No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tally Ho Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
43 Ploughley Road,Lower Arncott , Arncott, OX25 1NY
Located at the entrance of the village, the elegantly designed restaurant & bar is a former farm house full of atmosphere. A recent refurbishment has re-established its original stone wall and exposed beam character as well as upgrading the facilities. Experience the exceptional A La Carte cuisine off the Fish Bone menu prepared by Sri Rangan the executive chef and sample the selection of fine wines, all of which offers a wonderful experience for the Business Lunch or Fine Dining.

The venue is also the perfect setting for a romantic wedding reception. On your Wedding Day, more than any other, you want to be sure that you and your guests enjoy yourselves, safe in the knowledge that all will go as planned. Our experience and personal attention to detail ensures this, whether its a small reception in our lounge bar or a larger gathering in the main restaurant.The Fish Bone is an atmospheric Restaurant in Arncott village with a high quality Modern European & Mediterranean menu with a variety of choice, fast & first-class service to respect the diner's privacy.Please contact us for further information, quotations or bookings.
Picture of Tally Ho Hotel, Arncott at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not for business travellers
Great accomodation, excellent service. Clean and modern but lacking in important details. Breakfast is traditional english. Fruit options are a bowl of whole fruit and tinned prunes. Internet serves only to annoy - managed to download two pages in 7 hours and about 10 seconds skype conversation before call ended (at 1am and 6am - expected low usage time). Good for families, if internet is not an issue. I will not stay again.

Reviewed by
Alan G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Filthy and not worth 1/4 of the price
Entering the room is via a flight of stairs.seeing the filthy carpet on the stairs was not a good start.On entering the room I saw stained carpet, a filthy sofa and some extremely outdated furniture. I was in two minds as to whether to try and put up with this or go.
I hesitantly sat on the bed on a hot day and looked for air-conditioning. There is none and no fan.
I decided that for £102 this place was definitely not worth the money and checked out.
My recommendation as a very frequent traveller is to find somewhere else to stay. It doesn't matter where....just not here. If you want to charge £102 that's fine however you need to provide £102 worth of value. You could not have paid me for me to stay. The offer of an alternative room was rejected. If the room you offered me was of such a low standard,what on earth is going to be different in a different room. Disgraceful.

Reviewed by
ray

From Spain
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff extremely friendly & helpful, room generally good but bed heads need attention
We found all the staff very helpful & friendly. The twin-bedded room was roomy and quiet with lots of storage space, but room has been rated at 3 because the wooden bed heads clearly don't belong to those beds, as they were loose and banged noisily against the wall every time you sat down on the bed or turned over in bed which was not conducive to a good nights sleep. The single screw holding them in position was tight, so no point in complaining. Even though it was very warm when we stayed, the towels did not dry properly & were still damp when we returned at the end of the day. However, overall, we would stay again.

Reviewed by
Jane S

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 days for business

Reviewed by
D Atkinson

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
We stayed at The Tally Ho as our friends were getting married at the hotel. We had a wonderful stay and we will definitely want to come back. It was a lovely location and there was everything there that you needed.

Reviewed by
Robert Paterson

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All good
All good.

Reviewed by
Tony Green

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place for going out to Oxford and shopping in Bicester Village!:)

Reviewed by
Alejandra M

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow....what a gem!
booked this very last minute and wasn't disappointed. despite checking in at 930pm received a warm welcome and although the restaurant was closed the bar menu had plenty to offer for that late snack!

Reviewed by
Dan W

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice well presented excellent parking. Very quite village but no shops to buy every day things.
Overall nice place but if you don't want to eat there you have to go 3 miles to Bicester to find amenities.

Reviewed by
g rogers

From Sutton in Ashfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Stay!
A very nice hotel with friendly and attentive staff.
The restaraunt was very nice and the food was lovely with good portion sizes.

Reviewed by
D Crooks

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next