviewed by
N Whitaker

From Gorey, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chelsea Guest House Hotel
The room was basic but clean & met all our needs, & the staff were extremely helpful & friendly. We even requested extra blankets for our room & for a lamp to be change because it was faulty. Both times they responded immediately. The only thing, although it wasn't a problem for us at all is that the hotel is in clapham not Chelsea as the name might suggest. Them not having any kitchen facilities wasn't much trouble either, because theres a McDonald's 30 seconds away & quite a few local restaurants & supermarkets in the area.

Reviewed by
jodie b

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location for concert
It was a good location fot the concert at the Brixton academy

Reviewed by
A Cunliffe

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room and bathroom were very small for 2 people. furniture was a bit dated but overall clean room and bathroom. For London, value was ok.

Reviewed by
Dennis O

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Clean Business Friendly Hotel
One night stay, good and clean new refurbished room. Bit of a walk from Tube Station / Over Ground (at least 10-12 minutes).

Reviewed by
P Lad

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chelsea guest house
Good value, clean basic accommodation convenient for central London. Room was clean and had the essentials - towels, shower and comfortable bed. The rooms on the floor share a toilet, but that was also very clean. I would stay here again if I needed accommodation near to Battersea.

Reviewed by
Glyn H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brixton night out
For a night out in Brixton this hotel was great, only stayed one night, but the room was clean and comfortable with good beds. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Brixton Academy a half hour walk, past some good pubs on the way!

Reviewed by
M Sharman

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An unexpected delight
This hotel is not, in my view, in the nicest part of town. And the stairway looks in need of a refit. But the important staff is excellent. I had a room on the second floor (no lift but not a problem, the receptionist offered to help me with my bag) which was clean, well furnished with a huge bed, small warderobe and desk and a small but clean and functional shower room. Best of all it was well lit (I hate dark rooms where I can only read under an inadequate light on the bed or in the bathroom) so I could read anywhere in the room. The free wifi worked fine. It doesn't do breakfast: I was offered a voucher for £5 to eat at a cafe but I preferred to eat at the office. They gave me a recommendation for a nearby restaurant but I am too big a wuss to walk around in the dark round there. I'd probably have gone for it in the summer. They gave me a leaflet for a local pizza place which delivered. The food was a little expensive but okay for one evening. I'm sure there were more choices: you could even go to the McDonald's next door. I slept well despite being in a room overlooking the main road. It was quiet though very brightly lit outside. The reception staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. I don't often bother to write these reviews any more but this hotel deserves recognition.

Reviewed by
Sarah B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next