Reviews - The Kings Hotel

3

Oxford Road,Stokenchurch, High Wycombe, HP14 3TA

Price From 160.29 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (36)

67% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Malcolm R

  • July 2015

The Kings Hotel

Good value and location

  • Rod R

  • October 2014

Excellent customer service, lovely hotel.

I booked two executive rooms for a Sunday evening in order to celebrate my dad's 80th birthday.

I contacted the hotel in advance to book a table for lunch and dinner and to request an early check-in if possible as we were going to watch Wasps vs Bath rugby match at High Wycombe.

On arrival, we received a warm welcome from Bharat. He had one room available at 1115 and another (the very nice 'King's Room') half an hour later so we were able to check in nice and early which we appreciated. Lunch was excellent, as was the evening Sunday Roast. The birthday desert they prepared for my dad was a nice touch. Special thanks to Yogi and Swapnil for that one. A good night's sleep was followed by a delicious breakfast buffet in the morning. Thanks to the breakfast girls for looking after us. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay and a memorable 80th birthday for my dad. A delightful hotel with the friendliest and most attentive staff I've experienced in some time.

  • Cherry A

  • September 2014

expected better.

The room was a run down room, being a smoking room you would expect an ashtray but none were provided, the sink was also cracked, windowsil was filfy, bedside floor needed a good hoover.

Was expecting a lot more considering the status and price of the accommodation.

  • Cherry A

  • September 2014

better quality room

Clearly take more pride in keeping non-smoking rooms a bit more clean.

Still not 100% as rubbish was left under the bed from the occupant who stayed on the 18th and I stayed on the 26th 8 days later - things need to be moved for a good clean

  • Ben O

  • September 2014

Dissapointed

From the pictures, we were expecting a nice, unique and fashionable hotel room.

What we had was a rather drab, boring and utilitarian room. Despite having paid for an executive room thinking there would be a bit of luxury and class to it it was just the same as the rest of the rooms.

We found out on arrival that air-con is optional and not all the rooms have it so make sure to ask for it in advance. The room was sweltering so we had the windows open all night, this meant we had all of the road noise and sound from the bar downstairs for the entire night. The bed was perfectly comfortable however, the bathroom was useful although you couldn't have a comfortable bath in there unless you're 5ft nothing. We also found a pair of dirty socks underneath the curtains from a previous guest which was an unpleasant surprise. Breakfast was reasonable and not at all bad for a buffet although anything other then a tea or filter coffee isn't included in the breakfast cost. All in all the room was a little expensive for what we paid, I would liken it to a holiday in or a best western (which is what it used to be). It was perfectly useable, just disappointing.

  • lorraine s

  • July 2014

average

the room was spacious but had to keep blinds shut as looked onto the roof with pipes and air condictioning unit .

also fag butts on roof . looked straight onto other rooms as well. Taps in bathroom were broke. V clean. lunch was terrible . didnt eat there for dinner . All in all was ok been in a lot better for same money . One night was enough .

  • D Phillips

  • July 2014

Lower room rate

Room rate slightly too high .

  • kenneth victor capstick

  • July 2014

relaxing

A very nice hotel,the staff are very pleasant,very attentive,the food was excellent,a very pleasant stay of three days,

  • G Richardson

  • June 2014

Room a bit on the small side, but adequate.

Staff as usual very friendly and professional and the food was lovely.

  • A Brown

  • June 2014

Very poor, get a B and B instead.

Booked double, first room twin.

Changed room. Went out for a meal and returned to a very very hot room with frosted plastic over the window and a a tiny part that opened. Then the lift... The shaft was inside the false wardrobe, whirring and banging all night. Changed rooms again at 0200 to try and get sleep ... We were given the room the other side of the lift. Breakfast was poor, staff more interested in talking to each other than to wipe the crud off the re-filled bottles of HP. Poor quality meat, no bacon etc... Decor nice overall. Complained, after much arguing got a partial refund. Would not recommend or ever use again. You have been warned.