The Kings Hotel

3

Oxford Road,Stokenchurch, High Wycombe, HP14 3TA

Price From 124.79 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (44)

68% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Trowbridge

  • August 2013

Very nice room if you like compact

Good welcome at reception and service in the restaurant was superb.

The room was clean but small with very squeaky floorboards. The bathroom was so tiny that when seated and I leaned forward I banged my head on the sink. All part of the charm.

  • John F

  • August 2013

Boutique if you like 1970's brown

Easy access from the M40, plenty of parking and a lift.

The room was tight with very little room to spare, en-suite nicely done-even though I hate shower curtains. As usual there was no where to put your suitcase--usual design error. The shower would have burnt me as the cold control did not work.

The design could have had a bit more space, this was a single--not a double . You do however need to be a fan of 1970's brown, as nearly all the finishes and carpets etc are a shade of brown. If I did not get a massive discount by using late-rooms, this would have been a very disappointing visit.

  • Steven Hosier

  • August 2013

Nice couple of nights

The Kings is a very smart, comfortable place.

Friendly, helpful staff set the tone for a most pleasant time.

  • Anna W

  • August 2013

It was overpriced...we were underwhelmed...

We needed to stay at the King's Hotel for a weekend celebration with friends in the country.

The location was everything we could have wished for; very convenient indeed. Thankfully we hardly spent any time in the tiny bedroom, which was very dark, with loud hotel machinery right outside our window, which meant we switched on the air con (also quite loud). So we didn't get the best night's sleep we could have done. In the morning, we realised that the darkness is possibly contrived to conceal the shabby decor and plumbing falling apart in the bathroom. Complimentary toiletries smelt like washing up liquid. There wasn't enough of this for 2 people to use and there was even only one bath towel provided, so I even wondered if they were actually expecting the 2 people I booked for... All in all very disappointing. Thankfully we got a much better deal through laterooms than with the hotel directly (about half the cost). Sorry to leave a stinker of a review, but you did ask.

  • L Eaton

  • July 2013

Our comments

The service and accommodation was good value for money and we would recommend it, but the meal we had on the Sunday evening was the worst I have ever tasted.

The roast potatoes were reheated to leathery inedible lumps, the lamb tough, and the whole revolting mess was swimming in over thickened salty gravy. There was also a blob of something questionable on the side of our plates. The staff were busy with a noisy crowd at the bar and kept apologizing but we don't think it was for the food. Get a new chef.

  • S PERKINS

  • July 2013

pleasant stay

  • c shepherd

  • July 2013

Very nice and straightforward overnight stay

Very nice stay at the Kings Hotel, Stokenchurch which is easy to find just off the M40, We had a standard room which was clean and with all standard requirements provided including air conditioning, a kettle and plenty of hot water pressure for the shower.

Room wasn't very big and couldn't quite understand why tv was wall mounted to left flank not facing the bed but generally very happy with our overnight stay and would stay here again. Hot buffet breakfast was fine and the staff pleasant and helpful.

  • peter hammond

  • June 2013

good location, good hotel, excellent food

  • P Crew

  • June 2013

Great Hotel

May not be the biggest but they have made the most out of it, My room was well presented, flat screen TV, Air con, Comfy double bed everything you need for a quick overnight stay.

2 bars including a large screen TV in a separate bar with Sky sports on, then a larger bar with outside terrace. If I’m in the area I will be back again.

  • Alan C

  • June 2013

Easy to Oxford

Nice pub/ hotel.