No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Red Lion, Adderbury

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
The Green, Adderbury, Banbury, OX17 3LU
The Red Lion Hotel Adderbury near Banbury sits on the Green of the historic Oxfordshire village of Adderbury near Banbury and Banbury Cross with easy access via M40 junction 11. The Red Lion is an historic ancient Royalist owned hostelry, dating back from the Civil War. A list of landlords has been proudly retained since 1690 and is displayed in the old oak beamed bar. Age-blackened beams, oak panelling, cheery fires in great fireplaces, good food and good beer are all there, housed in a picturesque old stone building overlooking what was once the largest village green in Oxfordshire.

Be prepared to duck low beams and meander narrow door and hallways. Today the inn is a firm favourite with locals and travellers alike. It is in a great location for exploring the pretty Oxfordshire countryside and its many attractions. Hotel is close by Blenheim Palace.
Picture of Red Lion, Adderbury, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Blenheim Break
The staff were very freindly and helpful. Our room was very good ample space and clean and tidy.
It was not far from the Blenheim Palace so a good spot.
We will look forward to returning to the hotel.

Reviewed by
R Pedley

From Hatfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
We've stayed at the Red Lion before, and enjoyed it. This time we chose a superior room, and it really was! In fact it was so lovely, I didn't want to leave it to go sightseeing. It was very clean and comfortable. Both breakfasts and evening meals were of very good quality, with very good service

Reviewed by
K Phillips

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value and interesting place to stay
This inn was good value and interesting. The breakfast was totally sufficient and well cooked.
I would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Brian M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mid-week break
We had a lovely three night stay at the Red Lion. The staff were absolutely brilliant, from the reception staff to the restaurant, the bar and the cleaners. The room was very clean, comfortable and perfectly quiet, with a large en-suite bathroom (so lovely to have a bath) and a beautiful view. The food was so delicious, with a wide choice, we didn't eat anywhere else for breakfast and for dinner. The village is quiet and peaceful with a good village shop while also being close to Banbury and Oxford. I would definitely recommend it and we'll be back soon.

Reviewed by
P Oakes

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great break
This was a relaxing couple of days in a proper country inn. Friendly and welcoming staff clean and tidy accommodation. Food was ok and the breakfast really nice.

Reviewed by
Ivy Jones

From Maldon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I night stay at Red Lion Adderbury
Lovely old pub with accommodation and a fantastic room. Well worth the money

Reviewed by
nigel caldecott

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bath had no shower curtain, why ? but there was a shower there
lots of road traffic noise, poor fitting windows( shame as in nice location ) pretty vilage
the room could do with some t l c
but the staff very good, and breakfast was good

Reviewed by
ivan b

From Sandwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red Lion Adderbury
All the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them,
The rooms were very warm and comfortable.
The service in the dining room was first class, efficient and quick., and the food was first class also.

Reviewed by
Arthur Mitton

From Filey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Silverstone Classic -2 nights at the Red Lion
Very positive welcome and service throughout our stay. Excellent host and a sterling choice of gins at the bar. Spiral 'priests hole' staircase to our bedroom was not for the faint hearted but added to the charm of this old inn. Really freshly cooked full english breakfast both days set us up well for a day of historic racing at Silverstone. Restaurant was good with a fine choice and steak night friday went down well after a long trip in the old Bentley from Suffolk! Would stay here again without question.

Reviewed by
mark norris

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky place to stay full of old charm
Very friendly staff food average but overall a very pleasant stay .
We loved the old uneven stairs and floor all added to the character of the place.
We look forward to our next visit.

Reviewed by
R Pedley

From Hatfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next