No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Shakespeare Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
27 Shakespeare Road, , , Bedford, MK40 2DX
**Book Online - Best Price Guarantee** The Shakespeare Hotel, Bar and Restaurant is an independently owned hotel with 23 ensuite rooms, offering a delightful blend of style and comfort complemented by friendly staff – each new guest is invited to receive an introductory drink at the bar. Free parking is available. Enjoy a meal on-site at Romeo's Brasserie, which is also open to non-residents. The air conditioned restaurant is linked to the hotel’s lounge bar and onto the terrace, where guests can enjoy a relaxing drink. We are a 5 minute walk from the station and a 10 minute walk from Bedford town centre with its variety of shops, pubs, clubs, restaurants, a first class swimming pool and gym. The town also boasts the beautiful riverside gardens of The Great River Ouse along with Bedford Park and its beautiful walks. There are also various places if interest relating to the life and works of John Bunyan. Nearby are also many places of interest including Bodyflight, Woburn Abbey and Game Reserve, Kimbolton Castle, the Shuttleworth Veteran and Duxford Aircraft collections. Also within comfortable driving distance are Silverstone, Cambridge, Milton Keynes & Northampton.
Picture of The Shakespeare Hotel, Bedford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedford center
Town center location, good breakfast, parking on site

Reviewed by
STEPHEN D

From Birkenhead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Staff friendly and helpful; bed linen and towels spotless; breakfast good. The hotel could do with refurbishment, but was not bad and was excellent value.

Reviewed by
Alan R

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel staff where very help full
The room I was given , The wallpaper was peeling off the walls and ceiling, the shower tiles was falling away from the shower. I have no idea what the rest of the Hotel room are like so I can not comment on them

Reviewed by
George G

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect as a base when working away

Reviewed by
M Edwards

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay in Shakespeare hotel
The room was at the back and quiet, which is what we asked for. Bed linen and towels clean but quite worn. No shade on one ceiling light and no bulb in the bedside light. Only one bedside light. Window frames were filthy with grime and mold. The hotel is tired and needs refurbishment but it was handy for what we wanted.

Reviewed by
E Plummer

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for an overnight stay if you are working in Bedford.
Perfect for my needs in that it's location was very convenient for working in Bedford centre the following day. I would have liked to have relaxed in the gastro bar with a pint (or two) before retiring but was a little paranoid I would have to move my car at some point because the car park is very small. Great room and accommodating staff makes this a recommended stay from me however.

Reviewed by
D Lewis

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome at The Shakespeare Hotel , Bedford .
The manager and staff at this comfortable hotel made our stay most enjoyable ; they were attentive to our needs at all times .

Reviewed by
R Hope

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms need refurbishing and a good clean, but towels and bedding were clean. Very noisey hotel, you hear the movement of other guests, lots of creaking floorboards.

Reviewed by
P Storey

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again, damp, dirty and depressing
Dirty and stained carpets. The room smelled of damp. Who has carpet in the bathroom? Only saw 2 staff, one was useless, but the other seemed to know what she was doing.

Reviewed by
Michael B

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
I has a three day stay at the hotel. I'm a Solicitor and usually stay at the Hilton or similar.
I couldn't find a free hotel in the location I needed to stay and couldn't find a free hotel apart from the Shakespeare.
I resigned myself to the fact that the hotel would be pretty poor, but I was pleasantly surprised.
The room was clean and well presented, and my bed was very comfy. There was a small bureau I could work at, and wifi was free.
The quality of the breakfast was excellent, and my event meal very good quality for the price.
Staff were always helpful and polite, and I liked how quiet the room was. I also found the house had a lot of character and was well cared for.
A very good hotel, good car park, and nice staff and value for money food.
I'd recommend.

Reviewed by
Paul Nicholls

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next