Reviews - The Kings Hotel


Oxford Road,Stokenchurch, High Wycombe, HP14 3TA

Price From 156.69 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (25)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • A Brown

  • June 2014

Very poor, get a B and B instead.

Booked double, first room twin.

Changed room. Went out for a meal and returned to a very very hot room with frosted plastic over the window and a a tiny part that opened. Then the lift... The shaft was inside the false wardrobe, whirring and banging all night. Changed rooms again at 0200 to try and get sleep ... We were given the room the other side of the lift. Breakfast was poor, staff more interested in talking to each other than to wipe the crud off the re-filled bottles of HP. Poor quality meat, no bacon etc... Decor nice overall. Complained, after much arguing got a partial refund. Would not recommend or ever use again. You have been warned.

  • Gary Richardson

  • June 2014

Faultless Again

I always stay here when rooms are available, - enough said !!

  • G Richardson

  • June 2014

I took the £99.00 special offer of room breakfast and dinner, the only downside was that my room was very small, but everything else was as always very good.

  • G Richardson

  • June 2014

As usual an excellent stay, couldn't fault it.

  • G Richardson

  • June 2014

As always I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here.

  • L Perez Maestro

  • June 2014

Will be back!

Nice rooms, great food and amazing staff.

Clean boutique-style rooms, gastropub quality food (they even make their own ice cream) and the staff,,, can;t do enough to keep guests happy. Will definitely stay here again next time I am in town.

  • B Brooks

  • May 2014


Stayed one night to celebrate 25th wedding anniversary.

Booked a executive room, so paid extra, when we got to the room and open the curtain all we saw were pipes, vents and roof tops. We asked for a different roo, the moved us without any quibble. The second room was better.


  • May 2014

Disappointment at kings hotel.

Small room with dated bathroom and loose sink fittings.

Downstairs toilet dacilities need majot overall , when you can actually find them in the dark. Receptionist on both checking in and checking out non existant. I work for a large company who use this hotel and i cannot understand why people use it is massively over priced compared to nearby hotels. I decided to stay as my partner had just flown in from Australia, there was no offer of helping her with a suitcase on checking in or out. We were even told that we were lucky . to get an evening meal at 21.15hrs, and that is after a young trainee who never had a clue spent 15 minutes to no avail trying to catch the managers attention. . When we did get an evening meal the staff decided to set the next tables up for breakfast. The only good was the breakfast.

  • Donald Dow

  • April 2014

Quite nice stay at the kings

Good location, easy access to M40, good sized room & comfy large bed, lighting could be better, bathroom in need of a refurb.

Staff friendly, evening meal good, breakfast quite good but a bit short of choice, only one type of egg - scrambled. Not bad overall but a bit expensive

  • Andy B

  • April 2014

Nice Room

Lovely room although it was a bit hot but fortunately I was able to open a window ...

nice welcome and good service in the bar ... if you want a quiet restaurant, I'm afraid you will have to think again, although there are quiet corners to hide there is a really nice "buzz" in the bar with a mixture of locals and residents. Breakfast was a nice buffet laid out nice and good quality food. The internet is not as good as it could be with constant down time and outages ... apart from that a great stay!