No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Red Lion, Adderbury

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
The Green, Adderbury, Banbury, OX17 3LU
The Red Lion Hotel Adderbury near Banbury sits on the Green of the historic Oxfordshire village of Adderbury near Banbury and Banbury Cross with easy access via M40 junction 11. The Red Lion is an historic ancient Royalist owned hostelry, dating back from the Civil War. A list of landlords has been proudly retained since 1690 and is displayed in the old oak beamed bar. Age-blackened beams, oak panelling, cheery fires in great fireplaces, good food and good beer are all there, housed in a picturesque old stone building overlooking what was once the largest village green in Oxfordshire.

Be prepared to duck low beams and meander narrow door and hallways. Today the inn is a firm favourite with locals and travellers alike. It is in a great location for exploring the pretty Oxfordshire countryside and its many attractions. Hotel is close by Blenheim Palace.
Picture of Red Lion, Adderbury, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky place to stay full of old charm
Very friendly staff food average but overall a very pleasant stay .
We loved the old uneven stairs and floor all added to the character of the place.
We look forward to our next visit.

Reviewed by
R Pedley

From Hatfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm and friendly weekend
My wife and I spent last weekend at the Red Lion and had a great time, obviously helped by the wonderful weather. We arrived a couple of hours before the official check in time intending to have lunch and wait for the room to be ready. The indomitable Natalie was on reception and she checked us in and made sure that the room was ready almost immediately. The inn was just as we had expected, old and quirky, but the room was spacious and comfortable, with only one minor niggle - no large drawer space, but the enormous, comfortable bed more than made up for that! Throughout our stay, the staff were wonderful, unfailingly helpful and took pride in the quality of their service. Special mention must be made of the aforementioned Natalie with whom we developed an instant rapport and Lucy who managed to keep the restaurant going almost on her own on Sunday night. The quality of the food was very good and the set lunch menu offered really good value. We used the inn as a springboard to the Cotswolds, but also enjoyed the ambience of Adderbury itself. I only awarded a 5 for cleanliness because I realise it must be a virtually impossible task to maintain such an old building, full of nooks and crannies, but the staff did their best. I would like to thank the whole team at the inn and congratulate them on their efforts.

Reviewed by
Bryn H

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stayed one night - very nice and comfortable
Had a lovely stay here for one night and would definitely return. Room was comfortable and spacious. Breakfast times were flexible so we didn't have to get up really early! Food was very nice and lots of choice on the menu. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
k dean

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we were only passing through and spending one night arrived late at 9.55pm hotel stopped serving food at 10pm the hotel took our food order and food was served without any issues nothing was too much trouble for the staff very friendly extremely helpful and very good quality food would stay again and have no hesitation recommending the hotel to friends I look forward to staying again for a longer stop next time

Reviewed by
P Downie

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
lovely country pub, with endearing staff all who are more than helpful
rooms good standard clean with all facilities, only slight hiccup is the wifi not always as strong as it could be.
otherwise would recommend

Reviewed by
a gardner

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, friendly service, comfortable room.

Reviewed by
M Carter

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired
Accommodation was tired like most establishments of the type

Reviewed by
Don B

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice old inn
We enjoyed our stay here but our room (15) was not as nice as our friend's which was on the ground floor. We ate dinner elsewhere but breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Keith Stevenson

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable break
Overall this is a very attractive property in which to stay. The friendliness and helpfulness of ALL the staff was excellent from the welcome on arrival to our departure. The food was good although not outstanding but the service was excellent and the prices reasonable. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Reviewed by
P Brown

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and Friendly
My Daughter and I stayed 1 night in a twin room, and from the moment we stepped in it felt warm friendly and inviting, are room was on the first floor and had everything you would require, the beds were very comfortable and service from the staff were exceptional, nothing was to much trouble and the food was great, we both said 100% would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Lyn B

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next