No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Oxford Road,Stokenchurch , High Wycombe, HP14 3TA
A former 16th Century coaching inn, this privately owned and passionately run boutique hotel is a place where old meets new, with stylish, contemporary accommodation blending seamlessly with historic charm.

Surrounded by the picturesque village green, the hotel is centrally located in Stokenchurch, High Wycombe. The convenient location, just off junction 5 of the M40, means the hotel is easy to find. London and Oxford are within easy reach and you can enjoy great shopping in the new Eden Centre in High Wycombe.

The interior has been transformed with chic, cutting-edge design, which blends seamlessly throughout, with an attention to detail and many stylish touches. An elegant combination of neutral tones, clean lines, dark woods and sleek furnishings, the Kings is a real, exclusive find. Each room is at once traditionally elegant and strikingly modern, with plasma flat-screen TV. The en-suite Italian marble bathrooms have a bath, power shower and exclusive toiletries.

The relaxed and stylish ambience of the Kings Restaurant reflects the sophisticated feel of the hotel with a fresh, unpretentious approach to top quality dining. As well as offering the ultimate in comfort, cuisine and leisure, the hotel provides the perfect venue for your next conference, meeting or special occasion.

Picture of The Kings Hotel, High Wycombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our comments
The service and accommodation was good value for money and we would recommend it, but the meal we had on the Sunday evening was the worst I have ever tasted. The roast potatoes were reheated to leathery inedible lumps, the lamb tough, and the whole revolting mess was swimming in over thickened salty gravy. There was also a blob of something questionable on the side of our plates. The staff were busy with a noisy crowd at the bar and kept apologizing but we don't think it was for the food. Get a new chef!

Reviewed by
L Eaton

From Saxmundham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay

Reviewed by
S PERKINS

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice and straightforward overnight stay
Very nice stay at the Kings Hotel, Stokenchurch which is easy to find just off the M40, We had a standard room which was clean and with all standard requirements provided including air conditioning, a kettle and plenty of hot water pressure for the shower. Room wasn't very big and couldn't quite understand why tv was wall mounted to left flank not facing the bed but generally very happy with our overnight stay and would stay here again. Hot buffet breakfast was fine and the staff pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
c shepherd

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location, good hotel, excellent food

Reviewed by
peter hammond

From Caernarfon, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
May not be the biggest but they have made the most out of it, My room was well presented, flat screen TV, Air con, Comfy double bed everything you need for a quick overnight stay. 2 bars including a large screen TV in a separate bar with Sky sports on, then a larger bar with outside terrace.
If I’m in the area I will be back again.

Reviewed by
P Crew

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easy to Oxford
Nice pub/ hotel.

Reviewed by
Alan C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Check where your room is as there was a 21st party on and we couldn't get to sleep NOISY room
We were given a room that was directly above entrance and a 21st party was booked in. in the evening people were out in the outside patio dining area making a lot of noise. The room was very small and had a smaller than normal double bed. It was so tight you could hardly move. I will not be returning to this hotel - it completely lacked the country pub feel we were looking for.

Reviewed by
Ross M

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Regular visitor to The Kings Hotel over many years.
The quality of both accommodation and food has improved over the past 5 years I have visited the Kings.
It does appear to change hands regularly but not in a downward mode-definitely reccomend this hotel to others.It is the 'best value' hotel in the area(to my knowledge).

Reviewed by
Mike T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation was very clean and spacious and exactly what we required for our stay. We had stayed here on a previous business trip and will return again when we need to be in the area. Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
A Hammond

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too hot!
The room I stayed in was extremely hot and only had a small window which let in no fresh air at all (think it was 229). It was a small room so felt very claustrophobic being so hot. It was right next to the lift shaft on the second floor so I could hear it going up and down quite clearly. When I turned the shower on in the morning the end of it fell off, luckily I wasn't stood right under it at the time! In my opinion this particular room was not value for money and I think it should be made known that it is next to the lift at the time of booking.

Reviewed by
Sarah N

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next