No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Amherst Reading

Not Classified  Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
73 Russell Street , Reading, RG1 7XG
Located 5 minutes walk from Reading town centre restaurants, shops and bars. All of our rooms have ensuite showers, double beds, LCD TVs with digibox, free internet access, hair dryers, mini fridge, microwave, complimentary bottled water, tea/coffee making facilities and snacks. Choice of either a full English breakfast or a lighter option. Good quality, clean accommodation and high levels of service are our priorities.
Picture of Amherst Reading, Reading at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Quality accommodation
Friendly, flexible and accommodating, run by owners and good value for money.

Reviewed by
Tim B

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy place to know
The Amherst is in a great location. It's quiet, comfortable and has a great breakfast. It comes with everything you may need for a couple of days in Reading, tea, coffee, Horlicks light and hot chocolate as well as some biscuits and snacks and bottled water. The microwave is a great addition and cutlery, table and chairs are also provided. Doug was great, helpful and informative but not intrusive.

Reviewed by
Hilary S

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic !
A Bed and Breakfast that really goes that extra mile.
Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and had everything we could possibly need.
The managers were lovely and breakfast excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Reviewed by
Nicola H

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and comfortable
The manager of Amherst Guesthuse was extremely nice and very helpful! I would the Guesthouse highly recommend for other guests.

Reviewed by
Lieselotte M

From Vienna, Austria
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic!!
I was blown away by the great care and attention from the staff at the Amhurst, they really can't do enough to accommodate you. Not to mention just how good the breakfast was, the eggs from the incredibly quite chicken's at the bottom of the garden. I surprisingly quite room considering the proximity to the road!

Reviewed by
Jordan Davies

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
Didnt spend much time in room but it was very pleasant with a good en-suite. Would stay again

Reviewed by
N Potts

From Welshpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous guesthouse
This guest house is a real gem and excellantly ran by Cath and Doug. You are welcomed immediantly by a warm and friendly smile. The food here is excellant and the garden view during breakfast is really relaxing. I would definately recommend Amherst to anyone staying in Reading.

Reviewed by
E Patrick

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
bernard mcgrath

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed at Amherst for just one night during a short visit to Reading. We received a very warm welcome. The room was bright & airy & very clean. All of our needs catered for. Breakfast was lovely & a good choice available.Highly recommended & will surely book in again on our next trip.

Reviewed by
Sharon B

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Road noisy, but inside its a real gem. Great service, lots of attention to detail. Thanks very much!

Reviewed by
D OCKLETON

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next