No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Oxford Road,Stokenchurch , High Wycombe, HP14 3TA
A former 16th Century coaching inn, this privately owned and passionately run boutique hotel is a place where old meets new, with stylish, contemporary accommodation blending seamlessly with historic charm.

Surrounded by the picturesque village green, the hotel is centrally located in Stokenchurch, High Wycombe. The convenient location, just off junction 5 of the M40, means the hotel is easy to find. London and Oxford are within easy reach and you can enjoy great shopping in the new Eden Centre in High Wycombe.

The interior has been transformed with chic, cutting-edge design, which blends seamlessly throughout, with an attention to detail and many stylish touches. An elegant combination of neutral tones, clean lines, dark woods and sleek furnishings, the Kings is a real, exclusive find. Each room is at once traditionally elegant and strikingly modern, with plasma flat-screen TV. The en-suite Italian marble bathrooms have a bath, power shower and exclusive toiletries.

The relaxed and stylish ambience of the Kings Restaurant reflects the sophisticated feel of the hotel with a fresh, unpretentious approach to top quality dining. As well as offering the ultimate in comfort, cuisine and leisure, the hotel provides the perfect venue for your next conference, meeting or special occasion.

Picture of The Kings Hotel, High Wycombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate hotel for my needs commuting into London, the rooms are probably in need of updating and could do with being bigger.

Reviewed by
GARY R

From Wembley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay at Kings Hotel,High Wycombe
I was disappointed, I had been looking forward to relaxing eveining during a very busy week. I had requested a double bed - got two singles, the room was very basic, small and claustrophobic - not reflected in the pictures I viewed before-hand. It took 20 minutes to check out in the morning - had to miss breakfast but still got charged - only one guy on reception with a queue of people waiting to check out. My evening meal was a steak at £18.00 - very average and overpriced - as was everything unfortunately. The few staff that were around were pleasant but overall - massively disappointing.

Reviewed by
Wendy C

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy! No sleep! Terrible noise coming from ceiling air vents.

Reviewed by
Anna W

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interior design
Did'nt like the dark hairy walls in the room we stayed in. Very small and dark.. Also the kettle lid came off while pouring out boiling water. The pipe work from the radiator in the bathroom was rather messy and dirty..
The hotel looked lovely from the front, not so nice when your staying round the back.

Reviewed by
G Gillies

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice room
We picked this hotel because it was close to where a friend's wedding was being held. The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly but still courteous and polite. The decor was new and classy and the room was superb. We did chose an executive room which was spacious with a lovely big comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. Only one issue - hot water came out of both taps! I mentioned this to the manager who promised to get someone on fixing it urgently (they had just done a significant refurb and clearly changed a lot of the pipework.

Reviewed by
David C

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boutique if you like 1970's brown
Easy access from the M40, plenty of parking and a lift.
The room was tight with very little room to spare, en-suite nicely done-even though I hate shower curtains. As usual there was no where to put your suitcase--usual design error. The shower would have burnt me as the cold control did not work.
The design could have had a bit more space, this was a single--not a double !
You do however need to be a fan of 1970's brown, as nearly all the finishes and carpets etc are a shade of brown. If I did not get a massive discount by using late-rooms, this would have been a very disappointing visit.

Reviewed by
John F

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice room if you like compact
Good welcome at reception and service in the restaurant was superb. The room was clean but small with very squeaky floorboards. The bathroom was so tiny that when seated and I leaned forward I banged my head on the sink. All part of the charm.

Reviewed by
A Trowbridge

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was overpriced...we were underwhelmed...
We needed to stay at the King's Hotel for a weekend celebration with friends in the country. The location was everything we could have wished for; very convenient indeed. Thankfully we hardly spent any time in the tiny bedroom, which was very dark, with loud hotel machinery right outside our window, which meant we switched on the air con (also quite loud). So we didn't get the best night's sleep we could have done. In the morning, we realised that the darkness is possibly contrived to conceal the shabby decor and plumbing falling apart in the bathroom. Complimentary toiletries smelt like washing up liquid. There wasn't enough of this for 2 people to use and there was even only one bath towel provided, so I even wondered if they were actually expecting the 2 people I booked for... All in all very disappointing. Thankfully we got a much better deal through laterooms than with the hotel directly (about half the cost). Sorry to leave a stinker of a review, but you did ask!

Reviewed by
Anna W

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice couple of nights
The Kings is a very smart, comfortable place. Friendly, helpful staff set the tone for a most pleasant time.

Reviewed by
Steven Hosier

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our comments
The service and accommodation was good value for money and we would recommend it, but the meal we had on the Sunday evening was the worst I have ever tasted. The roast potatoes were reheated to leathery inedible lumps, the lamb tough, and the whole revolting mess was swimming in over thickened salty gravy. There was also a blob of something questionable on the side of our plates. The staff were busy with a noisy crowd at the bar and kept apologizing but we don't think it was for the food. Get a new chef!

Reviewed by
L Eaton

From Saxmundham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next