No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Abbeydale Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
1-3 Cobden Road , Chesterfield, S40 4TD
Quality Accommodation and restaurant five minutes from Town Centre with free private parking free WiFi and flat screen televisions in all rooms.

The Abbeydale Hotel is located in a quiet part of the town, but still only 5 minutes walk away from Chesterfield town centre, with its famous market and Crooked Spire. For business people Abbeydale Hotel is not only located close to the town centre but with easy access to the A61 North & South and the M1 North & South, it is an ideal place to relax and wind down, after a busy business day or a day of exploring. The house of the Abbeydale Hotel dates back to 1892, where part of it was a vicarage. The house was converted into a Hotel with ample free car parking in 1988, and has all the modern facilities needed by business & leisure traveller alike. In the restaurant Else and Finn, the owners, prepare and serve the dishes available on the small but exciting menu, every dish boasting a quality and charm only found in home made food. Due to high demand, guests wishing to dine on a Friday or Saturday night should prebook a table.

All bedrooms are individual in their decor and style offering comfort and modern facilities. Whether on business or leisure you are guaranteed a pleasant stay. All rooms have Flat Screen colour TV with teletext, direct dial telephone, radio, hair dryers, tea & coffee making facilities with biscuits, fresh fruit, and mineral water.

In the intimate Restaurant & Bar you have the chance to relax and unwind. We serve dinners every night except Sunday offering a wide choice of food & wine from an exciting menu, which changes on a daily basis, using seasonal and local market produce. The food is prepared & cooked by Else & Finn (the owners) and is a mixture of Danish and continental cuisine. Fresh, cooked to order breakfasts are also available every morning.
Picture of Abbeydale Hotel, Chesterfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from Home
This was the second time I have stayed at the Abbeydale and it will not be the last. In terms of friendly and efficient service, quality of food, cleanliness and comfort and overall value for money, I would struggle to think of any hotel I have stayed in which is better. Else and Finn, the proprietors, are simply wonderful and have created the perfect home from home.

Reviewed by
Joe A

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

top couple very helpful and polite was a pleasure to meet them would recommend to anyone

Reviewed by
barry t

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small, friendly, quality hotel
Only a small hotel with a distinct B&B feel but offering excellent standards of customer service, cleanliness and value for money. For a quiet, restful short break or business trip, this would be hard to beat. The owners go out of their way to make guests feel at home. The added bonus is the very good food; both dinner and breakfast.

Reviewed by
Joe A

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location and helpful hosts
Quiet street but close to to centre. Ideal for me to get to a gig just down the road. Very pleasant owners. Only a single room, hence the lowish score but perfectly fine.

Reviewed by
R Barnes

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel with really friendly and helpful owners
Nice room which was clean and had everything required. The owners of the hotel were really friendly and helpful and recommended somewhere to eat and where to go in town.
A good hotel in a quiet residential street. I recommend staying here.

Reviewed by
David G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly hotel
We only had breakfast which was very good as the resturant was closed in the evening, but to our surprise Finn (the owner ) took us to a very nice resturant in his own car. The hotel is on the edge of the town but we could walk it in about 5 Mins.

Reviewed by
John S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly adequate
Nothing to complain about. It had no extras, but as a private hotel it was acceptable.
Only issue was we were charged extra for booking via LateRooms, not what I have experienced before when using LateRooms.

Reviewed by
Jeremy B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant change from larger chain hotels
Stayed here for 1 night whilst on business and found the hotel to be pleasant and run by friendly and welcoming owners and staff. Had a very nice meal also. The only downside is its size - there is very little space to relax in (one small lounge room with a few chairs huddled close together), the room I had was quite small (although adequate for one night) and car parking was a bit tight (although the owners were very considerate in the way they managed this ensuring nobody got blocked in). I would definitely book to stay again if working in the area.

Reviewed by
Gary P

From Brackley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and friendly
Very welcoming and friendly small hotel. Ate well and slept well with an excellent breakfast to follow

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Berkeley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked the day before, no drama. As before, welcoming, comfortable and a good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Geoff Elliott

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next