No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Red Lion, Adderbury

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
The Green, Adderbury, Banbury, OX17 3LU
The Red Lion Hotel Adderbury near Banbury sits on the Green of the historic Oxfordshire village of Adderbury near Banbury and Banbury Cross with easy access via M40 junction 11. The Red Lion is an historic ancient Royalist owned hostelry, dating back from the Civil War. A list of landlords has been proudly retained since 1690 and is displayed in the old oak beamed bar. Age-blackened beams, oak panelling, cheery fires in great fireplaces, good food and good beer are all there, housed in a picturesque old stone building overlooking what was once the largest village green in Oxfordshire.

Be prepared to duck low beams and meander narrow door and hallways. Today the inn is a firm favourite with locals and travellers alike. It is in a great location for exploring the pretty Oxfordshire countryside and its many attractions. Hotel is close by Blenheim Palace.
Picture of Red Lion, Adderbury, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service, staff very friendly.

Reviewed by
Julie W

From Southampton, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Freezing room, food poor
We arrived to be told we had been upgraded free of charge which was a nice surprise! The room itself was very nice, but freezing cold, with 2 tiny heaters plugged into two corners of the room.
We asked what time food was served till and were told there was an hour left, then asked not to dine in the restaurant as they were setting up for breakfast!
My wife ordered a chilli burrito, which when it arrived had no chilli in at all, just peppers and onions!
The bottles of beer had just been put into fridge so were warm also, so after a long awaited break we went to bed hungry, thirsty and very very cold

Reviewed by
A Meyer

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accommodation
Good location for exploring Oxfordshire and Warwickshire. Very friendly and helpful staff. Accommodation excellent. Restaurant menu very good - plenty of choice. Food quality excellent. Breakfast choice surpassed expectations.
Overall we had a wonderful experience at the Red Lion

Reviewed by
Mike C

From Barnard Castle, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Classic accommodation
A lovely old coaching inn, very quaint . Beds were very comfortable, room was large and very clean. Very welcoming staff and dinner menu was comprehensive and food was excellent as was the service. Breakfast menu was very varied and was individually cooked to perfection. Also, an excellent selection of real ales in the bar. Had to tear ourselves away to continue our journey South.

Reviewed by
Peter Street

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good centre for touring the area by car, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Very nice breakfast cooked to order.

Reviewed by
Simon L

From Bexhill on Sea, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent all round

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
We had another wonderful stay at The Red Lion, the staff are so helpful and friendly and the atmosphere is very relaxing.
The location is ideal for visiting places in Oxfordshire and motorway access is a short drive away.

Reviewed by
D Morrissey

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Building
Stayed here for 1 night in August 2013. Lovely building with loads of character. Staff really friendly and helpful, had a superior room in the attic which was very nice although the stairs to it are very steep and narrow so getting a case up there is tricky. The evening meals were OK, but we both found our choice of meat (gammon and chicken) was overcooked and dry, the vegetables were boring. So, would be happy to stay again but would probably try somewhere else for food.

Reviewed by
K Naylor

From Pewsey, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

splendid staff
Everything was fine, great staff, good food, great value. However room 14 needs some attention, oh dear, the curtains. The mattress is smaller then the bed base, not the best nights sleep

Reviewed by
david woodhead

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy customers
Beds comfy, pleasant décor, rooms clean, food good, staff friendly and attentive.
Could do with some air freshener in the bathroom..

Reviewed by
Gillian Y

From Seaford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next