No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Red Lion, Adderbury

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
The Green, Adderbury, Banbury, OX17 3LU
The Red Lion Hotel Adderbury near Banbury sits on the Green of the historic Oxfordshire village of Adderbury near Banbury and Banbury Cross with easy access via M40 junction 11. The Red Lion is an historic ancient Royalist owned hostelry, dating back from the Civil War. A list of landlords has been proudly retained since 1690 and is displayed in the old oak beamed bar. Age-blackened beams, oak panelling, cheery fires in great fireplaces, good food and good beer are all there, housed in a picturesque old stone building overlooking what was once the largest village green in Oxfordshire.

Be prepared to duck low beams and meander narrow door and hallways. Today the inn is a firm favourite with locals and travellers alike. It is in a great location for exploring the pretty Oxfordshire countryside and its many attractions. Hotel is close by Blenheim Palace.
Picture of Red Lion, Adderbury, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Classic accommodation
A lovely old coaching inn, very quaint . Beds were very comfortable, room was large and very clean. Very welcoming staff and dinner menu was comprehensive and food was excellent as was the service. Breakfast menu was very varied and was individually cooked to perfection. Also, an excellent selection of real ales in the bar. Had to tear ourselves away to continue our journey South.

Reviewed by
Peter Street

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good centre for touring the area by car, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Very nice breakfast cooked to order.

Reviewed by
Simon L

From Bexhill on Sea, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent all round

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
We had another wonderful stay at The Red Lion, the staff are so helpful and friendly and the atmosphere is very relaxing.
The location is ideal for visiting places in Oxfordshire and motorway access is a short drive away.

Reviewed by
D Morrissey

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Building
Stayed here for 1 night in August 2013. Lovely building with loads of character. Staff really friendly and helpful, had a superior room in the attic which was very nice although the stairs to it are very steep and narrow so getting a case up there is tricky. The evening meals were OK, but we both found our choice of meat (gammon and chicken) was overcooked and dry, the vegetables were boring. So, would be happy to stay again but would probably try somewhere else for food.

Reviewed by
K Naylor

From Pewsey, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

splendid staff
Everything was fine, great staff, good food, great value. However room 14 needs some attention, oh dear, the curtains. The mattress is smaller then the bed base, not the best nights sleep

Reviewed by
david woodhead

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy customers
Beds comfy, pleasant décor, rooms clean, food good, staff friendly and attentive.
Could do with some air freshener in the bathroom..

Reviewed by
Gillian Y

From Seaford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay in Adderbury
The hotel is set in a wonderful setting, facing a spacious, tree lined green, amongst some beautiful countryside. Our room was a superior room, which we found out later to be an attic/loft accommodation, reached by some very narrow and steep stairways. Not very easy to negotiate, even more so with suitcases, At first, the room appeared oldie worldly and spacious. However, on closer inspection the older style bed was just a frame loosely standing round a pair of divans, which was a very wobbly construction and stood out enough into the room for us to be constantly banging into it. Because it was a very hot week-end all our windows were open on arrival. When it was time to pull them in, one of the windows arms was in danger of falling off , with screws missing or hanging out. Later, the loo holder decided to dive off the wall as well. To compound the events of the first day I found what appeared to be blood staining to the mouldings beside my bed. All of these problems were reported to the hotel manager as soon as possible on the first day. We went out for a walk and a bit of sightseeing, with a hope, on our return of these problems being sorted. Sadly, this was not the case. As we were to visit relatives on the Saturday and would be out of our room for most of the day we allowed the issues to roll over till our return in the evening. Again, nothing had been rectified and also now our toilet had not been cleaned in the morning .As it was now quite late in the evening we went to bed, only to be awakened shortly by the problem window coming away from it's supports and flying open, making a racket. Our room was not worthy of a superior rating and was a generally run down room, with cobwebs in most corners. The restaurant , which also doubles for breakfasts, was a clean and well appointed area,and the food was well cooked and presented. The staff were also well attentive. Should we have the need to revisit this county again we may not think straight away of the Red Lion, unless the room quality can be guaranteed.

Reviewed by
Derek S

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay
Handy for us when travelling on business. We've stayed here quite a few times over the last few years but I think the time has come for some refurbishment in some bedrooms and certainly more attention to detail by housekeeping.

Reviewed by
R Precious

From Settle, England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay and eat
We had an excellent stay, the staff were very friendly and the accommodation including the four poster bed plus the fantastic food made it a special stay.

Reviewed by
John Bell

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next