No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Shakespeare Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
27 Shakespeare Road, , , Bedford, MK40 2DX
**Book Online - Best Price Guarantee** The Shakespeare Hotel, Bar and Restaurant is an independently owned hotel with 23 ensuite rooms, offering a delightful blend of style and comfort complemented by friendly staff – each new guest is invited to receive an introductory drink at the bar. Free parking is available. Enjoy a meal on-site at Romeo's Brasserie, which is also open to non-residents. The air conditioned restaurant is linked to the hotel’s lounge bar and onto the terrace, where guests can enjoy a relaxing drink. We are a 5 minute walk from the station and a 10 minute walk from Bedford town centre with its variety of shops, pubs, clubs, restaurants, a first class swimming pool and gym. The town also boasts the beautiful riverside gardens of The Great River Ouse along with Bedford Park and its beautiful walks. There are also various places if interest relating to the life and works of John Bunyan. Nearby are also many places of interest including Bodyflight, Woburn Abbey and Game Reserve, Kimbolton Castle, the Shuttleworth Veteran and Duxford Aircraft collections. Also within comfortable driving distance are Silverstone, Cambridge, Milton Keynes & Northampton.
Picture of The Shakespeare Hotel, Bedford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay. very good value
Staff were friendly and helpful, great atmosphere in the bar and restaurant and the food was lovely. Well worth the money

Reviewed by
C Smith

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Experience
My wife and I really enjoyed our stay there - the building is nice and clean, a real break from city life - such quietness and peace of mind. The staff are really nice. Look forward to go back in Summer this time!

Reviewed by
H Daby

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unpleasant stay
there was no one to let me check in at 10.30pm, I had to talk to someone over the phone to get my key and instructions.AfterwardsI had issue with my room not being clean and there was no staff available to ask for help. Therefore I had to ring an 'emergency number' to try and wake up the person on call to help me. I had to ring over and over and persuade this person to come and help when he was actually supposed to work. I don't find this hotel a good value for money considering it is quite old , not properly clean and staff was very unhelpful. I would not stay there again.

Reviewed by
Angela P

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice stay.
I have been very pleased during my stay. The staff has been attentive and happy to satisfy my requests. I was working night shifts so the staff kept my full english breakfast despite the kitchen was supposed to be closed the time I was back from my work. The printed some papers for me without any extra charge. During the morning they were very careful not to make noise so I could rest after my night work. Overall a five star customer service.

Reviewed by
Federico Messina

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Having read the reviews before staying here, it was about what I was expecting.
Friendly staff, cozy bar, and an easy walk to the train station or downtown.
It was very quiet too, but the walls are paper thin. I could hear the people next door talking as if they were in my room with me. That made it difficult to sleep.
There was never hot water in my room. They offered to move me, but I assumed all the rooms would be the same.
I can't say that I recommend the breakfast. After the first morning, I walked into town for breakfast.
But for the cost and location, it wasn't too bad.

Reviewed by
R Zimmerman

From Austin, USA
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedford center
Town center location, good breakfast, parking on site

Reviewed by
STEPHEN D

From Birkenhead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service

Reviewed by
Paula A

From Filey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Staff friendly and helpful; bed linen and towels spotless; breakfast good. The hotel could do with refurbishment, but was not bad and was excellent value.

Reviewed by
Alan R

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel staff where very help full
The room I was given , The wallpaper was peeling off the walls and ceiling, the shower tiles was falling away from the shower. I have no idea what the rest of the Hotel room are like so I can not comment on them

Reviewed by
George G

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect as a base when working away

Reviewed by
M Edwards

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next