Red Lion, Adderbury

2

The Green, Adderbury, Banbury, OX17 3LU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (52)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • K Phillips

  • November 2014

Excellent hotel

We've stayed at the Red Lion before, and enjoyed it.

This time we chose a superior room, and it really was. In fact it was so lovely, I didn't want to leave it to go sightseeing. It was very clean and comfortable. Both breakfasts and evening meals were of very good quality, with very good service

  • Brian M

  • November 2014

Good value and interesting place to stay

This inn was good value and interesting.

The breakfast was totally sufficient and well cooked. I would recommend this hotel.

  • P Oakes

  • November 2014

Mid-week break

We had a lovely three night stay at the Red Lion.

The staff were absolutely brilliant, from the reception staff to the restaurant, the bar and the cleaners. The room was very clean, comfortable and perfectly quiet, with a large en-suite bathroom (so lovely to have a bath) and a beautiful view. The food was so delicious, with a wide choice, we didn't eat anywhere else for breakfast and for dinner. The village is quiet and peaceful with a good village shop while also being close to Banbury and Oxford. I would definitely recommend it and we'll be back soon.

  • Ivy Jones

  • October 2014

Great break

This was a relaxing couple of days in a proper country inn.

Friendly and welcoming staff clean and tidy accommodation. Food was ok and the breakfast really nice.

  • nigel caldecott

  • October 2014

I night stay at Red Lion Adderbury

Lovely old pub with accommodation and a fantastic room.

Well worth the money

  • ivan b

  • August 2014

bath had no shower curtain, why .

but there was a shower there

lots of road traffic noise, poor fitting windows( shame as in nice location ) pretty vilage

the room could do with some t l c

but the staff very good, and breakfast was good

  • Arthur Mitton

  • August 2014

Red Lion Adderbury

All the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them, The rooms were very warm and comfortable.

The service in the dining room was first class, efficient and quick., and the food was first class also.

  • mark norris

  • July 2014

Silverstone Classic -2 nights at the Red Lion

Very positive welcome and service throughout our stay.

Excellent host and a sterling choice of gins at the bar. Spiral 'priests hole' staircase to our bedroom was not for the faint hearted but added to the charm of this old inn. Really freshly cooked full english breakfast both days set us up well for a day of historic racing at Silverstone. Restaurant was good with a fine choice and steak night friday went down well after a long trip in the old Bentley from Suffolk. Would stay here again without question.

  • R Pedley

  • June 2014

Quirky place to stay full of old charm

Very friendly staff food average but overall a very pleasant stay .

We loved the old uneven stairs and floor all added to the character of the place. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Bryn H

  • May 2014

A warm and friendly weekend

My wife and I spent last weekend at the Red Lion and had a great time, obviously helped by the wonderful weather.

We arrived a couple of hours before the official check in time intending to have lunch and wait for the room to be ready. The indomitable Natalie was on reception and she checked us in and made sure that the room was ready almost immediately. The inn was just as we had expected, old and quirky, but the room was spacious and comfortable, with only one minor niggle - no large drawer space, but the enormous, comfortable bed more than made up for that. Throughout our stay, the staff were wonderful, unfailingly helpful and took pride in the quality of their service. Special mention must be made of the aforementioned Natalie with whom we developed an instant rapport and Lucy who managed to keep the restaurant going almost on her own on Sunday night. The quality of the food was very good and the set lunch menu offered really good value. We used the inn as a springboard to the Cotswolds, but also enjoyed the ambience of Adderbury itself. I only awarded a 5 for cleanliness because I realise it must be a virtually impossible task to maintain such an old building, full of nooks and crannies, but the staff did their best. I would like to thank the whole team at the inn and congratulate them on their efforts.