No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cock Hotel

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
72 High Street, Stony Stratford, MK11 1AH
The Cock Hotel Stony Stratford near Milton Keynes is situated in the historic Buckinghamshire market town of Stony Stratford within easy reach of the Milton Keynes via the A5 and Silverstone Race Circuit. The Cock Hotel a 15th Century coaching inn rose to national pre-eminence in the great age of coach travel, with as many as 100 coaches a day coming into the town. The Cock Hotel was the official staging post for the famous Manchester Flier, which took a 25-minute stop at The Cock Hotel. The time allowed for lunch at the Cock was 25 minutes, so passengers had to eat fast. One of them, on more than one occasion, was Charles Dickens, who based Mr Turveydrop in Bleak House on a local dancing instructor, Joseph Hambling (or is that another cock and bull story?).

Other travellers staying at the hotel and The Bull opposite vied with each other in the telling of outrageous 'tales of the road', from whence the famous phrase 'Cock and Bull story' derives. Today the hotel is very popular with locals and travellers alike and is renowned for its welcoming atmosphere and great hospitality. Hotel has a large car park.
Picture of Cock Hotel, Stony Stratford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class
What a fabulous place. We stayed here for a wedding party and enjoyed it so much we are planning to stay again. Excellent and friendly service, clean rooms with all the facilities we needed. Great breakfast!

Reviewed by
Gail B

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly

Reviewed by
Simon H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing value
We stayed on a very good deal.The room (no.2) has been very recently refurbished with a comfortable bed.Breakfast food was so-so.On the whole -a marvellous value for money.

Reviewed by
Ray B

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Silverstone Moto GP trip
Generally the hotel was very comfortable, staff friendly (apart from one quite rude individual) and accommodating. we stayed in the old part of the hotel and although the bedroom was very nice, the bathroom really needed a damn good clean and update to bring into the 21st Century....it was the one thing that let the place down. I would visit again, maybe requesting a room in the newer part to get a clean, modern bathroom and decent shower.

Reviewed by
Lesley N

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ist Anniversary Return
We got married at this hotel last year. The day, all the staff, food, rooms were faultless. It had just undergone a major refurb and the rooms were fantastic. The manager runs the hotel like a well oiled spring. You are always going to get a glitch or two on any stay, and as well travelled people we can appreciate this. But I have to say on this occasion we did not. So we decided to return to the hotel for one night for our anniversary. Everything was fantastic again, the only slight gripe was the food, which was not great. But in fairness we had been told that the main chef and one other were off ill, so with that in mind they did the best. A top friendly hotel, would always use.

Reviewed by
c Savage

From Olney, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm, welcoming hotel
Very warm welcome. Clean room and linen. Couldn't fault my stay and will stay again

Reviewed by
Mike Smith

From Pontypool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value at Late Rooms Price
Large comfortable room. A little traffic noise early morning due to being at front of hotel.
We had eaten a large lunch so only wanted a snack in the evening. Cheeseboard was excellent.
Good ale here and in several other pubs close by.

Reviewed by
Malcolm Fisher

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Invisible woman
I got a great last minute deal. The reception staff were very nice and helpful when I arrived at 8 pm. The room was a tad crowded with two chairs but the bed had lovely crisp white sheets on and the bathroom was very clean. The corridor carpets were quite stained and could have done with a clean to give a more cared for appearance. The window was very soundproof against traffic noise. There was a party of ten in for breakfast ( which was served up to midday which is fantastic). The staff appeared a little fazed by them ( even though they must have expected them!). This is where I disappeared as a single lady...... Wanting coffee and food. I had to keep drawing attention to myself in order to get served for quite some time. However, the waiters were very polite when they did serve me and the breakfast was lovely with loads of fresh fruit. I will stay again.

Reviewed by
Val F

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great all round
This was a pleasant surprise, the room was great and very quiet, the breakfast was excellent and it was all really very good value for money. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
K Hughes

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second visit
Second visit was as good as first one, always worry when going back to same place

Reviewed by
June White

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next